We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohio state park business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ohio state park business trip”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is the nicest state park I've stayed in Ohio. The food was typical for an OH state park. The rooms were also among the best in OH state parks. The trip up from Columbus was very easy and did not take as long as I had expected. Best park very nice golf course right across parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I appreciate the extra time you have taken to post your review of Maumee Bay Lodge. You must be a good golfer because many people find our course very challenging. Actually, we have hosted 11 US Open qualifying rounds over the years. Thanks again for such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    157
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
222
90
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife (74) and I (84) with our Grandson (5) spent 3 enjoyable days at the Lodge. This sounds like the Odd Couple (trio)
But we had a great time. The only bad thing was that our room was in the far reaches of the north wing. A long walk for someone with arthritic legs. I am sure that if we had known before hand we could have arranged for a room closer in. The Mrs and I had been there a year ago and had a closer in room. Last year we found the dining room somewhat lacking and ate most of our meals elsewhere. This year,however, there was a remarkable improvement in both the service and the food. We had three breakfasts and three dinners in the main restaurant and service and food was excellent. We can highly recommend Maumee Bay Resort and I think the 5 yr.old would agree.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! Next time you visit be sure to request a closer room and I'm sure we'll be able to cut down on that long walk. At least your view should have been spectacular from the end of the North wing. Hopefully your grandson was able to enjoy the many activities at the lodge. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family likes to take advantage of the state park system in Ohio and we were not disappointed at Maumee Bay. The views, the scenery, and the sunsets were all magnificent! We look forward to arranging our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rctwiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share such positve comments. Hopefully you were able to enjoy some of our many activities at the Lodge. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Unfortunate lake water bacteria issue during our stay along with cool-for-early August temps: didn't make beach activity too appealing. If you can swing the rate (high in summer), this is a nice place to stay. The extra activities are a little pricey on top of your rate though. Bikes could be a little less to rent. This might be out of the resorts control, but the JetSki rate through Taylor is very high, IMO. The Sunday brunch looked amazing/extensive, but also pricey for families at $19/ea. Ice cream shop is reasonable.

On the upside, the room was clean and had a lovely view of Lake Erie and the grounds. Though booked to capacity, we were not disturbed by noise. The room had a fridge w/ freezer, second sink, and patio with chairs. The pool scene was great (even without music, should be music). Pool water was a great temp. We enjoyed the nature center, biking the paths, looking at the boats/yachts moored there, shuffleboard, and breakfast at the restaurant. We were only there for two days and were busy with activities off the resort so we certainly didn't take full advantage of the onsite amenities. Our kids are older teens; younger kids would be easy to entertain here. We saw many extended family groups having an enjoyable time.

Our room had two full size beds, never great for my husband that is 6'3". Mattress was not great, possibly due for replacement (room 144). (I'm not usually one to complain about a mattress.)Linens were nice, shower great.

While there we visited the Toledo Museum of Art, Fort Meigs, Toledo Zoo, and Tony Packo's. All were great. The resort is nicely manicured and the lake is scenic of course, even with industry on some horizons, but the area just around the resort is not terribly interesting as far as nature and some parts are even a little odorous due to general "swampiness."

Overall, we did enjoy the resort as a base for our activities in Toledo.
Tip: Bring stuff from home to make S'Mores, as it looks like there is one or two bonfires lit each evening. Don't forget bug spray for evenings!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our property and nearby Toledo! It's unfortunate that for the 1st time this year we did have some algae blow in last week. The good news is that the winds have changed it appears to have gotten much better today. It's great to see that you still were able to have a good time. Good luck on the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This resort has been recently renovated and is terrific if you are traveling with kids! We went for a business meeting and Amy Boyer and Kim Cira could not have been nicer or more accomodating for our group. Highly recommend this place if you love golf and nature hikes as well as the lake.

Room Tip: The eastern wing was very quiet and easy access to the Trautman Nature Center. Ask for lake view too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the possitive review! I have already forwarded your comments on to Amy and Kim. We look forward to having you back again for business, or pleasure, or both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Maumee Bay is without a doubt my favorite place to go! We live in central Ohio and we are rarely able to travel far from home, coming to Maumee Bay compares to, if not outranks anywhere else I have ever been anywhere in the country. I cannot believe we have this paradise in our own back yard. The minute we turn on the road that leads us to the lodge, I am overwhelmed with a sense of peace and relaxation. I feel I am a million miles away from my every day cares. Every room we have stayed in has been impeccable. The grounds and recreation areas are beyond measure. It is a beautiful, serene setting for all the senses. Perhaps the most important part of the experience is the staff – AMAZING! Everyone goes out of his or her way to be kind and simply offer a friendly smile and a hello! If I lived in the area, I would love to work here... to be part of a place that feels so welcoming and happy! Thank you management and staff for all you do to make Maumee Bay so special!

Room Tip: I have never stayed in a room that was less that perfect....you will enjoy the entire lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Wow! I had to check your name to make sure you weren't a relative or friend. Honestly, we greatly appreciate your kind words and high score. It is wonderful to know that many visitors truly enjoy the vast amount of amenities that our Lake Erie Lodge has to offer. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After looking for a weekend getaway in Michigan, happened upon this resort, and saw all the positive reviews in Trip Advisor. Went here for a weekend in July and had a great time with the family. Check-in was quick, we booked online and paid an extra fee that included the breakfast buffet. There is no porter, but there are the usual carts in the entrance that you can use to transport items to your room.
The rooms were spacious, though the bathroom was a bit dated for a resort in this price range. We were 3 adults with a 3 and 2 year old, we paid an extra $12 per night for a roll-away and fit well enough in the room of two twin beds, which included a small refridgerator/freezer. There was no microwave, but there was one located at the end of the hallway. The room had a rather large safe that could easily fit a large laptop and small bags. Ours did not work, (or we weren't using it properly). Since we didn't have valuables we just skipped using it rather than inform the staff and wait for someone to fix it. The staff was very nice and helpful, I'm sure they would have fixed it if we had asked.
The resort has tons of sitting areas where you can sit and chat with family or read a book.
The resort is right on Lake Eerie, it has a small beach area, though most of the beach area is reserved for boats and fishing. There is also an "inland lake" about a 5 min walk away that has a fantastic swimming beach area with life guards with rest rooms and shower facilities. The resort also has a small indoor "soft" play area for toddlers as well as an indoor pool and small indoor splash area which the kids enjoyed. We got rain that weekend so we didn't get to try the outdoor pool. There are also plenty of biking/walking trails to keep you busy. The hotel website does a very poor job unfortunately of showing the hotel facilities, hopefully they can update this, it seems a shame that a resort with so much to offer does not feature them on its website.

The restaurant was large and the Friday breakfast buffet had 4 or 5 hot items for about 10 bucks. The "breakfast for 2" rate that we booked basically gets you two $9 coupons which is subtracted from the price of the breakfast (about $10). The breakfast on Friday had about 4 hot items and was about on par with what you might see at a Hampton Inn, nothing special. The Saturday buffet was a brunch that was a grand affair, this has more than a dozen items and was fantastic, though this was $20 per person, and so not covered completely by the coupons. We also had lunch at the restaurant, they staff were very accommodating to our kids, the tables were large and very kid friendly. The food was actually very good, and the prices were reasonable, much less than you might expect at a fancy hotel. For dinner one day we went into "town" about 6 miles away where there were a number of chain restaurants (Bob Evan, Pizza, etc).
Overall this would definitely visit again. The rooms were somewhat expensive for what you get, but the outdoor opportunities are much better than anything I have seen in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pradeepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our staff and the many activities we have at Maumee Bay. Even when the wheather is bad people find plenty of things to do. Hopefully you can visit again when the sun is shining and the bay is full of colorful sail boats. Good luck on your summer trip through the midwest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
24.8 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo / Oregon
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Oregon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Toledo-Oregon
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#5 of 5 in Oregon
84 reviews
13.8 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 1750 State Park Rd # 2, Oregon, OH 43616-5800
Location: United States > Ohio > Oregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oregon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Erie and only 15 minutes east of downtown Toledo, Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center is a full-service resort-style property offering an array of amenities, activities and recreational opportunities: marina, championship golf course, swimming pools, boardwalk, biking trails, racquetball courts, tennis, small boat rentals, hiking trails, and more. All 120 modern guestrooms have a private balcony/patio and provide spectacular views of the surrounding park. The 24 cottages feature fireplaces and modern amenities. Meeting facilities are available for corporate events, reunions, church retreats and wedding receptions. The Water's Edge Restaurant is suitable for a special occasion or family outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maumee Bay Hotel Oregon
Maumee Bay Ohio
Maumee Bay Resort
Maumee Bay Lodge And Conference Center Oregon, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing