We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Place Stay in Oberlin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Fine Place Stay in Oberlin”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is an excellent B&B. Our hosts, two retired teachers, have put together a B&B that has a beautiful garden, a swimming pool that guests can use, and a gym as well (Not too many B&Bs boast that amenity) They are big on the Civil War and our room featured an authentic Confederate officer's sword. The Lincoln room has a bathtub/shower combination where as our Confederate room had only a shower. Breakfast was breathtaking, fruit cup with yogurt, homemade muffins, turkey sausage and eggs Florentine. Wow! If you book here make sure you get directions...not everyone in Oberlin, knows of Hallauer (pronounce Holyer) Road. The town itself possesses an exceptional art gallery.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My daughter and I recently returned to Oberlin so we could attend an Opera performed by the students. My daughter is strongly considering attending Oberlin next fall. The difficulty is finding (1) accommodations near Oberlin and (2) QUALITY accommodations!

Fortunately, Hallauer house is just that and more. Conveniently located a few quiet miles from campus, it is easy to drive and expertly kept. The hosts are friendly and exceptionally well versed on local history and the relationship of the College to the community. Rooms are clean and uniquely apportioned. Food is outstanding - breakfast was amazing. Reserve early since they only have 3 rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriMarJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hallauer House B&B on Veteran's Day. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The house is full of interesting historical artifacts and lots of local information. Our hosts were also a wealth of info on local history.
The breakfast was superb, my husband can't stop raving about the muffins. The room we stayed in (the Confederate Room) was lushly appointed with tons of thoughtful touches.

All in all, one of the best B&B's we've stayed in!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmatheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Joe & Sue are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious -- French toast stuffed with blueberries, crepes, great muffins. The pool was perfect on a hot summer day. Joe is a wealth of information if you are a Civil War buff.

There is a cat, but my husband, who is allergic to cats, did not have any symptoms, so I guess she does not roam the rooms that guests use.

Sooo much better than the Oberlin Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our family of five spent the night while visiting Oberlin College & Conservatory. This was a great B&B. The hosts were friendly and eager to show us around their eclectic, lush garden and antique filled home. We stayed in the "blue room" which was a two room suite complete with 3 double beds, pull-out couch, arm chairs, desk, fluffy white bathrobes, complimentary stocked mini-frig jacuzzi tub & shower, etc.etc. It was cozy, so comfortable and relatively close to the college ( its a 5-10 minute drive). Breakfast was served poolside in the morning and was thoughtfully prepared and presented. Had a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acpc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and I was simply amazed! The place was spotless and so comfortable. Our hosts were very friendly without making you feel uncomfortable and Susan made us a fabulous breakfast in the morning! The house is filled with all sorts of interesting items and special touches. My daughter greatly appreciated the apple juice that she found in the refrigerator late at night. We hope to back in Oberlin and will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emptynester20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Hallauer House is 3 miles from the Oberlin College campus. We were visiting our son there and attending a performance he was in. It is too far from the college to walk, especially in the snow, but that made it a nicer vacation for us. The house if full of Civil War memorabilia and Joe readily shares his knowledge of the Underground railroad and Oberlin history. Joe and Susan are very friendly and make you feel very much at home. There is a 2 person jacuzzi and sauna as well as exercise equipment available (and a pool in the summer!) There staircase to the rooms is a bit steep and might be difficult for someone with disabilities. Otherwise I recommend this B&B without reservations.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acheyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberlin
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Oberlin
The Hotel at Oberlin
#1 of 2 in Oberlin
63 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
10.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
10.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
12.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14945 Hallauer Rd, Oberlin, OH 44074-9043
Location: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodations at the historical Hallauer House Bed and Breakfast consist of just 3 rooms but offer guests more amenities than most hotels or resorts. After you settle into the Union or Confederate Room or the Mason/Dixon Suite you can then explore the grounds where you will find the in-ground heated pool, the relaxing hot tub, the whimsical garden with a running stream, the large fish pond, the mini beach, the rec/exercise room, the Asian Spa, the Music room, and the Great Room. While you enjoy a 3 course complimentary breakfast served every morning in the formal dining room or out on the pool deck the innkeeper will share stories about the history of Oberlin and it's involvement in the Civil War. Guests going to Oberlin College will find that it is just a short 6 minute drive away. Here you will avoid the crowds, get quick breakfast service, and find many ways to relax. We are your mini hotel choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast Oberlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing