We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if you REALLY like Mediterranean food”
Review of Aladdin's Eatery

Aladdin's Eatery
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Oberlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok if you REALLY like Mediterranean food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ate lunch there while visiting the college. The food was decent, reasonably priced, and the service was good. On the downside, there was very little variety - if you don't care for Mediterranean spices or sauces, you will find very little to like here. Lots of hummus, yogurt, garlic with diced tomatoes and onions arranged with pita in some form, sometimes with beef or chicken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corinnellawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Should be ranked higher”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This restaurant ranks fourth of twelve for my overall assessment of Oberlin restaurants, but first in terms of frequency with which we dine. First, it's such a dramatic improvement over its predecessor that it gets points for just for being on this crucial corner spot on the town square. Second, the menu has a great variety of mostly healthy foods. Third, the overall atmosphere is very nice--lively but not loud; convivial but possible to have a private conversation. Fourth, they serve wine (maybe beer?). Fifth, they publish detailed nutrition information on the web ("drizzle of olive oil: 14 calories). They also deserve recognition for the dramatic improvement in their service. They wound up comping our meals for perhaps 3 out of the first 5 times we ate there (including when they were at their prior location in Amherst). That hasn't been an issue for at least a couple of years.

On the down side, I will say that the food could be more flavorful. And, while gorgeous, the cakes in the display tray have little flavor other than that of being factory made. But, that makes it easier to resist eating something that few of us probably need to be eating anyway. The traditional desserts are better (e.g. baklava) but homemade rice pudding or apple tart would be a welcome addition to the menu (hint hint!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArborAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have eaten here several times and always find the food to be very good. Recently we dined here with a group of 16 and the service was outstanding. The food arrived quickly. We split the bill up and they calculated everything accurately. It's affordable and in a great location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CB5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, OH
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The service was good. I had the falafel salad. The falafel was fried so hard you could barely put your fork through it and the tahina dressing was bland and runny. Both were tasteless. It was a bad combo overall. I can make better falafel at home. Why pay for it here?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank classyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently ate at Aladdin for the second time and found that it just doesn't do much for me. My husband and I shared a plate of tabbouleh as an appetizer, and it was very good - fresh-tasting and plenty for two. The pita bread that came with it was soft and nice.

But the falafel pita I ordered was barely warm at all and just not very interesting. Personally, I don't care for the way they toast the pita bread; to me it seems dry. I could hardly taste the hummus.

The location is great, though, right on the corner of Oberlin's two main streets which makes for good people-watching. Overall, I'm not sure it's worth it. There are definitely better places in Oberlin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aladdin's Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Aladdin's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing