We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very addicting take out !! Tasty BBQ!! fair prices!! Friendly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
Ranked #8 of 111 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very addicting take out !! Tasty BBQ!! fair prices!! Friendly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

love it! have to be careful NOT to eat there very often. Wish they didn't use High Fructose Corn syrup in their sauces, very addicting. Have a City BBQ card... get that and rack up piont sofr $$ off later, great idea.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CynLee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Real BBQ, real quick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Not a BBQ expert, but I know good food; and they have it! Got hooked on the Gahanna location and then they opened here in my hometown. Excellent service, friendly faces, great sides (especially the corn pudding), clean atmosphere, and the prices are in order for a BBQ joint. Try the $20 take home pack... what a value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigGuns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Friendly staff! We were surprised to find a caring establishment that seems to really value it's customers. As first time customers, we received beverages on the house. On arrival, we expected sit down service with a wait staff but discovered it was a semi-fast food format, which suited us just fine. After ordering, I remembered my husband was having a jones for french fries and inquired if we could add them to our order after the fact. They were very accommodating - no problem. The food was plentiful and tasty and way,way more than ample. We had not heard of City Barbeque before but would definitely consider them if the opportunity arises in the future.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m_tav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tasty but expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

City Barbeque has excellent BBQ but I feel it is fairly expensive for a fast food atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank juppole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Damn Good BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've loved City Barbeque since first trying it many years ago at their Gahanna location. We were so happy when they moved into the location on W. Church Street in Newark - replacing the TERRIBLE barbeque place that was there previously. The pulled pork and brisket is outta hand good and the BBQ sauces - all six of them - are delicious. It's hard to know which sauce to try each time because they're all so good. Cole slaw and baked beans (with brisket) - WOW!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank islandjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing