We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star hotel with traditional java architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Depok
Tegal, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Five Star hotel with traditional java architecture”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you looking for good hotel near Jogjakarta airport, this is the best choice. Our Company have big event in Jogjakarta last December 2013 and we got good service there. Old building but still good in maintanance. All the staf is very helpful but sometimes they not have good coordination. Very comfortable and they have really good breakfast even they are full house.

Room Tip: choose room near the elevator/ lift and the best room is on the 4th floor, because near the fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We would like to thank you for staying at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa during your recent visit to Yogyakarta, and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    390
    150
    54
    41
See reviews for
323
240
91
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for one day only vacation. My son is very excited coz the swimming pool is very nice. I only booked for deluxe room, but their receptionist gave me the lagoon access room which the room that has "their own swimming pool" in front of the room terace (you can see the picture's theme of this hotel on their official website). I'm very pleased along my stay in this hotel, once checked in, one female staff accompanied to go to our room and explain all facilities that we can get. Good food/meals for breakfast, many traditional/javanese food/snacks and the magnificent view to Volcano Mount of Merapi (with all appeared smoke, local people said "wedhus gembel" from that mountain), really beatiful - sunny and clear weather, good breakfast, very nice view. Maybe one thing can reduce the all nice ones, which the pool in front of the lagoon view room are not clean, please cleaning up theme more often than usual.

Room Tip: It is very nice if you can get promotion for lagoon terace room or volcano view room with price of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABWidodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we sincerely appreciate the time you took to let us know how your visit with the Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa was. We do share the comments with all staff, and will particularly follow up on some points you called out on your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My girlfriend, her sister and I stayed at this hotel during the Christmas holiday in 2013.

We picked the Sheraton because it's such a well known chain and both my girlfriend and I have stayed at Sheraton's in Asia and the States. As most know- their hotel's are generally pretty clean and comfortable. The Sheraton in Yogi was anything but!!

The biggest problem with this hotel is that the condition of the facility itself is absolutely horrid. Below is a list of what we noticed during our stay:

1. The room had an odd smell to it which seemed to come and go. It was most likely sewage.
2. There were holes drilled in one of the night stands...presumably where an alarm clock once was.
3. Mold in multiple areas of the room.
4. Electrical sockets which were severely damaged.
5. Garbage pales in the room not changed by housekeeping. No new bag...nothing.
6. Room service wait is over 1 hour without notice or warning that it could take a little extra time.
7. Spa is a joke. We went for a 60 minute couples massage. It was basically just having oiled smeared over your skin. Not much more to it.
8. The hotel dining facilities were disgusting! Food all over the floor, hair in food that was out on the buffet. The host acutally tried to seat us at a table that had no crumbs and food all over the table and a half eaten donut on the floor under the table. Somehowe he thought this was ok??
9. We are both Starwood Gold members. As far as I know, we should have recieved an upgade. We didn't and that was fine but...there are preffered guest rooms in the hotel and even though we booked the room in September (for our end of December visit) we were not given a preffered room.
10. My girlfriend had contacted the hotel numerous times (via email, phone) and asked for information regarding transportation as well as information on their spa. We did not receive a response from the hotel and had to contact their corp office for this information. Seriously??? WOW.
11. Tried calling the hotel a number of times before our visit. No one will answer the phone at this place. It's a joke.

Aside from all of this you're probably wondering if we calle any of this out during our stay. We complained 3 times. Nothing was done about any of this.

When we arrived home my gf wrote the hotel and complained. We received a short letter and a refund on our room service the last night that we were at the hotel.

I'm sorry...I was acutally not looking for a refund or anything other than a sincere apology.

As far as I'm concerned, this was enough to ruin Starwood properties for me. I will never again stay at one of their hotels, nor will I spend a dime on anything in one of their locations.

I've stayed at many hotels all over Asia. I've had good experiences and bad ones. This is the first time I'm posting on trip advisor because my experience with this hotel was really that bad.

Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta- ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK

Room Tip: Your best option would be to stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We always keen to hear our customer review both on service and facility, not limited to minor or major defect you may have experienced during recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience experience. This unusual occurrence will not happen again as immediate retraining to all associates had been conducted. Thank you for your value comments, we sincerely hope we will have you again at the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

this is my second time visit this hotel it's getting better than my previous stay.
they upgrade my room to lagoon room. and I ate dinner there, the dinner is just amazing you should try the ox tail menu...
as for the breakfast i just love the gudeg but they need more variety on the main buffet :)
the pool is amazing I just love it but for the gym they just need to work out a bit on the machine :)
I really recommended this place if you are on holiday especially for honeymoon. can't wait to come back to jogja...

Room Tip: just make sure you booked the room and ask for the shuttle to go to the city central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevingunawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate your comments and valuable for us in order to provide even better service in our effort to accomplish total guest satisfaction, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Despite being a bit far from the city center and showing its age a bit, I enjoyed my stay here. The location is nice and you get great views at breakfast. The room was comfortable - no complaints there. The spa does need to be renovated, however, and so does the swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TempoduluJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post the review and comments. We're really proud of knowing that you enjoyed our resort. We also appreciate your feed back, currently we are doing renovation in stage, so that the hotel will look better. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

To me, view is everything. Should I know that the view I expect was not available, I wouldn't choose this hotel. We booked via phone for a room with volcano view and confirmed ok by the reservation staff. Arrived at the hotel at 2pm, was told that the room with volcano view was not available anymore (!?!@#$?!?). After arguing, the reservation staff then offered room with garden view. We asked to see the room first - thank God we did, coz the view was actually totally ugly! Small unmanicured garden with ugly building blocked the view to the sky. We ask to see other available room with better view, then the staff brought us to the 2nd room which view was even worse. Hufftt.. Get very upset and dissapointed at this point, and we thought of cancelling the stay and go for other hotels at Yogya. After several calls we found out that other 5-star hotels were all fully occupied. As the last attempt, we asked whether there is available room that faced the same direction as the restaurant, since the restaurant view is quite ok. The staff checked and informed us that there is! He brought us to the room with pool view and we agreed to take it. What really annoying were, (1) Why the room that we had pre-booked was given to other guest, despite the fact that we arrive on time for check in, (2) No explanation nor apology by the reservation staff. When we asked why this can happen, he just unclearly mumbled about the mistake by other reservation staff. (3) Why the staff firstly offer 2 ugly room and NOT recommend the pool view room that we finally took. We have to seen around the hotel and asked the particular view by ourselves. What a low point of our new year holiday. Big name, poor service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnySide84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we have shared your review with all staff. We apologize for miss room type and did not recommend the pool view room. We look forward to serving you again with improvement we have recently made to your points, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked volcanic view rooms but due to the rain we couldn't see anything. The garden looked very nice and the staff were very friendly. I really enjoyed the spa and was lucky to get the last booking of the day (they close at 10pm). The taxi desk was particularly helpful. The staff helped us to book an 8-hour taxi who took us to Prambanan, Borobudur and surrounding attractions (priced at around 750,000).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilocklock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
May we extend our grateful to your kind words about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depok
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
4.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,073 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#12 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,319 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#29 of 206 in Yogyakarta
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa

Property: Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto KM 8.7, Depok, Yogyakarta 55282, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Depok
#4 Spa Hotel in Depok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa is offering unbeatable access to the must see attractions in the region, close to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, and just minutes from International Airport. The night clubs entertainment are just within walking distance as it is in the hotel complex. In their warmly decorated guest rooms and suites, guests will enjoy private balconies and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(TM) Bed - a nine-layered custom-designed ensemble boasting an exquisitely comfortable, plush mattress, fluffy down hypoallergenic pillows, crisp cotton sheets, cozy blanket and signature blanket and duvet. Hotel guests will enjoy dazzling views of the garden, pool, and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Sheraton Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing