We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
jcmcnair@fuse.net
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for weekend away”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed spending thanksgiving at Punderson manor lodge. The buffet was excellent and cabin accommodations great for two adults and two teenagers...much better than a hotel room. Staff was friendly and hiking trails accessible. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CathyMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
60
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Two years ago I had the most amazing, creative vegetarian meal of my life...of all places...at Punderson Manor. The waitress and chef were so enthusiastic about creating a memorable dish off the menu. It made such a lasting impression. Well, I ate there last night and the service and meal were the complete opposite. Never mind that it took over an hour for our meal to arrive (the place was dead), and we had to remind the waitress that we ordered a salad (the ice tea never made it to our table), but the chef didn't have the imagination or talent to create anything not already on the limited menu so I reluctantly ordered the bruschetta which consisted of leather-like dry pieces of bread and a pasty concoction of sun dried tomato paste. Our table of 5 had a wonderful time but mainly at the expense of the service and food...both of which were the butt of many jokes. The restaurant is charming inside, but set your expectations low when it comes to the food. Maybe we'll try it again in another 2 years. :o)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnyisagoodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We are HUGE fans of all of the Ohio State Parks. Just wonderful places, and Punderson is no exception. The personnel are so nice, Danielle at the front desk and Francine in the dining room. We were seated in front of the fire for our dinner and it just couldn't be any more romantic. Excellent menu and excellent wine menu.

I am giving Punderson a 4 instead of a 5 star rating because the rooms do need to be updated a bit. The bed was positively excellent and the king room was very large with a flat-screen TV. I guess it just needs a little more updated feel. The furniture and woodwork are showing their age. But do I recomment a stay here? Absolutely.

While in the area do make sure you go to Aurora Farms Outlet, Chagrin Falls (have lunch at Raintree, love that place), Sunrise Farms, and you have to eat at Mary Yoder's Kitchen and visit Middlefield Cheese.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bthomas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked the lodge suite for a Friday night between Fall leaf season and Thanksgiving when the crowds were smaller. The suite had a living room, bedroom, walk-in closet and a room with a Jacuzzi and fire-place. We brought our own Asti and strawberries from home.
The suite was very comfortable and perfect for a get-away.
We also had a nice dinner and buffet the next morning.
The staff was very helpful and welcoming. We recommend Punderson!

Room Tip: Suite is worth the extra bucks. Be aware that this room is purported to be haunted (although we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, OH 44060, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our first time at an Ohio state park resort. It was phenomenal from the beauty, to the manor house, to the restaurant, to the view of the lake and the grounds -- clean and gorgeous. We are going to check into other Ohio state park resort locations and return to this one too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redboat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay at Punderson was wonderful. The staff, food, lodging, and the environment was perfect. We highly recommend it for a couples romantic retreat! We will be going back again. The lodge is like a step back in time, it's full of character.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rastansbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent a long weekend at the Punderson Manor and overall it was a terrific experience. Beautiful location, nice rooms and welcoming staff. The property is immaculate and perfect for a peaceful stay away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
11.7 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
425 reviews
18.7 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bertram Inn and Conference Center
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cleveland East
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cle...
#2 of 3 in Mayfield Heights
53 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland East / Mayfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 11755 Kinsman Rd, Newbury, OH 44065-9691
Location: United States > Ohio > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Punderson State Park and only 50 minutes southeast of Cleveland, Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center is a historic English Tudor-style mansion featuring 31 spacious guestrooms, 26 fully furnished two bedroom cottages, a conference center that accommodates up to 100 and an elegant full-service dining room with views of Punderson Lake. Enjoy a challenging round of golf on our picturesque 18-hole championship golf course. Other activities and recreational opportunities include hiking, swimming (indoor/outdoor pools and sandy beach), boating, fishing, tennis and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punderson Manor Hotel Newbury
Punderson Manor Resort
Punderson Manor Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing