We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things have gone downhill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quail Hollow Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Painesville
Concord, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Things have gone downhill!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here years ago...what a difference this time. We had a Groupon for our stay which included a food voucher. Thank goodness we didn't pay full price for our stay. The Sunday Brunch was overpriced but it was all that was available. Not enough staff to keeps things clean or food replenished.

Room Tip: Choose the Baymont around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConcordCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do try to staff appropriately in order to keep up with our guests needs. We do use our guest’s comments as a helpful training tool and appreciate all feedback. Your comments will be addressed to management. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We do hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    105
    105
    43
    44
See reviews for
105
123
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Quail Hollow Resort was at its heyday in the easy 90's and sadly it still looks as if it is stuck in the early 90's. We kept smelling a moldy smell and the room did not seem clean, my husband and I were both unhappy.

We both felt that we overpaid for the experience of an old an tired hotel. I lived In Mentor for many years and stayed here 4 times with family back in the 90's. I was excited to visit again now that I live in another state.The quality of the experience has gone downward dramatically.

I hope Quail Hollow does something as I am now sorry I did not stay at a real resort or hotel with better standards in the area (and there are many). Come on Quail Hollow, please step up to the plate - our family used to love staying here for "just a weekend getaway" even when we lived close by. Now I was embarrassed to bring my husband here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do use these reviews as a helpful tool for future improvements on the hotel as well as training our staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We were attending a wedding at the hotel. When we saw that it was going to be at a resort, we were thrilled. Furst the wedding food was great. The ammeities are more like a nice hotel. If you are on business or for an overnight stay for a road trip this is a great place. To begin with, the road to the hotel is unassuming and the entrance is rather unimpressive. There are no lush greenery. In fact, for June the grass was turning brown. It is the details that make or break a place. In this case, the double pane glass seal was broken on a number of windows which led to a hazy view. Do not get a room in building C on the first floor facing the main part of the hotel. The view out of our room was the electrical panel door outside. The sink was rusted. Again, the beds were nice and the room was nice. Just a few details make a difference. It not easy to get to the pool from building C. The grounds are lack luster. Hotel yes, resort no. Get the breakfast included upon reserving the room. It was 1/2 off and was worth it. Omelets were made to order.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R_n_R_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience, guest reviews help us understand our guests needs. Since your review we have improved our landscaping around the resort as well as our outdoor pool. Our restaurant on property, Ck’s serves our wonderful breakfast buffet every morning, we are glad you enjoyed our omelets. We do hope next time you are in the area you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a group of 24 our kids were playing in a basketball tournament nearby. The staff was very nice and accommodated all of our needs. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice. The only downfall was the hotub was not working properly. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Quail Hollow Resort. We do apologize for any inconvenience while repairing our spa. We have resolved the issue and also have opened our outdoor pool for the summer! We do hope to have you and your family stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were looking for a place to relax and be pampered. We found little "pampering", if any. Compared to resorts in Columbus and Dallas, where we have recently staid, no one was keen on service, except at the CK Steak House, which redeemed the facility by giving us a taste of what a true resort's service would have felt like. The cost of the in-room jacuzzi per night ($225 plus taxes) was beyond what we expected lacking the many amenities and wonderful service of a true resort. Perhaps our clue should have been that there was a coffee machine offering self serve coffee for $2 at the check-in counter...

Room Tip: Don't pay for a premium room! A regular room would have been worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy McClarno... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do use our reviews as helpful training tools. We wish that all of our guests are satisfied and appreciate feedback. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

rooms are very good cleaned.the beds were VERY comfy.we didn't go to the CK restaurant but we went to the breakfast.it was a buffet.the best thing for me was the pool,hot tub and the sauna and WiFi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it was awesome staying there.....

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldahrvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a great stay with us! It is wonderful to hear you were able to have a good nights sleep while away from home and enjoyed our hotel amenities, such as our pool. We do hope you will have a chance to stay and dine with us again soon. We look forward to your next stay at Quail Hollow Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We have stayed here for R & R to focus on each other and escape the stress of life. Every visit has been positive.
Favorite highlights:
+ Fluffy comfortable king sized bed
+ Convenient location
+ Front desk is cheerful and attentive and goes the extra mile for me
+ Lobby area has wonderful seating, a nice fireplace to read by and fresh cookies
+ Good restaurant with breakfast buffet. (CK's - see seperate listing and my review)
+ Nice pool and hot tub (when operating - always ask if this is important to you)
Last visit we had the jacuzzi suite and it was so worth the extra cost. Get the one on the second floor for extra privacy.
Since we stay here about two or three times a year - they have all my contact info in the system and so reserving a room is a breeze.
Suggestions for nearby activities - since the resort can make a great base for going on extra adventures:
- wineries...with a fee based shuttle pick up right at the resort if you don't want to drive
- golf...I don't but others do. On site.
- Ohio Wine Festival (first weekend of August) at Lake FarmPark in Kirtland
- Chardon Historic Square and the annual Maple Festival, four day event starts the last Thursday of April or the Geauga County Fair in Burton on Labor Day weekend annually.
- Large Amish community in Middlefield area

Room Tip: Avoid the floor where the pool is located to cut down on hall traffic. To avoid crowds ask if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for kind comments. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We have been a premier resort here in Northeast Ohio for more than 30 years. At Quail Hollow Resort we do strive to have great customer service as well as having comfortable rooms for our guests to enjoy. It was a pleasure to be part of your relaxing getaway. We look forward to your next stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painesville
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
429 reviews
3.4 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Hollow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Hollow Resort

Property: Quail Hollow Resort
Address: 11080 Concord Hambden Rd, Painesville, OH 44077-9557
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Painesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Painesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quail Hollow Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quail Hollow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Hollow Hotel Painesville
Renaissance Painesville
Quail Hollow Resort Ohio/Painesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing