We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking forward to returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
2 reviews
“looking forward to returning”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great place for our ladies get-away to celebrate a milestone birthday. We arrived on a cold & blustery day to a friendly check-in clerk and a clean, cosy & warm cabin. Having the gas fire already going for us was very welcoming. We spent Saturday afternoon enjoying the nearby Amish shops and Middlefield Cheese House. We ate dinner at Mary Yoder's Amish resturant.
We all expressed interest in returning with our families to take advantage of the hiking trails and eating more great Amish food. Such a beautiful area to explore!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently returned from an over night stay at a cottage in Punderson. Overall, we had a great time, the cabin was clean and well appointed, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the grounds were stunning. We enjoyed swimming at the indoor pool, and hiked around the area. The only drawback for us was the communal fire pit. When we go camping one of the most enjoyable parts is to cook our dinner over the fire, roast marshmallows, and just relax fireside. We did not realize that each cabin does not come with its own fire pit, and that we had to share with 20+ other cabins. We are very social, and don't mind sharing, but this is not always the case with everyone else. We were the first ones to start the fire and we felt kind of awkward that no one else came to join us. In fact, one group insinuated that we should leave so that they could conduct a meeting by the fire, but we decided to stay and finish cooking dinner for our 3 kids. Had we not been the first ones there I am not sure that I would have felt comfortable going down and intruding on someone else's time either. This was truly the only issue that would keep us from returning in the future,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helffrde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnfl68
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a Hillside Cabin (4) with a great view of the lake..very relaxing location. The cabin was clean and well maintained. If they had more comfortable chairs to sit out on patio I would of rated it 5 stars.. they had plastic chairs. The dinning room at hotel seemed overpriced and not very good. I would recommend stocking up on food and grilling out. Our cabin had two picnic tables one outside by grill the other on screened in porch with view of lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johnfl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyman, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been visiting Punderson Manor Lodge for 50 years. We have always enjoyed the Sunday Brunch. Today we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We had a terrible time. We were kept waiting, with no staff greeting us for 10 minutes. There wasn't a Sunday Brunch, just a couple of steam tables that the waiter, when he did attend to us, said that they would be breaking it down and to order off the menu. The people next to us sent their food back because it was still frozen. We had to wait twenty minutes for soggy french fries and what was supposed to be a Shephard's Pie, but was just beef stew. The manager said that he would comp our meal, but that the restaurant had lost money for their popular Sunday Brunch, so they didn't offer it unless it was "In season." The chairs were dirty, the place was dark, the service was slow, and the food was off. When we told the "very young manager," to pass our comments to his supervisor, he indicated that he wouldn't because the place was making money!!! We were very, very disappointed and will not come back, although this has been a favorite place for us to celebrate birthdays and other special occasions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Offered choices of cabins, rooms or camping to accommodate a large family reunion. Hiking, biking, fishing and swimming were enjoyed by all. Rented cabins great choice for a large family. Breakfast buffet was OK but they needed more staff.

Room Tip: Newer cabins are nice and great for a family. Loved the front porches. Lodge rooms are older but cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place attended a friends wedding 8 hour drive was well worth it. We are planning on returning next summer beautiful place very peaceful staff was wonderful service in dinning room slow but food was delicious

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great stay and very relaxing. We wanted a quiet get away and this was the perfect place for it. The only issue we had was that there were no towel racks in the bathroom. Fall would be a perfect time for this because of the scenery. Our kids are all grown and gone, so we had a great time just hiking and lots of walks. The lake is much nicer; looks like they have taken better care of the beach area than in years gone by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
11.7 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
429 reviews
18.7 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cleveland East
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cle...
#2 of 3 in Mayfield Heights
54 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland East / Mayfield Village
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 11755 Kinsman Rd, Newbury, OH 44065-9691
Location: United States > Ohio > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Punderson State Park and only 50 minutes southeast of Cleveland, Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center is a historic English Tudor-style mansion featuring 31 spacious guestrooms, 26 fully furnished two bedroom cottages, a conference center that accommodates up to 100 and an elegant full-service dining room with views of Punderson Lake. Enjoy a challenging round of golf on our picturesque 18-hole championship golf course. Other activities and recreational opportunities include hiking, swimming (indoor/outdoor pools and sandy beach), boating, fishing, tennis and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punderson Manor Hotel Newbury
Punderson Manor Resort
Punderson Manor Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing