We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment!”
Review of Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano - CLOSED

Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bologna
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Total disappointment!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

After the recommendation of some friends and the good reviews on tripadvisor we decided yesterday to visit da Giordano. It was a complete disaster!
First of all they had no handmade pasta at all! When the first 2 from the company arrived (we were 7 in total) they asked if it was late (they arrived at 15.30) and if they could serve us. The waitress responded that they had no problem but forgot to mention that they had no fresh pasta left. And not only that, but they had run out of 2 more sauces and 2 more salads. However, we ordered and we were waiting for the best taste, as it was advertised from tripadvisor members. The food was bad. My dish was pasta with mince meat. The portion was small and it was not tasteful at all! Above all these we had a bad service from the owner’s daughter and in the end we paid too much!
Being in Italy for years I have a good perspective of the Italian food and that was a really bad imitation of Italian food. In the menu it was written in many of the pasta dishes that sauce was with cream!!! Italians almost never use cream on their white sauces apart from few exceptions. Don’t visit it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pellegrina_leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“do not miss the chance to taste something really nice.......”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

the best italian food i have tasted in thessaloniki..... delicious home made pasta and the best tiramisou in north Greece!!!!!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best handmade tortelli i've ever tried”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excelent food. I tried handmade tortelli stuffted with pumpkin and mascarpone as a desert, both delicious. It has also good glass of wine.
But why tripadvisor does not explain that the restorant is at Pylaia, Thessaloniki? Some friends searched for it downtown, where a street with the same name exists.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvinaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This restaurant seems to have disappeared!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

It's not on t/advisor maps, noris it atvthe address given, no-one seems to have heard ofbitbin the neighbourhood either! Shame, it sounds so GOOD!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“The best Italian food in the North of Greece”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Giordano, the chef and owner of Trattoria Casalinga only uses fresh & organic ingredients and creates unforgettable dishes. His home-made pasta is out of this world, Pizzas are great, Salads , made with organic olive oil, are marvelous and his deserts delectable. One simply cannot visit Thessaloniki without having a feast at Giordano's. Ohh!! forgot about the excellent Greek & Italian wines on offer AND do not miss the amazing art work on display by local artists..

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano also viewed

Pylaia, Thessaloniki Region
Pylaia, Thessaloniki Region
 
Pylaia, Thessaloniki Region
Pylaia, Thessaloniki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing