We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Huron, Ohio
1 review
“Great place to stay in Oxford”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for our daughter's orientation at Miami University. Very nice rooms, super comfortable beds and awesome bathrooms! Newly decorated too. Right on campus so it could not have been better. Will definitely return in the next 4 years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
2
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Marcum is the perfect place to stay while visiting Miami University in Oxford Ohio!
Melissa at the front desk is the nicest person we met while in Miami. She is so welcoming- just a joy to speak with! Our room at the Marcum was very spacious, clean and quiet, everything I look for in a good hotel. Great location, right on the campus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked an overnight (Friday night) with my son to visit Miami U. The lady who took my reservation over the telephone was hands down A+++, Polite, informative, welcoming, just the best. So based on this experience I thought the Marcum would be an easy winner and for the most part it was. Right on the northeast corner of the campus so park there and walk. It's only 20 minutes to the far west side of campus to where all the restaurants are located. 5 minute walk to Farmer business building where our tour day presentation began. The facility is very nice and I can tell they have put a lot of time and effort into maintaining the building and keeping it upgraded. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room for the two of us, no problem. The room, like the overall facility, is clean and upgraded (standard amenities) with a nice size flat screen, loads of channels, spacious desk, lounge chair, comfy bed. Clean upgraded bathroom. Breakfast is continental and I would say somewhat thin. Only knock is the other "guests". As this is a conference center with several separate functions going on that evening we had to listen to the girls until 2:00 am and even the pillow over my head could not drown out the ongoing "WOOOHOOO's" and door slams. So for a crummy night's sleep which made for a long day and tough 4 1/2 hour drive home I bumped the Marcum down to average but it really is above average. *****Inquire when making your reso what will be going on during your stay and maybe they can put you away from the night walkers.

Room Tip: Ask what conference functions are scheduled during your visit and get a room away from the college k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cochango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My son and I stayed here one night on a college visit to Miami. What a cute little town Oxford is! This hotel is in a beautiful location right on the edge of the Miami campus.

We had the "cozy night" package and were welcomed with a package of gourmet popcorn in our room. The room was a 1 bedroom suite, and was decorated very tastefully, although as has been noted the bathroom is a little small. Note that there don't seem to be any movies available to watch or rent, unless we were doing something wrong... just regular TV.

The hotel was not crowded at all, so parking and getting breakfast were very easy. I can imagine more challenges if the place was full. Our room was very quiet all night.

The gentleman at the front desk was just lovely. He took great pains to go over restaurant suggestions and give us directions. Nice midwestern hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ2Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My son attended a conference in the conference center, and when traveling back to PA, he realized he left his backpack with his brand new MAC computer and other electronics at the conference center. In a panic, I reached the center and spoke with Allison Gerrety. She went out of her way to find the backpack and all of its contents! Not only was this a testament to great customer service, but to the honesty and integrety of every employee involved. The banquet staff, and all who found it, secured it and then sent it to us. We are very greatful and very impressed. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marti c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afa20816
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great location, so convenient to both town and campus. The renovation is well done and customer service has always been terrific. Unlike other hotels in Oxford, the Marcum has a very fair cancellation policy, even on busy weekends. Always our first choice when visiting Miami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afa20816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Miami University at the height of Fall color is extremely beautiful.

The staff at the Marcum Conference Center and Hotel is wonderful and very accommodating, the food was great.

The renovated rooms are gorgeous!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cahlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#5 of 8 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Sycamore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
0.8 mi away
The Elms Hotel
The Elms Hotel
#4 of 8 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.7 mi away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University

Property: The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
Address: 951 E Withrow St, Oxford, OH 45056-3517
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcum Conference Center & Miami Hotel Oxford
Marcum Conference Center And Miami Inn
Marcum Hotel Miami
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center At Miami University Oxford, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing