We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Newark Granville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Granville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

While on a business trip to Ohio State University in Newark, Ohio, I stayed at this property, since it was about a 5-minute drive to the campus. This is a very nice facility near a main roadway which facilitated access to all locations in Newark. The hotel is also close to Denison University. The Marriott is just a short walk to a McDonald's restaurant across from the hotel's front entrance. Also, there is a bistro-style cafe right off of the lobby area with a nice selection of food and beverages. In the immediate vicinity, there are at least 4 full service restaurants within walking distance. There is an indoor pool, fitness center, and a laundry room on the first floor level. The very comfortable suite that I stayed in was roomy with a refrigerator and microwave oven. The balcony area was nice, however, the view was nothing but a constant stream of cars. In fact, the only negative thing that I can say about this place is that since my side of the hotel faced the highway, the traffic noises were non-stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Wheelsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
4Wheelsgo,

We are happy to hear from you on TripAdvisor and appreciate your compliments about our hotel. It sounds like you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area. We do invite you to stay with us again the next time you’re in Newark, Ohio.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    53
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
21
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was on a big tour of Midwestern colleges and chose the Courtyard Newark because of its proximity to Denison University. The rooms were nice and standard Courtyard fare. The best part of the visit was the front desk staff. Although my keys did not work initially and they had to rekey them, they were happy to recommend restaurants when I asked and they were honest. We ended up at a local bar and grill which was excellent. The hotel is right off the highway and is a quick drive to a commercial district with chain restaurants and shopping. There was a group of young baseball players in the hotel so it was a little loud but things quieted down at 11:30. I would recommend this hotel to parents who are visiting Denison with their kids!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Sevenstates,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at this Courtyard by Marriott several times... can't say I have ever been disappointed in the slightest. I stayed here several years ago on a college visit to the OSU branch campus right around the corner from here. I've come back since and almost always stay here when visiting friends. The rooms have always been clean, and the beds... oh I love Marriott beds... customer service has always been efficient and friendly, maybe just because I'm an Elite member? lol. The location is very convenient with tons of places to eat nearby. This hotel is also within driving distance of many historical area, an arboretum, an NHRA race track, and Buckeye Lake.

GO BUCKS!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhutz2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W, Ontario
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were booked for 3 nights but the massive power outage that hit most of Ohio and other states hit Newark hard. The staff were very professional. The bar was open for anyone who needed refreshments while waiting (fruitlessly) for the power to come back on. We were manually checked in at close to midnight and led to our room by flashlight. The next day, we checked out and the (new) staff member told us that she would take care of cancelling the rest of our reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_yac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was good along with the service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
amy b,
Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I spent a weekend here. I was permitted to check in early. The room (2 queens) was well appointed with very comfortable beds and lots of pillows. Room was quiet, even the a/c didn't bother me as it often can. The bathroom was clean & the shower worked well. The room appeared to be clean & well cared for. Front desk helpful and courteous. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that I didn't use, but were cleaned as I sat outside with friends. My only 'beef' is the individual serving coffee maker, but it did work, it's just cheesy.

Room Tip: Mine was street side & two from the elevator and still quiet, so I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liket2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are so pleased liket2travel, that you and your friends chose to stay at the Courtyard Newark Granville! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience and for recommending us! I will pass along your positive comments to our housekeeping and front desk team. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again!

Truly yours,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are looking for some great bike trails to explore around Licking County, this is the place to stay. The hotel was strategically located on a trail which, in turn, had access to the TJ Evans and Panhandle Trails as well as others that we did not investigate. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were well appointed and spacious with easy internet access. Breakfast was a pleasant change of pace from the usual bland buffet offering. Although the choices were limited the quality more than offset the lack of options. Lisa, the day manager, doubled as the barista and prepared two excellent cappuccinos for us after our biking adventure for the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_tav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
M_tav,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thanks especially for recognizing Lisa, it made her day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Yours truly,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
3.8 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
3.8 mi away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Granville

Property: Courtyard Newark Granville
Address: 500 Highland Blvd, Newark, OH 43055-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Granville hotel offers spacious accommodations and modern amenities for the needs of today's traveler. Before or after a day on the town, stay energized as you choose from a variety of breakfast and dinner offerings at The Bistro and enjoy Starbucks coffee and cocktails at the Bistro bar. This Newark hotel near Denison University offers free Wi-Fi and large work area in all guest rooms. Unwind in our Indoor Pool or on-site Fitness Center. Courtyard Newark Granville hotel is close to many area businesses and attractions such as Ohio State University - Newark Campus, The Reese Center, National Trail Raceway, The Longaberger Homestead as well as many dining and shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Newark Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Hotel Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard Newark Granville Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing