We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Northwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americas Best Value Inn Northwood
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed here several times never having any serious issues. The rooms are always clean and tidy. Everyone is always helpful with anything you may need or want. I will stay here again when I am in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CollieMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good Morning ColllieMar,

Thank you for your nice review! We are so pleased that you are happy with your stays and we so appreciate returning Guests like yourself. I am glad you have found our Staff is to be courteous and helpful. We will continue to improve where needed so your stays will ALWAYS be good ones......

Kind Regards,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    11
    13
    29
See reviews for
14
18
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago, working in Rossford at the glass plant. So when we came back, to work there again decided to stay there again. But the place sure has gone down hill.my husbands gun came up missing, when we called to report it , the police officer advised us to get out of this motel, and the gun was never found. A few of us were sitting outside cooking on the grill, and 3 people in just an hours time , asked us if we wanted to buy some dope.when we told them we didn't they got mouthy, yelling by the pool, to get our rich ----- out of the room. Working the hours of 7 pm to 7 am, with the do not disturb sign on the door, they still knocked and woke us,even after explaining our hours.. It's not the same motel. It has gone to Dope.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tbrickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Tbrickie,

We are sorry to hear your stay with us was less than satisfying. Your missing gun was unfortunate that is why it is important to keep your doors shut and not propped open. We try to work around work schedules and are always considerate of sleep times. Housekeeping scheduled to clean your room upon your request and could not get in. We do try hard to accommodate you.

Best Regards

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northwood hotels

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice rooms with a clean out door pool and Bill's Bistro. What a package! Manager Sean is always very accomodating! I would reccomend the Stromboli at Bill's. Give this place a try. It very well may be the Best Value in Northwood!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello HappyT,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We work hard to make your stay pleasant.
The Stromboli is a favorite. Sean is always eager to help and the rest of the staff is helpful too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

DiAnna Gacik
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After participating at a Psychic and Health Fair on 09/07/13, the next day I realized my purse was left in the room we were in. I called the next morning, on a Sunday, everyone @ the motel bent over backwards to help me track it down. The manager came in, on his day off, to open the office so I could retrieve my purse. Housekeeping found it and turned it in, nothing was missing or disturbed. Even though I didn't stay in a room, they really came through for me! I cannot thank them enough for all they did for me! THANK YOU ALL SO VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR HELP!!!!

Room Tip: When you can trust the staff to do the right thing, it means alot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Christina,

It was our pleasure to help out such a nice person as yourself. We try to accommodate any way we can. Our staff is trained in hospitality and will always do whatever they can to make you comfortable.

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

after doing a day trip to americas best value inn the place was ran down.. the employee took us to the room... smelt of musty and mold, the mini fridge had alot of ice in the freezer, the guy said they defrost it every month didn't feel safe there at all won't be staying there they are walking distance
to the casino if you feel like walking or the have a shuttle for free... the pics you see on the website for northwoods on americas best value inn don't look nothing like the room with the cook top stove

Room Tip: the carpet was dirty,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megatron44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Megatron44,

We are impressed you took a day trip to our hotel from Cincinnati, Ohio. I wish you would have stayed and enjoyed the comfortable beds the Guests comment on often. We are always improving the Hotel and appreciate your maximum rating on Value. Come back and stay with us soon....

Kind Regards,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

When I got there I was checked in with in 5 min .The first room that I checked in to was ok but the air was not blowing out enough but I just calmly talked to some at the front desk and with no problems they switched my room twice with no problems. I asked for clean sheets and pillowcases and they brought them to me but I really didn't need them I had my own from home I just wanted to check the service. They were very friendly. What ever I needed I was able to get.. thanks for a great stay SHAWN at the front desk.... I will be back to stay again, When I need another 2 day getaway!!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the first floor in the summer its a lot cooler!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.....Shawn J,

We try very hard to give you good customer service and treat you the way we would want to be treated. I am pleased that you were satisfied. I look forward to having you stay with us again.....

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brutus
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we arrived there was absolutely no hotel staff on site. A sign at desk saying "we'll return in 10 - 15 minutes". Lobby is attractive. Desk staff not apologetic upon return. Warm day the day of our arrival, so 2nd floor stuffy. No screen in window. Carpeting with cigarette burn marks ( I booked a smoking room by accident). Hotel was dirty in appearance. Very poor selection @ breakfast (continental). No orange juice at 8:15 in the morning - there were only 6 of us in the breakfast area at the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Karen S,

I am sorry you had less than a good experience while staying with us. We did have a repair with the the Hotel CA. Our staff is extremely hospitable and again I apologize if they were less than that. Thank you for your review..... we are always improving the Hotel for Guest satisfaction.

Have a good day....

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwood
0.2 mi away
BridgePointe Inn & Suites
BridgePointe Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Northwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#8 of 17 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
4.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#5 of 5 in Oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo / Oregon
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Northwood

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Northwood
Address: 2426 Oregon Rd., Northwood, OH 43619
Location: United States > Ohio > Northwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Northwood 2*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn South, a Northwood hotel near Westfield Franklin ParkThe Comfort Inn® South is conveniently located east of Toledo off Interstate 75, just 25 miles from Bowling Green State University. Area points of interest near this Northwood, OH hotel include the University of Toledo, Westfield Franklin Park mall, Owens Community College and COSI Toledo, a hands-on science museum. The Toledo Express Airport is 14 miles away.Cedar Point amusement park, known as the "Roller Coaster Capital of the World," is within 50 miles of the hotel.The hotel is near several shops and a wide variety of restaurants. Bill's Bistro and Lounge is the on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge. Other local restaurants include Bob Evans and The Docks.Hotel amenities and features include:•Free breakfast with hot waffles•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Outdoor courtyard pool•Exercise room•Meeting and banquet roomsBusiness travelers will appreciate access to copy and fax services. This Northwood, OH hotel offers guest rooms with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms also include refrigerators and microwaves.Whirlpool rooms and business king rooms are also available. Non-smoking rooms and handicap accessible rooms are offered for guest convenience.Whether traveling to the east Toledo area for business or pleasure, the Comfort Inn South is sure to exceed all travel needs. Call today for a great rate in a relaxing room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Northwood Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing