We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Depok
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Convenient Location, very close to the airport. Complimentary transfer to airport, Malioboro. room is big and come with a balcony. Get a room that overlook the out door pool and garden, nice view. TV is flat screen and there is quite a lot of choice of programs. There is another in door pool within the spa. Restaurant food is OK and pricing is relatively low compared to Singapore.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
However hotel is located to place of player, so if you are a light sleeper, you may have some concern.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chong m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your valuable review, we are glad that you have a wonderful experience at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. We will share your review to all of our associates, and hope it will enhance our service become better in the future. Looking forward to have you back in our resort, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    390
    150
    54
    41
See reviews for
323
240
91
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

An free & easy holiday for us as a couple. Booked this hotel for it conveniece as it is only 5 mins away from the International airport and the main attraction of Parambanan.

Overall , the hotel is quiet and away from crowds but still acessible to shopping malls with the local taxi about 5-7 mins. Our room had a wonderful view of the swimming pool and the volcano but it was hidden by the thick cloud. :( we could only see a rough shadow of the volcano only on the second day morning.

Breakfast was ok with not much changes.

Room was big with a balcony. Great with a TV with international TV channels. Try to get a room from level 5-6, level 7 is the main lobby.

Swimmining pool was pretty but not suitable for lap swimmers. I think its more for kids playing. Although there were a in-door pool, which is locate in the spa center at level 3. It looks like a more like a spa pool then a swimming pool. Anyway, we were busy trekking ard hence, pool is not important to us during the 4 days trip. :p

I love the view of this hotel during the night after a long tiring day outside. It seems that the hotel "glow" with gold. Just had the feelling that it is a palace. LOL. it is the only tall building when you are looking from the main street,

Check in was easy and friendly but we had little struggle with understanding each other when we seek advice for our outing.

I saw the rooms at ground level with pool access which are still under renovation. To me, it is waste of money to book these rooms and it is not cheap. The pool is not linked to the main swimmming pool which is at a higher ground. Neither the pool is large enough to swim. Soaking- yes!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginger-tea-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that your holiday was as wonderful as your feeling at a Palace. We're glad that you were satisfied with our services and facilities, and that you had a safe and comfortable trip back. Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night after staying in much nicer SPG hotels over in Bali and by a direct comparison the hotel, in my opinion, did not live up to the usual high standard expected from a sheraton.

Firstly, the welcome upon arrival by staff was friendly and even got a welcome drink. Given I am an SPG member and have lived out of SPG hotels for a while, I expected a decent room upgrade which apparently I did get. The corridors are relatively bare and cold. Got the to the room and things got worse. Paint was peeling, the bath tub was cracked, lime scale around the shower and mould forming in the corners. The shower turned hot and cold whilst you were in so you were dodging the extremities in temperature throughout. The room was a standard hotel size with a decent tv and a standard comfy bed but very little in between. The rust light switches require updating (the screw fell off one of the light switches...oh and there didn't appear to be a master switch for all lights so I had to turn up each light off separately.The furniture was also old and worn.

Oh, and how can I forget the regular calls to prayer every so often including at something like 4-5 in the morning. The volume felt like it was a call specially to me and goes on for sometime. Although I do appreciate that this is part of the culture of the country but feel like I should warn people of the volume and frequency as it does impact quality of sleep!

Breakfast was a decent selection of Eastern and Western but the quality was nothing spectacular (although the egg/waffle and pancake corner was a nice option). However paying IDR 105,000 for an omelette is a bit on the pricey side relative to other costs.

Check out didn't get much better where there was no offer to carry my bags down to the awaiting shuttle bus which was fine but when there are several people just standing around by check out and I the lobby, an offer of assistance to small female is always appreciated.

The shuttle to the airport is a good touch though given the hotel probably isn't in walk distance despite appearing so on google maps...most of the way didn't appear to have a sidewalk at all...just a very busy road.

Overall, it's a decent hotel to crash for the odd night whilst seeing some of the delights of Yogyakarta and the surrounding area but I would class this as a amazing relaxing resort hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get breakfast included within the room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleme_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta. I am sorry that some of your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I agree with a recent reviewer who wrote "mixed bag" and "could be great" - it depends on what you value in a hotel. The grounds are beautiful, majestic even, with lots of greenery and statuary. The pool is very eye-pleasing and relaxing. Local items like old musical instruments and pottery are scattered throughout the hotel. Even the driveway up to the hotel looks splendid. Unlike many hotels in Asia that are uniform and bland, here you know where you are, the kingdom of Yogyakarta, and this is refreshing.

I went to the wine bar, which was empty except for me and 4-5 staff. The wine was nothing special, low-end Australian and Chilean varieties, but conversation with the staff made it definitely worthwhile. I was awakened before dawn by prayers, and again at dawn by roosters crowing. I had my breakfast on the balcony overlooking the pool, with the mountain in the distance, and the roosters still crowing. The breakfast buffet was OK, nothing special, and the service was slow, but the site was serene and satisfying.

The rooms are large but very old looking. The light switch on a bedside lamp was so rusted that the only way to turn off the lamp was to unscrew the bulb. The bed was just OK. The balcony overlooking the courtyard was nice.

To summarize, it all depends on what you value in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your value review. One of our best view is the Mount Merapi view, we can see it from all of lobby area including lounge, restaurant and rooms. We also would like to apologize for slow service, rusted bedside lamp and the noise of the outside. We have discussed with Department Head concern to do immediate action. Look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We spend one night at the hotel and very happy to see the environment with many green landscapes throughout the hotel. The lobby was nice with some traditional Javanese art decorations.

The building is quite old but still well maintained, and the positions of the rooms are below the lobby area. The room is spacious with our own balcony facing the small pool right in front of it. Don't forget to visit the pool area on the second floor, it offers a very nice landscapes while you indulge yourselves with the tranquility of the nature.

The hotel needs to maintain its equipment though, considering this is.not a new hotel anymore. My TV in room is intermittently turning off and on. The staff are very friendly during my stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Indra_Hadiwidjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate your comments and valuable for us in order to provide even better service in our effort to accomplish total guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is set on lush grounds that evokes images of being in a jungle paradise, all the while being located in a city and close to the airport. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Breakfast was great. Restaurant has extensive menu with many choices. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJtraveler558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
It is really great to hear that your overall stay with us was a pleasant stay. Thank you for your rave review of our hotel and we have shared you feedback to concerned associates, it helps to boost our associates' confidence and willingness to always improve their sincere service. We look forward to welcoming you back at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Sheraton Mustika is a real mixed bag, combining the excellent with the poor.
On the positive side, the hotel is located in lovely grounds, with a wonderful relaxing pool area that makes it something of a haven from busy Yogjakarta. The rooms are large with a comfortable bed and good bathroom and shower. The lobby and common areas of the hotel are very pleasant, and the main restaurant serves very good Indonesian food. There is also a wine bar which is quite pleasant though very expensive.
However, the hotel could do with a refurb. The rooms are dated and tired, and various items (safe, light, phone) were not in working order when we arrived. Wear and tear is also evident in other parts of the hotel.
Service is also mixed. Overall, staff are friendly, but there are exceptions and staff need to act as if they are in an international hotel not a local place for local people. In particular, when a woman eats a meal on her own, this does not mean she is some kind of prostitute or merely awaiting her husband!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. Your input is greatly valued to improve our service standards. We have passed your comment to our Department Head concern who rushed to improve the services. We hope to welcoming you back at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depok
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
4.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,073 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#12 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,319 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#29 of 206 in Yogyakarta
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa

Property: Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto KM 8.7, Depok, Yogyakarta 55282, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Depok
#4 Spa Hotel in Depok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa is offering unbeatable access to the must see attractions in the region, close to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, and just minutes from International Airport. The night clubs entertainment are just within walking distance as it is in the hotel complex. In their warmly decorated guest rooms and suites, guests will enjoy private balconies and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(TM) Bed - a nine-layered custom-designed ensemble boasting an exquisitely comfortable, plush mattress, fluffy down hypoallergenic pillows, crisp cotton sheets, cozy blanket and signature blanket and duvet. Hotel guests will enjoy dazzling views of the garden, pool, and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Sheraton Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing