We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ Joint Worth the Detour”
Review of Smokin' Ox - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokin' Ox
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fort Wayne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BBQ Joint Worth the Detour”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recent drove from Cincinnati to Indiana on state roads instead of interstates on a whim. Our gamble paid off. In search of a BBQ joint, we came across the Smokin' Ox in Oxford, Ohio, home of Miami of Ohio University. We bellied up to the bar and were greeted by not only a friendly staff, but the owner himself (Shawn). Despite working nonstop all weekend (graduation parties), he was still upbeat and energetic enough to answer all of our numerous questions. All food and sauces are made in-house. The BBQ sauces were fabulous. They were all gluten-free as well. My favorite was the mustard sauce. Looking forward to stopping again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, OH
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really wanted to like this place! I was surprised by the lack of seasoning on anything- especially the ribs. These ribs are served dry with sauces at the table - not my favorite to begin with - but there just was not one redeeming dish on the menu. I was there with a group of four, we all ordered varied things to share and experience. The group consensus was 'this is a miss - not a hit'. The only bright spot was the Texas rolls- those rocked.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nm3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food,good time!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I took my family of seven there. The service was good. The pulled pork is out of this world. The cornbread got a thumbs up from the kids.My wife was impressed with the dressings for the salad.
The dry rubbed wings were a nice change of pace from the standard Buffalo wings. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pulled Pork Lover's Dream”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Their pulled pork is good, but that is about all that is good there. The environment isn't anything special-its good for something casual.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank listen2music4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, OH
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Barbeque, great value”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Smokin' Ox is a nice neighborhood kind of place. They have a great food at lunch, a good beer and surprisingly good wine selection. The food is always very good and there is a lot of it, I never finish the fries and usually get the great slaw. It is certainly worth the visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Ox also viewed

Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing