We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Motel(Northwood)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
218
162
43
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
162
43
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature centerindoor poolbedroom cottagestate parkthe cottagesnorth wingracket ballsaw deerpaddle boatssplash padwalking trailsracquetball courtsmall pondsoft play areadiving boardscreened porchfamily reunion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 460 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful few days at the Maumee Bay Lodge. Our room was clean and quite comfortable with a spacious storage/closet area and large bathroom. The king size bed was amazingly comfy. Sliding glass doors looked out on the sparkling waterfront . I sat out on the patio in the very early morning drinking coffee and watching birds and I even saw a deer cross the expanse of well maintained lawn and disappear into the woods.

The facilities at this resort are first rate. There is a big indoor pool with a children's splash and play area as well as a couple of spas for adults. This area was busy with adults swimming laps in the early mornings and with families the rest of the day and evening. The outdoor pool was not yet open during our stay. There is an indoor gym also and some racquetball courts. These also saw a lot of use. The lobby is huge and very welcoming with fireplaces and several seating areas for families to gather . Bicycles are available for rental. We did not go into the arcade but we passed by a "game" area with pool tables etc.

Their main dining area is lovely. We had breakfast and dinner here and found the food to be absolutely delicious! The dining room was being painted on our last day so we had to eat in the lounge and we did not like this room nearly as well but the food, of course, was just as good. Try the buckeye pie!

We absolutely loved the two mile boardwalk through the woods and marshland. We walked it both morning and evening enjoying the diversity it offered and the wildlife. There are other walking trails around the park to enjoy as well as camping, golfing, picnicking and boating opportunities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for such great comments about our property. You missed the outdoor activities by just a week. We now have everything up and running and hopefully we'll have wonderful weather this summer. Thanks again for such a glowing and all-encompassing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really nice, clean, modern lodge with lots of amenities for families.
Rooms are spacious, comfortable. Outside facilities includes pools, bike trails, hiking trails and
a view of Lake Erie. Also has indoor pools, hottubs, game room, playroom for youngsters and
indoor volleyball courts. Close to Cedar Point and Toledo and many parks along the water.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are nice; but most have at least some view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCD1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your favorable scores and positive comments about our Lodge resort. It's so great to finally have summer here. All of our activities are now up and running! We hope to see you agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The lodge is well maintained, with pleasant rooms. This resort has the best food among the Ohio State Parks!! Its proximity to major migratory bird areas is a major draw and it is very busy during May.

Room Tip: Our room faced the bay. It was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maudie938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for positive posting of our wonderful resort style Lodge on the shore of Lake Erie. Once the bird migration is over we'll still have plenty of great opportunities to see many forms of wildlife in a true, natural setting. Our 2 mile boardwalk is a great place to see eagles, herons, egrets, owls, deer, fox, racoons and many other animals all summer long. PS: our outdoor pools & other summer operations open tomorrow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just discovered Maumee Bay when taking the kids with us bird watching at the nearby nature areas. It was awesome. The kids had a blast. The indoor pool is large and warm, with a spray area and 2 hot tubs. The kids liked the arcade (which wasn't noisy and is open so not dark & ikkcy) and the pool table and raquet ball courts. There are tons of sitting areas for groups to gather. Best of all was the view over the waterfront from our hotel room and the sitting area/patio from our first floor room.

There is an excellent State Park nature center and big boardwalk located on the parking lot so you don't even have to drive to enjoy nature. I'm sure we'll visit here every year. Other details: the fridge had a separate freezer and was larger. There is a microwave located in the laundry/ice machine area (coin washers and dryers too.). Wall mart super center, Kroger etc are a 15 min. drive away in Oregon. I think there's something for everyone here, and with kids ages 10, 12 it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the East Wing, 1st floor, which is good if you have young kids because you can watch them at the play structure right from the patio of your room (chairs/table provided). The hotel was almost filled when we booked, so we had to take an ADA room (large bathroom is nice) but less room in the bedroom, but then the rollaway bed is really big to squeeze in, so if there are 4 of you then you have to put the matress from the rollaway on the floor and leave the frame (wheeled part) on the hallway. Worked for us but be aware.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyBAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments about your stay. Even though the Birding festival is over the migratory birds will still be plentiful for a few more weeks. I hope you get a chance to come back and visit. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Maumee Bay is lovely and was a great place for a birding event. The setting is wonderful and the trail and Nature Center add to the choices. It is nicely suited for a conference and also provided family amenities to suit various ages and interests. The onsite restaurant and swimming pool were welcome and inviting.

Room Tip: There are lodge rooms and cottages. I have stayed in both and been pleased.
Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK C, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

I'm glad to see that you were able to enjoy the many natural benefits of our Park. This was been a very good year for viewing migratory birds. You may want to visit again in the summer when the Nature Center's monarch butterfly exhibit is in full operation. Thank you so much for favorable score and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews