We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express N. Lima
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in North Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Nice place!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great half way point between DC and Chicago. Nothing fancy, but all the amenities available and working! Very comfortable. Small pool and fitness center, but very functional. Close to Millcreek metro park which is a fantastic area for runners. Steamers across the street isn't fancy either but great food and fun place. Great location right off the expressway. Great place for the location and price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. I'm glad that you found us to be a nice place. We will be even nicer after our remodel.
Thank you,
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    49
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
35
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been coming to this area for years on business and decided to try this location.
I won't stay here again. I have been in so many Holiday Inn Express locations over the years that I feel I am an expert on them and this one was below average for the chain.
First, the location is pretty bad for everything. I guess it is designed for people who just want to get off the interstate late at night and jump back on early the next morning. There are only a few run down restaurants and gas stations nearby, (or one new looking gas station with almost nothing in the store.) There is a biker bar and gentleman's club nearby, (As described by the locals I do business with up there), and you have to drive up to Boardman near the Mall to find any decent places so may as well stay up there.
The hotel hallways and room were dark, dank, and had a mildew (smoke?) type smell. It's a minor thing but it had to be the most depressing hallway carpet-wallpaper design I have ever encountered in a Holiday Inn express. The room was 'okay' other than it felt and smelled 'old' and the AC wouldn't work half the time. It could be as other commenters have suggested that their air handling is not very good and the smoke smell permeates the entire place.
Breakfast is the same junk they serve at all the holiday inn express locations and I don't like them anywhere and usually just grab a biscuit and meat to carry out, but I had to check back twice before they had any sausage or eggs on the buffet and it was not very crowded.
The staff I dealt with were pleasant.
Most of my reviews on TA are good ones and I stay at a lot of HIE properties if that helps with this review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I'm sorry that you found us below average. Most of the issues that you mentioned will be addressed in our upcoming renovation which should be done by next summer. Hopefully, you will give us another chance then.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was late at night and we were looking for hotel rooms to just stay one night. Every decent hotel in the Youngstown OH area was booked. We called this place and they had a room. I didn't care about the price, I just wanted to get to sleep. What I liked about this place: Pool was nice, but small, beds were comfortable, and the breakfest was good. Our room was very large and the bed was quite comfortable. I wish they would have had a whirlpool, but that is minor. Would I stay here again? Well, there are other places which I am sure are nice but are cheaper, and if I could stay in one of those, I would.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the review and I'm glad that you like our pool, beds and breakfast. Due to the extremely high demand for the entire Youngstown area especially April through October, the area rates are a little higher than other areas. We are actually one of the more reasonably rated properties (for future reference).
Thank you,
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the moment I walked in the hotel stunk of cigarette smoke. I was then sent to my room which was not actually my room at all. I was greeted by a friendly gentleman in his underwear. I had to go back downstairs with all of my luggage and get it straightened out. The elevator wasn't even with the floor causing quite a struggle with the luggage cart. It almost fell over each time I was on the elevator. The door would close before I could get on causing me and/or the luggage cart to be hit with the door. The smell of smoke continues to linger into my new room which is supposed to be nonsmoking, but its seeping in from the smoke haze in the hallway and it smells as though its coming through the AC unit as well. I can't wait for this stay to be over. The only positive so far has been the shelves by the bathroom sink.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. I recommend the Fairfield inn in Austintown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I do apologize for your difficulties and I will have maintenance check the elevator as we have never had that issue reported before. Our only smoking rooms are on the third floor; so I don't know why the first floor smelled like smoke. We are all very excited to be converting to all non-smoking with our upcoming renovation. As for the room mix up, I again apologize. It may have been due to a brand new desk clerk. The entire area does sell out every night in the summer. I'm glad that you liked the bathroom shelves.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the first floor, love the very high ceilings.
Everything is clean and a typical holiday in express.
The rooms need new bedding and beds.
At a rate of 70 or $80 it is
worthwhile.
The staff is just fine.
You will not be impressed and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. I was happy to read all of the positive comments that you wrote. Thank you for your time.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Effortless on and off the pike.Great breakfast bar with many selections. Clean and comfortable rooms and bed was perfect for sleeping.
Room was quiet and well maintained.
Second time we have stopped here. Will plan to be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennwoodpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. You are correct in that we are right by the turnpike and an easy place for travelers to stop. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and will be back.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a stop for us midway from Virginia to Chicago along the Ohio Turnpike. This hotel provided a very comfortable room and outstanding service. I really like the new Holiday Inn Express formula a lot. We were given bottles of water and a couple of snack bars on arrival. Our room was very clean and well maintained, including a selection of pillows labeled firm, soft, etc. This hotel is 20% powered by a solar panel array, which further impressed me.

We have tired several hotels in this area, and so far, this has been the best yet. I used Priceline bidding and got the room for about a $30 discount.

Room Tip: We were on the Turnpike side, 3rd floor and it was quiet. No room has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorthLima, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express N. Lima, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am so glad that you had a nice stay and yes we are proud of our solar power!
Thank you,
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Lima
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boardman Inn & Suites
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Youngstown W - I-80 Niles Area
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Youngstown - Canfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in North Lima
54 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
0.8 mi away
Davis Motel
Davis Motel
#2 of 6 in North Lima
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express N. Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express N. Lima

Property: Holiday Inn Express N. Lima
Address: 10111 Market St, North Lima, Youngstown, OH 44452-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown > North Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in North Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express N. Lima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in North Lima, Ohio is located conveniently off the Ohio Turnpike at Exit 232 on SR 7 (Market Street). At our hotel, guests enjoy amenities such as our Still Free now Hot! Express Start breakfast bar, Free wireless Internet access in all of our rooms, indoor heated swimming pool, on site fitness center and a business center. Holiday Inn Express & Suites in North Lima, Boardman, OH is just seconds away from Southern Park Mall, OH, which is the areas shopping and entertainment district. There is an enormous variety of restaurants and retail shopping stores to enjoy. We are minutes away form General Motors and YSU. We look forward to serving you and with our 100% guest satisfaction guarantee we will do our best to make your hotel experience as comfortable as possible. Specializing in meeting planning and group reservations. Call us today! GOV & FSA approved hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express N. Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express n. Lima Hotel North Lima
Holiday Inn North Lima
North Lima Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express N. Lima Ohio/North Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing