We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Outdoor Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Depok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here for a night on Deluxe Balcony room 726. The room itself is spacious and have lot of power plugs which is good for you gadget-freak, though you have to bring your own converter if your electronics not use Indonesian standard socket (German "Schuko" Type F). The bed is nice and I like the pillow so much. The view of balcony is very nice (pool and garden view).

As I mentioned on the tittle, the big plus of this hotel is the outdoor facility. It has child pool and adult pool (120 cm depth) which quite unique and nice for swimming. The garden is very nice with some mini "pendopo" scattered around the garden, birds sound (speaker), nice fish pond, and child playground, which really makes you relief to walk there after the breakfast or swimming session. The big "pendopo" next to hotel building also magnificent, really gave you the picture of Yogyakarta.

The food is so so, but they offered many kind of menu (Japanese, Chinese, European, Indonesian). And they gave us "gamelan" performance during our breakfast, really good Javanese Atmosphere.

Ambarrukmo Plaza which located next to this hotel also a big plus for buying some daily needs or watching the movie. I watched "How to Train Your Dragon 2" that time. LOL

When I stay there, I have a little bit problem with water heater, it's not work perfectly and don't like it. The door handle of balcony area in my room also need to be fixed I think, it's shaky.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel has been refurbished but still has a pleasant feeling. Greeted with smile at the lobby and checked-in was swift with cold refreshing towel provided. The room expected to be as great as the service but very plain and minimalist, totally disappointing because it doesn't highlight the heritage of the building and very 4stars materials. However, the room kept very clean with 32" LG LCD TV. Given 5stars, bathroom only has shower and no bathtub with basic amenities. This hotel definitely excels in their service and breakfast aspects. Breakfast was ultra busy and offering excellent choice of dishes - from traditional gudeg, Japanese sushi, Chinese dim sum, Western potato wedges and surprisingly, pork bacon. Location becomes an advantage: 5mins to the mall, 10mins to the airport and only 25mins to Prambanan temple. Talking about the service, would like to praise the restaurant staffs, especially "Ira" as very delight and professional in serving the guests.

Room Tip: Room 630 and 623 are facing nice pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel! Clean and comfortable rooms!

The hotel staff is a great staff and they are truly there to make your stay a pleasant one.

The variety of the food at the buffet was well stocked and the items were delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are quieter in general.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I recently stayed at the Royal Ambarrukmo in Yogyakarta for the first time. The building itself dates back to the 1960s and was refurbished several years ago. Unlike some of the newer hotels in the city - the Ambarrukmo feels more mature and established. The rooms are plain and functional, almost minimalist. The coffee shop seems to be empty most evenings and the service suffers as a result. By contrast, at breakfast the restaurant is bustling - offering an excellent choice of Indonesian and Western cuisine.

One of the hotel's best features is its gardens and pool area. Its other advantages include being right next to the Ambarrukmo Shopping Mall and only 15 minutes from the airport.

Staff were kind and helpful, although restaurant staff need better training in dealing with guest requests - esp at dinner.

Overall, a hotel I'd recommend, and one I intend to return to.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view on a higher floor for a view of Mount Merapi.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markatpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ibu Zarah was very helpful with the various problems, very professional. Howver the sound technicians and equipment were below professional standards in the meeting room.
The pool was very nice but there is a need of showers and toilet/changing room closer to it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stay few times at Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel either for company event or family trip.
The summary from few time of my visit to Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel :
- Excellent Service.
- Big and clean room (two thumbs up).
- Polite and helpfull staff.
- A great breakfast menu (two thumbs up).
Recommended place to stay when visiting Jogjakarta.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agung G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Based on my experience, Royal Ambarrukmo's club room is not worth the money we paid for. It is the second most expensive room but the location of the room is on the corner (619) and the furthest from the elevator. The room was not big and don't be deceived by the picture.

The check in process was very slow. Based on general review I read on internet, they always take LONG time to prepare for the room. You can just leave your luggage, go touring in the city or Ambarrukmo Plaza and ask them to deliver your stuff to the room after the room is ready tho.


The staff in general is friendly except for the one female staff on the reception that we met on her night shift. She was rude and ruining our whole impression of the hotel.

Be careful of the payment in restaurant. We wanted our bill for extra 1 person during breakfast to be charged into our room account then the staff in charge asked us to sign on BLANK paper because there was a technical issue with the printing machine. This is totally unacceptable.

The breakfast menu was nice with a lot of local cuisine. The staff is quite slow but theyre very helpful and polite.

Overall, the only reason to stay in Royal Ambarrukmo is the perfect location and the nostalgic of the historical place & culture they offered.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliraDwipayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depok
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 205 in Yogyakarta
983 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 19 in Depok
1,078 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#15 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto no. 81, Depok, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Sleman District > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Depok
Price Range: $79 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel, once Yogyakarta's grandest hotel, has been undergoing a great transformation to bring back the glamour of the past merged with 21st century technology that embraces both its historic heritage and the modern comforts. In addition to its historic grandeur, the hotel is also preferred due to its central location with the city’s largest shopping mall right on the doorstep and the hotel is an integral part of the heritage site of Royal Palace Residence. It is less than 10 minutes from Adisucipto International Airport, and most of Yogyakarta's must-see sites – the Prambanan Temple, Sultan Palace, Kotagede, Malioboro – are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing