We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay - Great Golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quail Hollow Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Painesville
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Stay - Great Golf”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Arrived on a Wednesday for a 2 night stay. The GM greeted me with a glass of bubbly; off to a good start. Checked in to a tidy room and prepared for the evening. Dined at the Redhawk Grille (next to the resort) and had a great time on the patio; dining, drinking, conversing, listeneing to a live "one man band". Played golf on Thursday and again on Friday...beautiful walk (not as Twain said "spoiled"). The employees at the resort are very helpful & cheerful and I would recommend and stay at Quail Hollow Resort again. Free morning coffee, both in the room, which I did not use, and just outside the restaurant on the 2nd floor, which I did utilize.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your response regarding your stay. We hope you will think of us for all your future hotel needs when visiting the Cleveland area. We also hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future at CK’s Steakhouse or CK’s Lounge here at Quail Hollow Resort. Once again thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    103
    104
    43
    43
See reviews for
104
121
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stryker, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We reserved our room online while traveling down the Interstate and enjoyed a reduced rate through the booking site.
Upon arrival, the check in process was quick and easy.
When we opened the door to our room, we were greeted by a spacious room with a musty odor.
Our HVAC unit was noisy and had a melted grill...we guess that means it gets toasty hot when the heat is turned on; we only used the AC, so we did not test this theory.
The bathroom ceiling had an open drywall seam, the bathroom return air grid was dirty with lint, and the bathtub had discolored grout and caulk.
The walls and doorways of the elevators and the hallways alike were scuffed badly from the luggage carts and/or housecleaning carts.
In our opinion, the adjacent golf courses do not justify the cost of this lodging, but if you were here specifically to golf and purchased a golf/lodging package, maybe you would feel there is value.
There was also a swimming pool on site, so once again if you were here to use the "resort" aspect, perhaps you would find value that we did not.
On a positive note, the property has easy access to the Interstate, but far enough away that you don't hear any traffic.
This is a pet friendly motel, which is always a plus for those traveling with their animal companions.
Also, there was a crew of painters refreshing the exterior of the building as we were leaving, and we noticed that the yard and landscaping are well maintained.
And while our room showed signs of age and neglect, we did enjoy a quite room and a comfortable bed for the night.
In closing, we were not thrilled in our stay here, but we did enjoy a discounted rate which eased our disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Maltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience, guest reviews help us understand our guests needs. I do apologize for the issues you experienced and any inconvenience it may have caused you. We strive to meet guests’ expectations and hope that you will give us another opportunity to show what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel seems to be in need of a facelift, as the rooms, decorations, and carpeting are outdated. I expect more from any facility that carries the 'resort' title, in this case this is just an average hotel with a golf course. The restaurant is way overpriced for the quality of food being served and if you go right up the road you will find better options and price at the Redhawk Grille. The room was dirty with carpet stains, the sink was backed up, and the cigarette stench was overwhelming.
Lastly, the staff was okay but I would suggest that they put a little more effort into welcoming a guest and following up with them when they see them throughout their stay. Overall, I can't see myself coming back to this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments/concerns. At Quail Hollow Resort we do strive to have great customer service as well as having comfortable rooms for our guests to enjoy. As part of the management team here at the resort we review all guests’ comments and address them with management and staff. Next time you are in the area, I do hope you will give us another opportunity as I’m positive our product will exceed your expectations. If you would like to discuss your recent stay in detail, please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the worst hotel stay in my life. The room was musty, smelled of smoke, and we could not get any sleep as there was a large group having a party, and the noise went on unabated throughout the night. The air conditioning noise was so loud that when the unit went on, you couldn't hear the TV sound. I can't overemphasize the discomfort of attempting to stay at this facility.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room- find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank mbnadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the issues you had and any inconvenience it may have caused you. The entire management staff has been notified regarding your concerns. All issues will be addressed promptly. We take pride in our resort and our service and hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times in the past but we won't be back. The rooms are okay, but in need of some attention. Our room was tired looking and nothing special, the upholstery on one chair was torn and the other chair needed to be cleaned.
Because we had driven over twelve hours that day we decided to have a casual dinner in the lounge. It really was very disappointing, the service was poor and the food to say the least, was disappointing. It took a long time to be waited on ( there were only six other people in the lounge and two of them were sitting at the bar having drinks. When the waitress did show up she acted as if she was a inconvience to have to wait on us. She was not pleased that she had to explain what the specials were, and when I asked if the menu was the same as the restaurant, she responded as if I should know that. I told her we travelers and we were not familiar with the two menus. My husband and I usually leave at least a 20% tip, not this time!
We had to check out early the next morning, and I mean early it was around 4am, there were two people at the front, one in the office and one at the desk. I was told that it was too early to get our bill and that we would receive it in the mail, still waiting. We have traveled alot in our lives, never have we had this happen, we usually get a early start.
We have recommened this Hotel to friends and family, no more. In fact we first stayed because of a recommendation.
More and more people depend on reviews when making choices as to where to stay or eat, it can be a good place for constructive criticism.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snow---1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did not meet your expectations when you recently stayed with us. Quail Hollow Resort is always striving to make our guests happier and more comfortable when they visit and comments like yours do assist us when training our staff. I apologize for your experience and hope that you do return soon. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your travel plans the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC971
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here one night. The hotel is ok, nothing special and perhaps a little dreary. The room was fine and the bed comfortable. I had a continental breakfast which cost only $7 which I thought was excellent value. There is a golf course right next door so I might take my clubs next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are consistently discussing ways to update the resort to make it more enjoyable for our guests. We would be delighted if you would come and golf next time. If you don’t remember your clubs or don’t want to travel with them the country club does rent both left and right handed sets. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Always heard what a nice place Quail Hollow was but was disappointed with our stay. Check in foyer area was very nice, pretty woodwork. The rooms are basic. We had a room with 2 double beds because all the king beds were reserved. To me, double beds are like a twin bed, not big enough for 2 people. Beds were very uncomfortable and hard, uncomfortable pillows, worn sheets. Carpet looks as though it needed vacuumed, big stain on carpet. We called the service guy to look at heater because it was so loud, but he said that was the way it was suppose to be. Nice marble tile in bathroom. Pool area was great with nice hot tub. Really enjoyed the indoor pool but probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Right off the freeway, close to restaurants and bars, pricey. Looking at other reviews, maybe we ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. I apologize that we were fully committed with our King Rooms when you were here. We do try to accommodate our guest’s requests however sometimes we are unable to. I am glad that you enjoyed the pool area and do hope that you decide to return. Our guests are very important to us and I will be happy to assist you personally with your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painesville
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
425 reviews
3.4 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Hollow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Hollow Resort

Property: Quail Hollow Resort
Address: 11080 Concord Hambden Rd, Painesville, OH 44077-9557
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Painesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Painesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quail Hollow Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quail Hollow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Hollow Hotel Painesville
Renaissance Painesville
Quail Hollow Resort Ohio/Painesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing