We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, family fun”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After reading several poor reviews, we were very nervous to stay here. We were pleasantly surpised by Cherry Valley. The staff at check in were very quick and efficient. Our room was a unique L shape that allowed each bed a little bit of privacy. The room was clean. It is not a 5 star hotel, but a good value for the price. We had a walk out patio that overlooked a cute lake with beautiful surroundings. For as busy as the hotel was with families, it was a quiet stay. We enjoyed the indoor waterpark, but it is smaller than I expected (great for younger children, older kids may be bored) On the plus side, the waterpark had a decent concession stand and a full bar. I did go to the desk to check out and found that they charged us an $20 upcharge for having a room with 2 queen beds. After a discussion with the desk person, he had a manager refund the amount since no one had informed me when I booked or checked in that this was a standard fee.

I would stay here again and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    99
    83
    74
    74
See reviews for
218
49
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for a night while visiting the CoCo Key Waterpark (separate review). I was really hesitant to stay here and visit the waterpark due to negative reviews, but I have to say with 100% honesty that I have NO CLUE how someone can give this place a bad review.
The rooms are nice and clean. We had a suite, so we had a living room/dining area, a king bedroom and large bathroom with a large jetted tub. We had a walk out patio that faced a nice and lush courtyard.
The hotel property and amenities were nicely cared for. We swam in the indoor pool and hot tub at the hotel (different than the waterpark). It was nice and not crowded. There was also a pool table, meeting area with tables and chairs and an exercise room. The other side of the hotel had a large commons and bar and restaurant, but we did not use them.
This place was nice, but for the price, it was even nicer than I thought it would be. I would stay again without a second thought.

Room Tip: The suites are nice and the price is not much more than a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendallsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I started to give this a "2" but the final encounter moved it to a "1". This only time I have given either a 1 or 2. The hotel does not have the basic housekeeping procedures in place. Over a 4 night stay we had to call for hair dryer, toilet paper, tissue paper, shower mat, soap, hangers, and to report an exterior door that did not lock. The carpets and furnishings are worn and dirty. The entrance is not well lit, so we missed the driveway twice. After we had checked out, we realized that we had left a liquor bottle in a tote in the room. We called to see if housekeeping had recovered them and were told we would have to wait to the following morning as all housekeeping had already left (4:30pm) and there was no one who could check to see if the items had been recovered. We did not care about the liquor, but the tote had been given to us as a gift.
On the hotel's behalf, this was a college reunion weekend and the hotel was sold out. We understand that the hotel was recently purchased in bankruptcy for a fraction of the mortgage, so maybe they are having start up pains and have plans not yet implemented. But for now, just some normal housekeeping procedures would really help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fschembs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newark hotels

chicago
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last four years while my daughter attended school nearby. Sad to say the hotel has gone downhill since my first visits. Over the last several stays: the toilet overflowed, the shower didn't drain, lights were burned out,etc. (The housekeeping staff was quick to respond and did fix the plumbing problems however.), two pieces of equipment in the fitness facility were broken but the front desk was unaware/unresponsive, the outdoor furniture hadn't been cleaned so we couldn't use the outdoor patio off our room. The coffee was always free (near the front desk/restaurant) until graduation weekend when the coffee was no longer complimentary and the room rates were almost doubled. On one visit the front desk forgot to give us our wake up call and so we almost missed our flight. We complained to the front desk about the myriad problems but never received much of a response. I frankly expected a call from a manager after the stay where they didn't give us our wake up call but that never happened. We continued to stay at Cherry Valley Lodge because other than the B&Bs and two other small inns in Granville and the one hotel that is farther away from the school they are the only game in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TotalOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ok place, the waterpark is nice for kids. As for a couple staying for the night, it is overpriced. Our room key didn't work, and when I took it back to the desk, the attendant asked if I knew how to work it. There were dirty Kleenex in the bathroom. The bed was pretty uncomfortable. However, the courtyard is beautiful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikkey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My group needed to find a spot that was mid-way between Cleveland and Dayton. Cherry Village was the perfect location and looked nice on the website.

The rooms were outdated, but clean and had a nice set up for accomodating 3-4 people. Each room had a balcony, which was nice.

The grounds were beautiful. I could have sat outside by the lake all night. There was a great patio, and very well-kept surrounding area.

However, save your money and take the time to eat elsewhere. The food was inedible. I got a tuna salad, which is pretty difficult to screw up. However, the smell of the tuna was so gross I had to shove it to the side of my plate immediately. I decided to eat the lettuce instead, but even the lettuce tasted of pure vinegar. I didn't want to cause a scene and send it back, so I wasted $21 on something I ate two bites of, and went to bed hungry. Our group of seven girls was very disappointed in everything that we got - including the awful wine.

If forced to stay in this location, this is probably your best bet. If you can manage to stay closer to downtown Columbus, I would highly suggest it. For the price, you can stay in an amazing location, near great food, and in an updated facility.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cherry Valley Lodge, May 15 - 17th. I had read the recent reviews and I was concerned ....however our stay was great. The Lodge is as good as it looks in the pictures, very relaxing and beautiful. The wait staff in the restaurant was excellent....thank you Vickie for the great service. The room was very comfortable. I hated to leave and will plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen4416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
2.4 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Valley Lodge

Property: Cherry Valley Lodge
Address: 2299 Cherry Valley Rd SE, Newark, OH 43055-9393
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest may choose from 200 comfortable guestrooms and Jacuzzi suites. Enjoy in room refrigerators, coffee makers, complimentary WiFi, and views of the courtyard and surrounding gardens. Indoor pool and Jacuzzi, exercise room or our full-service Banyan Leaf Spa can be enjoyed. Also featuring Sunflowers Restaurant and The Lodge Pub as well as The CoCo Key Indoor Waterpark. POPULAR NEARBY ATTRACTIONS: The CoCo Key Indoor Waterpark, Denison University, The Midland Theatre, The Works, The National Heisey Museum, Ye Olde Mill Ice Cream Parlour and Museum, National Trails Raceway, The Great Circle Earthworks & Ohio Indian Art Museum, The Longaberger Homestead ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Valley Hotel Newark
Cherry Valley Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Newark, Ohio
Cherry Valley Lodge Ohio
Newark Lodge Cherry Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing