We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Newark Granville
Nearby Hotels
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Granville Inn(Granville)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Buckeye Lake)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
69
59
24
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
59
24
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstexas roadhousedenison universityparking lotroom faced the freewayguest laundrytypical courtyardmcdonalds drivelobby area isfriendly front desk staffhuge roomroad noiseup to datespent nightsindoor pooltop floorroom was cleanadjoining rooms
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 171 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Arrived and was greeted in a very friendly manner. Hotel had guests for a school holiday basketball tournament and all was well. Never could get my Galaxy S-4 Smartphone to work with wi-fi in room. Quiet room with no noise. Bed mattress was very hard and had problems sleeping.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Gary from Western NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Gary,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your visit to Courtyard Newark. We're glad you enjoyed a quiet stay and found our friendly staff and clean accommodations to meet your satisfaction. I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. We value you as our guest and hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The front desk working on Sat., Dec.28, 2013 (Stacey Curry) was rude and had an attitude. I asked for a price adjustment because everyone else in our group (12 rooms) paid $79. My rate was $87. He flat out said no and turned his back on me. I continued to ask questions about the rate, including asking about the aarp rate. He told me it was $101 which was a lie, $79.90 online. He continued to act superior and the maintainance man standing at the desk at the time also had the same attitude. The rooms were superior but the staff made this trip extremely unpleasant. Will never recommend this facility to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Richard M,
I appreciate you writing and bringing these concerns to my attention. I'm sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had and would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression. Please know your feedback is important to us and we hope to speak with you directly regarding the issues you encountered during your stay. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I recently completed a one week stay at this location. It is pretty typical of a Courtyard but the staff is exceptional. Everyone is very polite. The rooms are spotless and were kept that way throughout the week. If traveling through the area you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

howard s,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your great stay with us at Courtyard Newark. I'm pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our staff's excellence in service, cleanliness, and hospitality. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed one night at this Courtyard, which was very similar to other Courtyards around the country. The hotel is near a freeway exit, and is next to a Texas Roadhouse restaurant and a McDonald's. The hotel was comfortable and in good condition. Because of nearby road construction, getting to the hotel could be a challenge, particularly when we missed the exit and had to drive a long way to get back to the hotel. (Likewise, a trip to a nearby mall to watch a movie took longer because of the construction). We were a short drive from Denison University, which was the focus of the trip. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

BertDC,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Courtyard Newark. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while visiting Denison University, and we're glad our close proximity added convenience to your travels. It's great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our hotel to meet your expectations. I do apologize for any frustrations you experienced with the nearby road construction. Please plan to visit us again in the near future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very good and typical experience for a Courtyard by Marriott. Actually we came from another Marriott property in Niagara Falls, Canada where we paid a much higher rate and found this marriott more updated and enjoyable. Staff was not as professional as other Marriott we have stayed at but acceptable. Would stay here again if in this area...........

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

John S,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews