We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'No Room at the Inn' on Christmas Eve... Animals Welcome!!”
Review of Davis Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Davis Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Lima
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Davis Review: Had to leave our house on Christmas eve due to plumbing problems. Went up & down Market Street in North Lima Ohio and checked out 3 or so hotel/motels for price and the fact that we had our 'best friend' Freddy with us. Long story short, we ended up checking Davis Motel last and what luck that was!! All the other places wanted a huge deposit for Fred. And were so expensive since we knew we would be where ever we ended up for at aleast a week. But There WAS room at the Inn at the Davis Motel on that Christmas eve. I want to say how sweet the brothers are that run the place. Very accomodating, very laid back people. So we stayed until New Years Eve! They made a long week bearable for myself, my husband and our dog Freddy! They had a laundry room we used. A very clean place ALL around. Great employees! If you have expensive tastes you should keep going ...
but if you want clean/comfy and safe this is the place! Your own microwave, fridge and free WiFi.

Oh and yes everyone is right the restaurant/bar next door has Great Food in walking distance! I was happy to 'assist' in the puzzle for What's a drink without ice called... Neat! Keep the puzzles going.
And we TY both for everything! You should be #1 on that strip on Market Street. You are in our book.

Animals Welcome!!
TY Davis Motel!

Barry & Pat & Freddy
Columbiana, OH

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Auntie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

“Davis Motel - Room at the Inn” A Joyful Christmas “Tail” (Freddy’s that is.) As you discovered our neighboring expensive franchise motels are not so neighborly demanding mandatory ”huge deposits” for pets. Also we agree, “Those who have expensive tastes you should keep going ... but if you want clean/comfy and safe this is the place! Your own microwave, fridge and free WiFi.” And thanks for rating us excellent in every category. Over the last year our family is overwhelmingly humbled over yours and other guests’ excellent ratings. Glad you hear we were able to assist you during your housing dilemma especially on Christmas. PS: Our staff loved Freddy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

I am car hauler and broke down on the Ohio Turnpike near North Lima exit 232. The tow truck drivers recommended I stay at the Davis until my truck was fixed. The place had plenty of truck parking and a great bar next door. The room had free Wi-Fi, fridge, microwave, hot shower, great TV and was very clean The owner said they have been catering to car haulers for over 50 years and had some pictures of old car hauler trucks from the 1920 on up hanging in their office. The stay was so good it almost made be happy I broke down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We wrote a song about your stay
Tune: "YMCA" song

Hey driver, need a nice place to stay?
I said, hey driver, and not out of your way.
I said, hey driver, if your truck is broke down
There's no need to be unhappy.

Hey driver, there's a place you can go.
I said, hey driver, if you're short on your dough.
You can stay there, and I'm sure you will find.
This place is one of a kind.

It's great to stay at the Davis Motel.
It's great to stay at the Davis Motel.

They have everything, it will be greatest,
You can even hang out with Murray Davis ...

You can get yourself clean, you can have a good meal
With free wifi, fridge, and TV, what a good deal ...

It's great to stay at the Davis Motel.
It's great to stay at the Davis Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Due to my crew working in the oil and gas industry, we stay in the North Lima area because of all the oil well construction. We like to stay at the Davis due the good rate for a two week stay. It’s very clean has microwaves, fridges and free WiFi and coffee in the office. Best of all they have a great bar & grill next door! The business is family owned and friendly. That being said, the place not is not for high maintenance people that need a pool or an expensive franchise.

Room Tip: Have rooms with 3 beds for crews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thanks the great review! For over 50 years the Davis Motel has had a proud tradition of having all kinds of crews stay with us. From road to water tower crews to railroad and construction crews like yours. That is why we have rooms with 3 comfortable beds. So no one has to sleep in a nasty cot like some other motels make them do. Plus we have always price our rooms to be affordable for the working person. Looking forward to seeing your crew again and thanks for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I have used Trip Advisor for over a year and have relied on the ratings here to book many stays, but have not felt the need to write a review until now.
We have stayed at the Davis Motel twice before, this being our third stay. Our first time was okay, nothing remarkable. What you'd expect from a truck stop motel, maybe less. The room was filled with cobwebs, and a roach-like bug was seen crawling.
The second time was stellar; the kind of room you'd expect from even an upscale chain hotel. Having booked online beforehand, the owner said we would be placed in one of the "better rooms," which was true.
Our final stay, however, was disappointing. The room itself was fine. When attempting a shower, the water filled the tub as if running a bath while waiting for it to get warm. No sooner had I gotten in, the water went lukewarm. I turned the hot on all the way, and was unable to finish before the water was freezing.
We contacted the front desk, which switched us to another room. As soon as we opened the door we were overpowered by the smell of raw sewage in the room. Regardless, we decided to test the water. We turned the hot on all the way and let it run, and it never warmed beyond lukewarm at best. We promptly returned to the desk and asked to be switched to our original room; at least it didn't smell.
Nothing was offered for the inconvenience and the owner was not involved as the person running the desk "did not want to wake anyone," though it was early evening. I understand a room cost only $50 and it is a small motel, but is it really so much to expect a hot shower and a room that doesn't smell?

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank msande25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your remarks. Good News! The day you checked out we immediately corrected the issues. It seems the day before we replaced the linoleum in that bathroom unfortunately the toilet did not seal properly soon after causing the unpleasant odor. We also found the lack of hot water was cause by a worn out tub valve which has already been replaced. We thank for telling us about it. One factor for the other issues is due to the holidays we were short staffed and the owners that evening were actually unavailable attending an out of town family reunion. Next year we do plan to schedule better. Also we do appreciate your encouraging comment about your previous “stellar” stay.

Nonetheless from your current experience I can understand your frustration. For unlike your previous stay, this time we didn’t live up to your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience and as per your request if you give us another chance you will be compensated for your patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is just a mother's perspective on Davis Motel. We booked based on the ratings here on TA, though we were not too concerned since it was for just a one night stay on our way out East. In hindsight, I do not think it was a good choice with two small children. We arrived very late in the evening, stopping to get a key to our room which was supposed to be a 'family room' with 3 beds. My husband retrieved the key and reeked of cigarette's when he returned a few minutes later. He said the office was horribly smelly from the smoke. Seriously? It's 2013. Cigarette smell in a business office of any kind is not acceptable.

We went directly to the room we were given and walked into a dirty (and tiny) room, beds unmade, towels on the floor and only 2 beds. My husband went back down to the office and was told she 'didn't realize' we had reserved a larger room. We drove around the back of the building and to the other side of the facility to find a larger room with 2 double beds and 1 twin. The room smelled of some kind of air freshener and the room appeared as if from the 70's. We didn't expect some modern place for less than $50 per night but it seems as if updating the bedding wouldn't 'break the bank'. The bathroom appeared mostly clean but the sink was badly draining and took most of the night to drain. We slept in our clothes and decided NOT to shower in the morning, we were so ready to get out of there.

Aside from everything else, the road noise was very bad, the location was very scary and felt unsafe, and the towels...ugh, disgusting! We didn't even use them as they had crusted on spots all over them. It was so gross.

My suggestion, go elsewhere. If $$ is the only thing important to you, I suggest you bring your own bedding, your own towels and do not bring children here...you will be beyond disappointed!
I now suspect the good reviews on this location are fake.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Greeneyedgirl373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your detailed comments. We have considered your input and decided to renovate the entire room that included new drapes, carpet and beds and washed down the walls for a fresher scent. Also we do appreciate your encouraging comment on the cleanliness of our bathrooms. Nonetheless from your experience I can understand questioning our past outstanding reviews. Even so from these it does appears most guests really do have enjoyable stay and as proof they come back often. However it seems you didn’t catch us at our best and we apologize for any inconvenience. One factor for this is due to the holidays we were short staffed which looks like caused some issues. Next year we do plan to schedule better. Also to reduce the road noise we do have rooms located further off the street.

As by the example of our renovating the room, we very seriously consider all the feedback from TripAdvisor and use them for improvement which over time has made us the #1 ranked motel in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is my second time staying at this little gem. I called 3 hours before we were to stop and they had a room. She put my name on the room and said she would see us soon. When we arrived she remembered us from our last visit. This motel is a classic. The rooms are basic and cozy. No unneeded frills that bring your bill up. Coffee in the office and tons of good conversation. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. I will make this my half way stop on my visits back to Michigan...Thanks again for another WONDERFUL stay..Look forward to the next time...

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3 it has two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks for the excellent ratings in every category. Due to you being a senior contributor to TripAdvisors and also choosing to stay with us a second time, we are very flattered with your review. Furthermore as you implied our staff tries to treat everyone like family. One factor for this is they have been with us many years. Giving them the experience on how to properly welcome our guests and make their stay enjoyable and “cozy”. We also hope you liked our new Bar and Grill, ‘The Smok’in Gun Saloon” with free entertainment on the weekends.

One thing that we are glad you mentioned is our FREE fresh-brewed coffee. This plus many other amenities like a convenience store also in our office and free WiFi, microwaves and fridges in every room. This in addition to as you mentioned greatly lowered rates then the local franchises has helped rank us #1in the area and earned us a “Good Value” status by TripAdvisors. It was nice seeing you again, looking forward to our next visit . Thanks and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Do to my excellent stay last time, I returned and now the Davis is even better because their restaurant is now open ‘The Smok’in Gun Saloon” with free entertainment on the weekends. Even though it is just “Mom and Pop” with maybe the exception of a pool, it has more to offer then those big expensive impersonal franchises. Clean room, Free WiFi with charging stations and more. For the holidays they are handing free calendars. It’s easy to find, just ¼ mile south of the exit 232 on the Ohio Turnpike, next to the Pilot. All this at about half the cost of the franchises, in fact I saved over $50!

Room Tip: Check it out,you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Davis Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We are very happy that you liked our new Bar and Grill, ‘The Smok’in Gun Saloon” and that you enjoyed our FREE holiday CALENDARS that stick-on dashboards, laptops, etc! Next, thanks for the excellent ratings in every category. Over the last year our family is overwhelmingly humbled over yours and other guests’ excellent ratings. As you have noticed we have also evaluated these praises to upgrade our facility. These constant enhancements and as you mentioned greatly lowered rates then the local franchises has helped rank us #1in the area and earned us a “Good Value” status by TripAdvisors. It was nice seeing you again. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Lima
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in North Lima
64 reviews
13.7 mi away
Motel 6 Youngstown
Motel 6 Youngstown
#16 of 37 in Youngstown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Boardman Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Lima
4.5 mi away
Das Dutch Village Inn
Das Dutch Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Columbiana
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Motel

Address: 10860 Market St, 1/4 mile south of Exit 232, Ohio Turnpike Rt76, North Lima, Youngstown, OH 44452-9508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown > North Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Lima
Price Range: $54 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Davis Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently due to all our upgrades, Clean Rooms and Great Service on Bookings com we have be worthy of their "EXCELLENT "ranking. Our outstanding reviews say it all. If you are looking to stay at a Clean, Low Price, Friendly, Locally owned "Mom and Pop" motel with Free WIFI, Free Coffee in our office, Microwaves and Fridges in every room, our own Bar & Grill with free entertainment on the weekends, you made the right choice by staying at the Davis Motel. In addition to all this we also have rooms with 3 beds to accommodate big families or crews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Davis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Motel Ohio/North Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing