We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible ribs and food.”
Review of Smokin' Ox - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokin' Ox
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Horrible ribs and food.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you like undercooked ribs and microwaved sides this is the place for you. Our party of 7 did not have one meal that was edible. The ribs were way undercooked and cold the sides were microwaved and nasty. The cole slaw was spoiled. The worst Father's day dinner ever!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Hidden in plain sight in uptown Oxford, this little gem is worth a visit if only for the smoked beef brisket. They serve great BBQ pulled pork and pork ribs, both dry rubbed and braised.
Sides include a nice vinegared bean salad, sweet potato casserole in addition to the expected BBQ sides, and of course, corn bread. The atmosphere when we have eaten there has been quiet but I suspect it becomes quite energetic as the students arrive later in the evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flopalopagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I felt a bit odd putting in a carry out order, but the food was good. Seemed to be a family friendly place. Atmosphere was a bit western for me.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Skip this one!”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Never had a good meal there. The last time, ate a brisket sandwich that tasted like a beef jerky sandwich - tough and dry. Never again!

Helpful?
1 Thank itiswritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“It's REALLY good but I can't eat there anymore cause they don't have alot of vegetarian options.”
Reviewed April 26, 2008

It's REALLY good but I can't eat there anymore cause they don't have alot of vegetarian options.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Ox also viewed

Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing