We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Isleta de Gaia
Nearby Hotels
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Johnny's Place(Monterrico)(Great Value!)
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cafe Del Sol Hotel(Monterrico)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Atelie del Mar(Monterrico)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
HOTEL JUAYUA(Juayua)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
27
19
2
2
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
19
2
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pacific oceanminute boat rideeco hotelgaialanchafishermanloverbungalowsandtouristsantiguanetsinternethammocksbeachparadisemonterrico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 58 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

You can do much better than Isleta de Gaia. Despite having rates comparable to those of luxury beachside hotels, Isleta de Gaia is run-down, dirty, and a place that I was very eager to leave. Having spent more than two years in Guatemala, I can say with confidence that you can do much better than this tourist trap. The views are nice and the beach is pleasant, but that can be said for any number of places on Guatemala's pacific coast. Isleta de Gaia might make a decent youth hostel, but if you want a nice hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guatebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were here for my last birthday. It was beautiful place, we loved our little cabin and the pool area... and of course the SEA!!! The owner was one of the nicest people we met during our long journey. He made my birthday. If he is reading this: I won't to thank you again for my birthday"cake" :)

I would have write this way earlier, but something sad happened... But I just really want to say to everyone: This place is a paradise, you will love it!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Anne1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Nothing worth seeking comes easily and Isleta de Gaia on Barra del Jiote, Guatemala is a rare gem of a place. I have been here three times over the past five years and each time lay in my bed with windows wide open and take in the awe and wonder of the sea not 50 meters from my door.

The fact is that Isleta de Gaia is not really in Monterico, but on the southern coast near Las Lisa's. I hire a shuttle from Maya Traditions in Antigua and at the end of the road, a boat will take me the last twenty minutes till Gaia where Fred will greet you.

All meals are make to your order. I have never been disappointed, but then I don't demand unrealistic service. Everything is brought in by boat...soap, toilet paper, fresh fruit, cooking oil and yes bottled water. There are no stores on this island. No television in the rooms and only fresh running water at one pleasant ambient temperature. No need for a/c. How much more can the air be purified as it comes from Antartica never touching land till this part of Guatemala.

The host, a Frenchman is generous, funny, cordial and always pleasant. He has a real feel not only for the culture, but also for the residents who share this island. Remember where ever we visit, we are only temporary guests. Fred personally has supported and assisted over a dozen individuals with education, food and jobs..

He brought purified water to this island. He got electricity for everyone, not just this hotel. As you can see, his outlook is to benefit everyone over the long term. Those who seem to have personal axes to grind just don't seem to get it and probably never will no matter where they go or live.

The privacy, the spectacular and ever changing sea, the miles of empty beach is seldomed seen anywhere. I speak with some authority as I was born and raised on Maui...some of the best beaches in the world, but at Isleta de Gaia, I own the beach for a few memorable days.

Yes, it is not a short hop from Guate, but nothing worth seeking is easily achieved. Two years ago a bridge washed out...so it takes a little longer to reach. The locals do it everyday, why can't we?
The real joy comes after you get to Isleta de Gaia and just let the sea and weather envelope you in all it's glory.

I have been there during the months of March, May and July. Hottest time was just before Semana Santa. Most diverse weather comes around May with the start of winter, but hey, I like changes in the weather. In Hawaii, it is the same everyday and maybe that is part of why I travel...change is the norm and along with change comes challenge. If you are flexible and have a great attitude, nothing will get you down.

Have a great trip where ever you decide to go and accept the challenges that travel brings.

Take a look. I just got back from Isleta de Gaia and I will no doubt go back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: I have always have Cabana 8 reserved for me.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I had an idyllic week here at Isleta de Gaia this January. Totally low key, simple but elegant food and a cabana right on the ocean. Will be back soon and often.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront cabana and you'll sleep like a baby to the sound of waves.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BackpackingNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: NO vayan si lo que les gusta es el turismo comercial y desean super comodidades y ver televisión ja, no, es para uds
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean a, Manager at Hotel Isleta de Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews