We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ICSEI Conference 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Depok
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ICSEI Conference 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel is a good option in Yogyakarta for a Conference. The guest facilities are of a good standard and the staff are pleasant. I was therefore very disappointed that this Hotel made absolutely no effort whatsoever to meet my dietary requirements despite the Conference Application request. I had previously registered that I have a significant intolerance to MSG. The schedule was busy which precluded going elsewhere for lunch which left me little option on the prepared conference menu each day other than fruit. I was told by the chefs that food preparation included the addition of MSG in their meals. My approach to the Hotel Marketing person was to no avail and when she was contacted during our stay by our Jakarta Administration team there was no action taken nor was I approached with any explanation or support. I understand that this is a Santika Chain Hotel which makes my concerns doubly disappointing. I am a resident of Indonesia and our Program uses Santika Hotels considerably for workshops. I have always been impressed by efforts made at Santika in the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    391
    65
    14
    9
See reviews for
348
157
76
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I love this hotel. The staff is helpful and kind. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. My wifi worked perfectly (included in the rate) in my room. The breakfast (also included in rate) has so many choices from Western to local foods as well as freshly made juices of the fruits/vegetables you choose. Ambarrukmo Plaza is the mall next door with lots of shops and food options. Malioboro Street is a 25-30k rupiah cab ride away (only a few dollars). I would definitely return to this hotel again. Thanks for a great stay (I was here for 7 nights)!

Room Tip: I had an end room on the 7th floor which had sweeping views on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Royal Ambarrukmo has a world-class hotel atmosphere, having facilities such as an airline ticketing center, free bicycle rent, a batik clothing store, and is just across Jogja's largest mall. The room is average sized, with comfy beds. The breakfast serves a large buffet of dishes from the classic fried rice or toasts and bagels, to sushi and dim sum.

Location is near the airport, and they have a free airport transfer shuttle. Price is highly affordable. Service is professional. Facilities are great. Big swimming pool and garden. Jogging track available. A welcome drink upon arrival. People very helpful and warm. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scharringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nibong Tebal, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I must say that I am a frequent traveller, but somehow, this is my first trip to Indonesia. The Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel was the destination. Upon arrival, I realized that it was a new (newly refurbished?) hotel.
The moment I stepped inside, the reception was excellent. Service was quick and professional. The rooms are clean, and each (I think) has a wonderful balcony. Location was slightly far from the famed Malioboro Street, but plenty of stuff as well nearby, like the Ambarrukmo Mall. The rooms were spacious, and well decorated.
As this was for business, I will return for a family stay. I am impressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PakDinPakDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel was originally constructed on the orders of President Sukarno back in the 60s as one of 3 hotel projects to develop tourism in Indonesia. The architecture is very 60s, but the property has been renovated and is really quite lovely. I particularly liked the lighting in the public areas of the hotel: there are plenty of windows so the lighting is natural and then in the evening very soft. I experienced minor problems that did not really detract from my overall favorable impression of the hotel: I arranged for a car to pick me up at the airport, but there was no car when I got there, so had to take a cab. The check in process was somewhat tedious and took longer than what seemed usual, but I made this easier by visiting the concierge while they were doing whatever it is that took so long, and made my reservations to visit Borobudur and Prambanam. The hotel has it's own cars so you can arrange for some nice day trips at a very reasonable rate. Breakfast was a joy every day. There is a gamelan group playing every morning and an astounding assortment of breakfast options. I generally stayed with the Indonesian selections and fresh tropical fruits which were both delicious. I also had dinner a few times which was equally good. The restaurant features specialties from Yogyakarta which should not be missed, and the service in the restaurant is at all times warm, friendly and professional. I found everyone in the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. I asked for a room with a view of Mount Merapi, and spent quite a bit of time on my balcony overlooking the beautiful view. The hotel pool is large, clean and great for swimming or just relaxing. There is also a small museum next to the hotel as the property once belonged to the sultans of Yogyakarta and one of the palaces is still there. In the evening there was usually some music in the lobby bar, and this was a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Yogyakarta has so much to see and do so this was a nice way to end the days. There is also a big shopping mall across the street from the hotel if you need anything or feel like shopping. I found myself not wanting to leave this beautiful hotel as I was so comfortable and relaxed while here. A big thanks to everyone at the Royal Ambarrukmo. You are now officially one of my favorite hotels in the world!

Room Tip: Book a room viewing Mount Merapi and overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our family loved this place for its beautiful pool and garden, great breakfast and clean, well-appointed rooms. Everything about this hotel exudes quality, and it is five star quality at a four star price.
It was very relaxing to sit in the lounge areas near the lobby and read the free newspapers while looking out at the luxuriant garden.
The breakfast is in experience in itself. They have a wide choice of local, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisines, including some tasty Javanese dishes such as brongkos, pecel, timlo that are rarely seen in hotels. The dining room faces the garden and the staff are very friendly and attentive.
Our room (no.749) had a balcony facing north over the pool and gardens towards Merapi volcano which was emitting a large cloud of smoke and some ash. We had two double beds, a bar fridge, tea and coffee maker, safe, flat screen TV with lots of channels (but could do with more English language news channels), a walk-in shower and good quality soap and shampoo. The air conditioning was quiet and worked well, and the lights were good for reading in bed. It was very quiet at night and we slept well.The Ambarrukmo Plaza, with lots of shops and restaurants, is right next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are good, spacious and clean. Very elaborate buffet breakfast. Concierge service was good and efficient in arranging taxis, etc. But what upsets me was the attitude of the receptionists at the time of check out. After staying 3 nights, i requested if I could check out at 2 pm instead of 12 noon but was refused categorically. I have stayed in many countries around the world but this was the first time I was rejected a simple 2 hour extension. By the way, there were plenty of rooms as I could easily make a new booking if i wanted one, online. If the hotel management is interested in following up my complaint, I can write to them the name of the particular receptionist.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depok
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta

Property: Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto No. 81, Depok, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Depok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel, once Yogyakarta's grandest hotel, has been undergoing a great transformation to bring back the glamour of the past merged with 21st century technology that embraces both its historic heritage and the modern comforts. In addition to its historic grandeur, the hotel is also preferred due to its central location with the city’s largest shopping mall right on the doorstep and the hotel is an integral part of the heritage site of Royal Palace Residence. It is less than 10 minutes from Adisucipto International Airport, and most of Yogyakarta's must-see sites – the Prambanan Temple, Sultan Palace, Kotagede, Malioboro – are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing