We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another option.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple City Tavern - CLOSED

Maple City Tavern
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Full service bar, serving domestic & craft beers, wines, & signature mixed drinks. We have a small but tasty menu which has our twist on typical bar food. We have a cozy patio for dining outside in the summer & entertainment on weekends. Hours of operation vary.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another option.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My G/F and I have been here twice since Mill Street Bistro closed and Maple City Tavern was opened. It is the same ownership. It has a nice feel and hopefully the menu/food will improve. The appetizer selection was pretty decent when compared to the rest of the menu which was rather limited. We shared a flat bread pizza which was pretty decent. My G/f had a burger which was cooked the way she asked and was pretty good. The tavern fries were decent. Overall portion size was average. The house salad was decent size, fresh, and the selection of dressings was good. the Lake Erie perch platter seemed a little small esp since I payed an extra $1.50 for an addition piece of fish. The spicy slaw was indeed a little spicy which I liked. Drink selection seemed pretty good with a good selection of domestic, import and craft beers. Wine list was limited to about half a dozen reds/whites covering the more popular varietals. If you were sitting in just the right spot to see a TV it might be a nice local place to watch the game and have a drink. It was a little pricer than I would have expected but not outrageous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    6
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Dreadful food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Ambiance looked promising but food over cooked - presentation was better than average hence the disappointment in the final product.
Very disappointing then the bill came . My host complained and an argument ensued.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
87 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Evening at Mill Street Bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a nice place, if you can afford it. It is pricier than all the general places around. The atmosphere is nice, the building is old and unique. The service is good and the selection is nice. The food was tasty. For the two of us, with dessert and NO wine, we paid $98.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank Ishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Yuppieville without the quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food was average at best the price was outrageous. The staff seemed confused and the menu was limited. This was the second time I was there and each time was a average food at high prices.
I don't mind paying for something as long as I feel I get my moneys worth. I won't be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
53 Thank FLSTCWCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We dine out a lot; and our meal here was great. Attentive service and a nice atmosphere. Began with walleye fritters - cooked just right and served with fresh lemon and tartar sauce. Then Cesar salad, again tasty with fresh shaved Parmesan. My husband had the elk burger which he really enjoyed - and the fries that came with it were out of this world! I had a perch dinner, that came with roasted redskins and a zucchini medley. It wasn't the same old perch you get anywhere, but with a bit of jazzed up spice (not too much.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drsharonleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple City Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing