We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhausting but Great Service"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sycamore Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exhausting but Great Service"”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were in Oxford to visit the university and this hotel was very convenient and reasonably priced. The first issue we had was there was a very nasty stain on one of the comforters in our room. So nasty in fact that we took it off the bed. I guess we could have called the front desk but by the time we noticed it we were already in our pjs and didn't want strangers in our room. Other than that, the room seemed clean even though the halls smelled musty. The next issue was the most serious. We had the misfortune to be assigned a room that was directly under a high school track team that refused to go to sleep. We had an eight hour drive the next day and the kids were stomping around like it was a construction zone. We called the front desk and they apologized then promised to stop the noise. It was still going strong an hour later. Finally, around 1 am they quieted down but by then I was so agitated that I had problems going to sleep. It made our trip home very miserable. We also chose the worst time for breakfast as the whole team had just gone through what little was out there and completely cleared out the food. They also took up all the tables and were very noisy. By then we have had enough of the place and those kids so we just checked out. We told the front desk about the situation (in the nicest way possible as it wasn't really their fault) and they offered us a 15% discount on our next visit. Since it will all depend if my daughter chooses the university it might not be a big help but the gesture was nice. Turns out that the track team was there all week and had been a major irritation for the management and other guests. I would have liked discount on our room as our stay was miserable but I felt for them. The chaperones should have done a better job. I really don't know if I would stay there again. I think the price might be a magnet for sports teams and the like. The people working there couldn't have been nicer though and that was the highlight of the stay.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a youth group staying there. If there is stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
76
11
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The room is clean, simple and a place to sleep. The workout area is better than nothing.
Two things really made this a great place to stay: The location makes it an easy walk to the university and the cool shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and Very helpful. Did I mention how nice the staff were?:-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwinsgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We have been staying here for over 10 years now. The staff is very friendly and willing to accomodate any reasonable request. Even though the facility is going into its second decade, the management has not let it decline in appearance or technology. Their Wi-Fi is without a doubt the fastest FREE Wi-Fi I have encounered anywhere in my travels. All of the rooms have been updated and there is always nice carpeting and bedspreads covering VERY COMFORTABLE beds!!

You need to understand that this is not a 5 Star Hotel, but its not supposed to be. But it is, without a doubt, the FINEST Best Western Hotel I have ever found.

The hotel is located within walking distance from downtown Oxford, but far enough away that typical college town noises do not interrupt your sleep, no matter what time you go to bed.

You absolutely will not find a friendlier, more pleasant or accomodating staff anywhere.

Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straightshooter415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The best feature of this hotel is its close proximity to the Miami University campus. We visited MU with my oldest son and wanted a hotel close to the campus for convenience. Also, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is older and in need of updating. The rooms were dated, as in 1980's, but clean. Our bathtub did not drain properly, though, so by the end of your shower you were standing in ankle-deep water. There is wireless Internet connection in the rooms, but the signal is very weak and kept dropping out. I would have been even more frustrated had I been at the hotel on business and trying to work.

The pool area was nice and attractive; however, one of the tables around the pool had lots of crumbs and food bits all over it, as well as on the floor surrounding it. I'm not sure whether the food was left over from breakfast that morning, or from the night before. The bottoms of the pool and hot tub were in need of a new paint job, and the sides of both needed to be cleaned. The water, however, was clean. The breakfast was OK, but not a big offering (a couple of cold cereals, oatmeal packets, bread, packaged bagels, packaged saugage biscuits, muffins and pastries, coffee and juice). The breakfast eating area is extremely small, so that is probably why they can't offer much food. However, the hotel was not crowded when we stayed so it wasn't a problem in getting food and finding a place to sit. All in all, it was OK, but I prefer newer accommodations, so if we ever go back to Oxford, I'll search for another hotel first.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelerx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I personally thought the price per night was a bit high for the room, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and it was in walking distance of downtown Oxford and just a short drive to Hueston Woods State Park. The bed was not comfortable and I could feel the springs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crash330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Best Western, Sycamore Inn, is a decent hotel. It's clean and comfortable. The people are very nice. The breakfast is OK, pretty basic stuff. But for $105 a night (four people, AAA rate) it's on the high side for rural Ohio! It does not have pay per view. It does not have an elevator. You're paying to be next to Miami University.

  • Liked — The close proximity to Miami University
  • Disliked — No pay per view television, no elevator, price did not reflect that
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We walked in and got the last room here after being turned away at another hotel -- big swim meet in town. The price was reasonable, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good, featuring sausage biscuits and boiled eggs which fit my low carb needs. The indoor pool looked very inviting as well.

  • Liked — The breakfast was more substantial than many "continental" breakfasts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grrainstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#4 of 8 in Oxford
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Elms Hotel
The Elms Hotel
#6 of 8 in Oxford
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
12.4 mi away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sycamore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sycamore Inn

Property: Best Western Sycamore Inn
Address: 6 E Sycamore St, Oxford, OH 45056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > Oxford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sycamore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sycamore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sycamore Hotel Oxford
Best Western Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Sycamore Inn Oxford, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing