We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Newark Granville
Nearby Hotels
$90
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Granville Inn(Granville)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
69
59
24
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
59
24
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstexas roadhousedenison universityparking lotroom faced the freewayguest laundrytypical courtyardmcdonalds drivelobby area isfriendly front desk staffhuge roomroad noiseup to datespent nightsindoor pooltop floorroom was cleanadjoining rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 171 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything awesome except Bistro. Not the easiest way to get breakfast. Might have been quicker and cheaper to go off site. Room was great. Staff vert friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbennettstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

tbennettstmartin,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard. I'm glad you liked our friendly staff and found the room great. I apologize if the service at our Bistro was unsatisfactory for you. Your feedback is valuable to us, so I'm glad to receive your comments. Should your travels bring you back to our area, please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After returning my daughter to college I am always pleased to check into the nearby clean, comfortable Courtyard. I can purchase a glass of wine to relax and look forward to being rested for the return trip home the next day.

Room Tip: I request a room on the top floor as I always find it quieter when no one is directly above you.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mochabeanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

mochabeanmom,
Thank you for your kind review. We're happy to hear that you returned to our Courtyard for another comfortable, relaxing visit. We hope you'll continue to stay with us as we enjoy having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Okay, so it is your basic Courtyard by Marriott in Newark, Ohio. But management and employees at this hotel have it down perfectly. It's a comfortable, affordable, welcoming environment where everything works. Staff were nice and rooms were decent sized. To borrow a line from an old Holiday Inn ad campaign, "Sometimes the Best Surprise is No Surprise!"

And here's what the lodging industry needs to learn from the Courtyard by Marriott in Newark, Ohio: Yes, you CAN provide free internet in the lobby. (Ritz Carlton in Sarasota, Fl. wanted something like $15 per 24 hours.) Yes, you can provide complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby and not go broke. Yes, you can provide free parking (we can all think about numerous hotels where there is a $24 charge for valet or a $22 charge for "self-park."
And finally, yes there is a sofa-bed in the king room, so Mom and Dad can get a king and Junior can have a bed all to himself.

Why can't other big hotel chains get this down? If the room is big enough for a sofa, then put in a sofa bed.

And if McDonald's, Panera and Burger King can offer complimentary Wi-fi, then why can't the lodging industry?

Forgive the lack of photos of the room itself, but we never had a chance to snap pics just as we walked in and room was too much of a mess after that to do it justice.

There is a great Texas Roadhouse next door offering affordably priced comfort food. Primarily steak, but enough for a mostly-vegetarian like me to find something to eat. Oh, and plenty of good beers at reasonable prices. Your Courtyard room key gets you 10% off, but I forgot to ask!

Our room (303) looked out on the highway and you could hear the cars buzzing by, but wasn't loud enough to keep us awake. The other side of the hotel looks into a parking lot and will probably be a lot quiter.

Book with confidence. These guys do not disappoint. Now if only the bigger players in the industry could learn from the Courtyard by Marriott in Newark, Ohio.

Room Tip: You're probably better off asking for a room overlooking the parking lot rather than facing the highway.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Frqflier,
It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review, and we're glad you chose to stay with us at Courtyard Newark. I'm delighted to receive your compliments about our property and our wonderful staff. We welcome you and your family to come and stay with us again the next time you're in Newark. We're glad you were our guests and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice if you like the Bistro style Courtyards. I don't, but some folks do. I think the Bistro set up is just an excuse to charge everybody for an overpriced breakfast. This place is newly remodeled and the staff is very helpful. Ask for the Holophane rate for the best price. Go out for a better breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

joelinda,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Newark Granville. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our friendly staff. Please come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Various family members have stayed here while visiting our son at Denison University, but this was my first time to join my husband in a stay here. All of us have only good things to say about this well-run Courtyard. As other reviewers have noted, staff members are helpful and pleasant from check in to maintenance. Several food options within walking distance. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Our only quibble would be that we prefer firmer mattresses, but that's different for everyone. Nice big screen TV and seating in lobby area for the many sports fans passing through.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerTrish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

TravelerTrish73,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard. We're glad you and your family choose our hotel for your preferred place to stay. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed our staff and hope they added to your enjoyable weekend. Please come and stay with us again. We wish your son a great schoolyear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews