We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Nearby Hotels
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sriwedari Hotel(Depok)(Great Value!)
$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$19
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$23
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,570)
Filter reviews
1,570 results
Traveler rating
946
512
82
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
512
82
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallbig mallswimming poolexcellent hotelbusiness tripnice stayindonesian foodexcellent breakfaststar hotellive musicspecial thanksstrategic locationrestaurant staffclose to the airportbreakfast menufront officenice pool
Filter
Updating list...
976 - 981 of 1,570 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ambarukmo is nice hotel with competitive price and important is they have very nice employes (in all job description), typical Indonesian people - friendly, helpful, humble, keep smiling.
The character of this hotel is quite strong with Java culture, so if you stay in Ambarukmo, you will realize that you are in Java!

Room Tip: Higher floors always better for the view. But if you stay with children, better to use low floors because the swimming pool is in lobby area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Situated next to the shopping mall and 10 min drive to the airport. Hotel with big garden and swimming pool. Cleanliness of the pool is bad as Guest allow to wear normal shirt or short to swim inside the pool.With nice volcano view(facing poolview) and Comfortable room. Superb breakfast with lot of varieties from local to the international. Fresh fruit juice and few variety of local ginger drink also provided. The service of the waiter is very friendly and always have a smiling face.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I didn't expect this hotel would be this good when I reserved it. It was my first time to Yogyakarta. However, my husband and I were really surprised once we stepped in the door. It has a very beautifully decorated and clean lobby. This hotel preserves the rich Javanese Culture Heritage. They keep the "pendopo" where previous Royal Members spent their afternoon time. The staffs were very friendly and responded our inquiries in a timely manner. The treat the guests as if they are member of Royal family. The hotel provide free shuttle from and to the airport; it also provides car rental with a local driver who knows the area very well and is very polite. Even though it is a little bit pricey ($75 for 10hours), it is a good service to use if you are first in the area, thus minimizing the risk of being cheated by other local people outside the hotel. The size of room we stayed in was pretty decent for a couple. The room has good lighting source, but the air conditioner was broken during our first stay. The bathroom was not that big, but was functional, except for the water leaked out from the standing shower. Each room has balcony facing either the swimming pool or the volcano mountain. Good size swimming pool for kids and family. Breakfast was superb. They have a lot of varieties of food to match your taste bud. Didn't try their lunch or dinner menu because usually we had our stomach full by 1130 from the breakfast, and could not eat more. The in-room spa treatment that we got was terrific. They only hire experiences masseuses. We could only wish that we had done the massage from the first day. This hotel is located next to Plaza Ambarrukmo, which I found is very convenient. Overall, we have a comfortable and great moment staying at this hotel. We We would definitely stay here again if we travel there again. I would really recommend people to check on this hotel and enjoy the great experience as we had. Shout out to the whole staffing personnel. You guys did a great job!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosevale08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A short lebaran visit to this hotel started from approaching porte cochere, none of the staff approaching us to offer assistance nor greeting us. We saw some staff standing talking with security officers and none of them helped us. When I opened the car trunk then one of them approaching us. The check in process a bit slow, I had to wait for a receptionist lady still on the phone. I asked some question to the lady but seems she didnt have full knowledge like how many sqm is the room, whether it was ceramic floor or carpet, she opened the book before answering. And it was wrong, when she answered carpet, but no carpet in our room.

Then we asked for extrabed, but she said that extrabed runs out and no more stock. We were escorted to the room by a bell boy, in the room I asked again to him that I requested for extrabed. He promised he would check with receptionist and would call us back. Until we departed, he never called us...

After 10 minutes in the room, the electricity in the room went off. Called operator to fix it, it took quite sometime for a technician came to my room. Anyhow, when the technician came, it's fixed in 15 minutes, while we had to wait at the balcony.

Ordered Nasi Goreng and Mie Goreng through room service, it took almost an hour. Nasi Goreng was good and delicious, but Mie Goreng was too salty.

The breakfast food quite a lot of varieties. the taste was good, only the service needs improvement. I asked for the roast duck, the staff said 'sudah habis' and he said his friend still taking more from kitchen, until we left the restaurant it's still not available.

Excellent for the swimming pool and kids playground, my kids enjoyed it very much. Our compliment given to the security officer who was in charge at the entrance when we departed, he assisted us genuinely with his smile and wish 'hati2 dijalan' for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is on the upper end of the scale of quality hotels and it has all the 'bits' you would expect from a hotel of this standard.

Typically the service is efficient and friendly and the rooms are large, clean and very comfortable.

The hotel also has a good sized swimming pool for those like me who need a serious swim every day or so.

The restaurants are good for buffet style eating although it is much more fun to go out onto the streets of this fascinating city and try local cafes etc.

Recommended for those wanting a larger style hotel with four star facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews