We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cabins, fantastic amenities, first-class food, but a busy State Park.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great cabins, fantastic amenities, first-class food, but a busy State Park.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We rented a cabin at Maumee Bay State Park for a weekend (usually the cabins are only available for whole weeks) and had a wonderful time. The view of Lake Erie was marvelous and the grounds were very well-kept. The nature center had lots of activities for kids and the board walk was perfectly relaxing!

The cabins are very efficient, with a full kitchen, two porches, air conditioning, a fireplace, satellite TV, and beds to sleep seven. I did not notice alarm clocks. The extra bedrooms are lofted, so just be warned that if people stay up late, the guests sleeping in the lofted bedroom will hear you like you are in the room with them. The park provides ample towels, kitchen cookware/utensils/flatware, dish soap, and shampoo/conditioner/body wash. They even have recycling bins for your convenience. My only complaint is that there is only a shower - no tub. BUT, you're supposed to be "camping" at a state park, so having a cabin is kind of cheating anyway ;o)

The amenities of the park are fantastic. Cabin guests have access to the lodge amenities. There is an indoor and outdoor pool. The indoor pool has lots of water features for the kids to have fun and two hot tubs for adults. The lodge also has a huge playroom for younger kids, an arcade and raquette ball courts for older kids and adults. The hotel restaurant serves first-class food. Each of our lunches were fantastic (my in-laws travel a lot and are used to "finer things" and they were so surprised by the quality of the food (particularly the seafood bisque). Their indoor/outdoor ice cream stand is very reasonably priced and serves very yummy, hand-dipped ice cream.

My only complaint is that, in the summer, there is a lot going on. There were 3-4 events going on on the weekend we were there. However, while there were lots of other people around, you still were able to have your own space. The only time I noticed it was that the ice cream line was perpetually long.

There is a golf course, rental bikes, a beach, and nightly bonfires in which we did not participate due to time constraints, but they all looked really fund.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    148
    34
    19
    9
See reviews for
214
87
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this little gem. There was so much to do and you felt that you were far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The rooms were cute and we had the ground floor patio, which faced the pond and the lake (the balconies are smaller, but still nice). The restaurant was good and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. We will definitely come back to this location, and we may even bring more family and stay in one of the awesome cottages!

Room Tip: Ground floor patio as opposed to the second floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am staying write now in this resort and since we arrived everything es very disapointed, at first the room that we are paying 188 dolars the night for two doubles bed (really small) it has all the carpet wet and they couldn´t find a solution because they don´t have more rooms. The decoration is horrible, the sheets are old and rough, I asked for a crib for my toddler and they gave me one really old and dust and they didn´t have a matress so is very uncomfortable. Then, to finish the bad day we went to dinner to the restaurant of the resort and we had to wait more than an hour with our little baby starving and they didn´t brought the food so we had to go and buy some pizza in a gas station, really stay away for here this place sucks and is very true that you see in the horizonte the nuclear plant so nothing nature at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate and respect the viewpoints of all of our visitors. It supports our goal to continually improve our operations here at Maumee Bay Lodge.

I was disappointed to read your opinion of the condition, value and cleanliness of the lodge. Wet carpet, horrible decorations, dusty furniture, rough sheets and uncomfortable beds are certainly not the type of things we would like this lodge to be associated with. Additionally, the slow service at the restaurant is also a big concern for me. Please rest assured that I will address your comments with my entire staff and look for ways to improve immediately.

If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to contact me at the information below.

Patrick Czarny
General Manager
pczarny@xanterra.com
Phone: 419-836-0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We rented the small cabin, which was very clean and modern. Sleeps 7, lots of seating, a couple of tables, basic kitchen setup. The flat screen and WiFi was an unexpected bonus. The grounds are well kept, with lots of wild life. The lodge has plenty of kids activities, with an indoor and outdoor pool open late. Game room, raquetball, golf and tennis, along with the marina makes it easy to find things to do. Nice people there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flybynighttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We came here for a four-family, three-generation, three-day family reunion during a midweek in August. Worked out great. Lots of ways we kept busy: Tennis, swimming, shuffleboard, bikes, paddleboats, nature walk, nature center, to name a few. Food was good enough. We stayed in cottages (full kitchen w/oven, stove, microwave, full-sized fridge, utensils, cooking necessities, coffeemaker & coffeefilters). Sleep six (one double bed, 2 twin beds and two bunk beds) w/one bathroom (shower, no tub). Staff--housekeeping, front desk, restaurants--was extremely friendly all around. Not far from a two-screen drive-in movie theater (though we didn't go).

Room Tip: Low-numbered cottages (1-5 or so) are about 1/3 of a mile from the lodge; others are more of a drivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hushaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I just held a 3 day seminar for over 60 clients, and 20 employees from all over the US and a few from Australia, at Maumee Bay Resort. It included, a golf outing, fishing charter, massages, Jet Skiis and any of the other activity that the facility offers along with a 2 day classroom style conference. The staff was knowledgable in assisting in every aspect of this and including the conference planning, with AV etc, right down to the meals!! Everything went extremely smooth! There were no problems with reservations, rooms were great, facility was great and the staff was very friendly and extremely accomodating!! My expectations were definitely exceeded!!

Room Tip: Any of the Lake View rooms are awesome, due to the beautiful view of Lake Erie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great visit on father/son trip before school started. Nice though somewhat dated facilities. Strong service/staff. Lots of activities for adults and kids. Near several marinas, good for guided fishing trips on Lake Erie.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank reboy913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo / Oregon
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Toledo-Oregon
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#5 of 5 in Oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Perrysburg - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 1750 State Park Rd # 2, Oregon, OH 43616-5800
Location: United States > Ohio > Oregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oregon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Erie and only 15 minutes east of downtown Toledo, Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center is a full-service resort-style property offering an array of amenities, activities and recreational opportunities: marina, championship golf course, swimming pools, boardwalk, biking trails, racquetball courts, tennis, small boat rentals, hiking trails, and more. All 120 modern guestrooms have a private balcony/patio and provide spectacular views of the surrounding park. The 24 cottages feature fireplaces and modern amenities. Meeting facilities are available for corporate events, reunions, church retreats and wedding receptions. The Water's Edge Restaurant is suitable for a special occasion or family outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maumee Bay Hotel Oregon
Maumee Bay Ohio
Maumee Bay Resort
Maumee Bay Lodge And Conference Center Oregon, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing