We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miami University College Campus
Save
Review Highlights
Campus Tour

Campus is gorgeous- architecture of buildings, trees, Bridges, walking trails. Students active... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
calliel997
,
Seneca, Missouri
via mobile
Look beneath the surface.

As a current visitor and student from 1975-77, I will agree with you that Miami is not all that... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
midwesterner5
,
midwest
Read all 194 reviews
  
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
141
39
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
39
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miami university red brick great visit small town rec center great education football game live here well worth the visit art museum wide open spaces greek life school students trees beauty hockey
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Campus is gorgeous- architecture of buildings, trees, Bridges, walking trails. Students active throughout campus relaxing, playing team sports, etc. Campus police visible, especially in parking lots of halls in evenings. Limited parking. Nearby brick street with food and some shopping. Definition of a ‘college town’, but with some history and a beautiful backdrop.

Thank calliel997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

As a current visitor and student from 1975-77, I will agree with you that Miami is not all that interesting on the surface. And its beautiful trees have suffered in the last two drought.

I get it if you don't like 99% Georgian architecture. I don't like campuses with a theme either. The town is not hopping. There aren't street performers, at least not when I'm there.

But poke your head in older places on campus -- Peabody Hall, Oxford College, McGuffey's house (now a museum), Alumni Hall (the library from 1922-1972). Learn about the campus's history. This is one of the key places higher ed began in the midwest. It's also where fraternities began. It is a great place to learn history, and has people who will help in that endeavor.

Also check out the outside of the older dorms -- Elliott (1822), Stoddard (1822), and Bishop (1912?).

This place is not unlike the University of Virginia, in age and historical value.

Miami University and Cincinnati are central to the nation's history in what was then the frontier.

Thank midwesterner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to see a college football game. $15 to park. Plenty of room to tailgate. Tickets are $25 or $35 a seat. No convenience fee if you buy tickets at the Yeager field. They do accept credit cards.

Thank NavyCVSixtyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Love this town. Visited for a football game. Well kept , local restaurants available. Traffic wasn't bad. Very nice campus. Clean and easy to navigate

Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

You’ll have a lot of difficulty parking here and while this school definitely has a great deal to offer academically, it’s reputation as a party school doesn’t seem entirely undeserved based on the action in the lovely college town bars on Thursday through Saturday nights. There appears to be an emphasis on Greek life. The campus is beautiful, although sections seem annoyingly under construction annually. Progressive town with mikes of hiking trails and also designated bike lanes. Good grocery shopping although limited stores. No movie theater—closest one in Hamilton, 12 minute drive. Closest mall is Northgate about 30 minutes south on Route 27.

Thank Lynnephugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Red brick buildings, beautiful scenery, incredibly history. Yes, we live here. And we didn't realize what we had until our children began visiting other college campuses. We have it good. Grass is greener??

1  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Beautiful campus. There is an art museum (which was inaccessible this month due to road work). Lively college town.

Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

I've been to nearly all of the major college campuses in Ohio - from Cleveland State to Cincinnati - and I have yet to find one as visually breathtaking as Miami University. Its Georgian Revival-style architecture, plethora of oak trees, and limitations on the heights of buildings (3 stories or less) gives the campus a very intimate feeling. The campus is quite large but parking is well-marked for visitors and I had no issues getting in our out. Simply gorgeous place for a stroll.

Thank Gmoney221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We just returned from celebrating our 50th reunion at Miami University. This university has it all - it's gorgeous architecture, it's universal appeal to any type of major or interest, it's Greek life, and the nurturing atmosphere for the students. 50 years ago it was excellent - today, it's beyond excellent. We are Miami mergers - married a Miami student.

Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

I had a wonderful weekend visiting this very beautiful and well kept University. Everyone we encountered was so kind and helpful.

Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews