We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$22
$21
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellow Star Gejayan Hotel(Depok)(Great Value!)
$21
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveler rating
465
420
167
57
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
420
167
57
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon access roomthe club loungevolcano viewindian restaurantwine loungefree shuttleindoor poolclose to the airporttaman sariprambanan templetop floormount merapijavanese styleshuttle servicecheck in processjunior suiteexcellent service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this abomination of a Sheraton hotel for five nights for our Easter vacation.
Room had water seepage from the wall due to water pipe problems and had maintenance staff working in front of room in hallway at 5am and 11pm!
Room, restaurant and club lounge infested with ants
Unhygienic food service - Wife and I had digestive tract problems throughout the stay
A/C had mold and did not work at times
Staff spoke hardly any English
Tried to overcharge both at restaurant and for tours we took
Had to compete with hotel staff for food and drinks at the club lounge. They literally ate our food
We complained and complained and complained. Everybody was "So sorry" but they didn't do anything to correct the situation
I contacted the Sheraton customer service who just passed on the complaint to hotel management.
Hotel management was "So sorry" and gave us a two day free stay at a lower class class room with all kinds of conditions attached. If we would be stupid enough to experience the same two star experience again!
AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AT ALL COST
This hotel cannot be a Sheraton!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeoffice, Executive Office at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your negative review. We were greatly concerned to hear about the circumstances that occurred. As a common gesture to readdress your concerns and to adjust your uncomfortable feelings during your stayed, we presented an apology letter as well as a room voucher to restore your faith in our operation. Nevertheless we hope we still have an opportunity to have you again in the hotel where we can demonstrate that our standards have been bought in line with that upon which our fine reputation is based. In addition, retraining staffs and room maintenance improvement have been completed after we received your comments through the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Pro:
spacious rooms
close to airport
free airport & city transfer
extensive breakfast buffet
staff was friendly
nice views of Mount Merapi
beautiful pool area

Contra:
we had to change rooms because of ants running through the room
balcony doors don't close completely, therefore rooms are very humid and a bit smelly
signs of mold

We left the Sheraton with mixed feelings, the hotel has been renovated recently, however, you don't want humid rooms which slowly destroy the furniture and paint.

It is a solid average hotel, but not what you would expect from a Sheraton!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotti84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeoffice, Executive Office at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

We always keen to hear our customer review both on service and facility, not limited to minor or major defect you may have experienced during recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience experience, ants in the room are not accepted because of door balcony was not closed properly. This unusual occurrence will not happen again as immediate retraining to all housekeepers had been conducted. Humidity in the room hardly avoidable in our region, what we can do to minimize risk by extending periodical room maintenance. Thank you for your value comments; we sincerely hope we will have you again at the resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

You can't go wrong staying at this Sheraton property. Damaged during an Earthquake a few years ago, the reopened hotel is consistent with all Sheraton properties. The rooms are large, the staff is outstanding, and for an American who is picky about what he eats, the food here was surprisingly excellent. And they have a cool wine bar where you can just relax whether you're tasting wine or not. It's air conditioned, too, which provides a pleasant respite from the heat and humidity that is characteristic of SE Asian nations. My only issue dealt with cleanliness of the room. I'm certain it had something to do with the HVAC system, but there was a consistent film of dirt / dust on the floor. However, this fairly minor shortcoming shouldn't deter even the most-critical traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zonker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeoffice, Executive Office at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2010

Thank you for your review, especially your minor concern on room cleanliness. Immediate retraining had been been done to ensure such of that issue will not reoccur.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The resort is truly lovely - not sure why, but when we stayed there, there was hardly anyone there! Location so close to airport! We had booked into the Lagoon Access Room and loved it. With a 15 month old daughter, it was brilliant that we could quickly change into our swimming gear and go for a quick dip just outside our room. Rooms kept clean, although decor a bit dated, but spacious and clean enough for our little girl to run around and out into the balcony area. Housekeeping staff were very accommodating and attentive with our requests and prompt with their service.

Resort has inside swimming pool (not tried it, but looks very nice and big) and outside, but the pool is quite cold although w the sun beaming down it.

Went to spa and it was very nice inside and service was good.
Husband also went to play golf at Merapi and definitely recommends it but found that he got a cheaper price phoning the golf course directly than going through the hotel.

Downside is that the hotel only had one restaurant open, which did not really give us a choice when it came to dinner & lunch that we had go out for dinner one night. Buffet breakfast was really good. I thought the food was nice, however my husband thought it was ok for a 5 star hotel.

All staff were very friendly and helpful from housekeeping to front desk reception. Would like to say thanks to Henri, Dini and the housekeeping assistant who made our stay even more enjoyable whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeoffice, Executive Office at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2010

Your positive comment about our associate is very much appreciated and they will certainly motivate the rest of the associate to provide even better service in our effort to accomplish total guest satisfaction.

In the mean time thank you very much for your valued comment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa’s employees from various departments (namely: F/O, H/K, F&B, Security, Drivers, Taman Sari Spa) are all beyond professionalism, yet extremely humble and gracefulness of politeness!

Throughout my 5 days / 4 nights stay with this property, every single employee from various departments, treated me like part of their family's members, making me feel extremely welcome, and comfortable, including the cleanliness of the Lagoon Access Club Room, making this resort as “My 2nd Home”!

Above all, every employees, whom I had communicated and now be friends with, they all know their hotel's products knowledge with wisdom, and as well as the local knowledge (i.e.: Yogyakarta, Tourists' Attractions, Areas of Interests) very perfectly.

Lots of thank, and recognitions with praises must be given to all the Rank and File Employees, as well as their Team Leaders (supervisors) from all various department, including the Maintenance and Gardening Departments for keeping the entire property up to par level of standards and botanical greeneries!

Upon conclusion, I really did enjoy my stay with Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, mainly due to their employees. They are all truly the humans’ qualities' assets both to this particular property, as well as Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc. Upon my departure, most of the F/O GRE, FOM, GM, Securities, Drivers and some F&B employees ensure me to go back to stay with them in the Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, as all of them are looking forward to meet up with me once more!

In my entire life, I have been traveling uncountable times, from various countries, and had stayed in many international different luxury hotels and resorts, including those hotels and resorts that have 5 Stars AHS Awards, (e.g. YTL Pangkor Laut Resort (One Island, One Resprt plus Spa Village), I had never ever felt so homely like this particular Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa that all their employees (including F/O Rev. Dept.) had warmly provided me their extra personal touch of services, and home-like feelings, which are beyond Sheraton or any other Hospitality’s of Serving benchmarks!

I, Louis (Tango) POH (room 109), hereby with heartfelt grateful sincere thanks, to all levels of employees from various departments, employed by Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa for performing such a marvelous job, and do keep up the astonishing great performances!

Sincerely yours truly, and your friends to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa,

Louis (Tango) POH

Tel: +60125156546

Email: tangopoh@yahoo.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LouisTangoPoh

Facebook Photos Album on Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort:: http://www.facebook.com/LouisTangoPoh#!/album.php?aid=165016&id=593019780

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisTangoPOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeoffice, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

Thank you for your compliments on our associates and hospitality. We were delighted to serve you in any possible ways to make your stay like your 2nd home. We really hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in near future.
Our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews