We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$59
Fully refundable before 06/10/23
Hotels.com
$58
Fully refundable before 06/10/23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveler rating
578
479
188
68
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
578
479
188
68
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian restaurant mount merapi junior suite swimming pool is check in process front office lobby airport shuttle renovation yogyakarta services design gm ballroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located near the airport (which is slightly outside the main part of the city). The hotel offers complimentary shuttles to/from the airport as well as shuttles to the main part of the city (you'll need to find your own way back in a taxi though).

The hotel is quite beautiful. It made me feel like I was stepping back in time and staying at a hotel built during colonial times. I was upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the pool (platinum upgrade). The fresh fruit in the room combined with the ample supply of water bottles was a nice touch. The suite was huge with a full dining table and living room.

Service was excellent and quite friendly. As a perk for platinum members, we were given complimentary breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. There were many options, which was quite nice, but the taste could use a little bit of work.

Overall, I really enjoyed the experience, and I'd stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa for your recent visit to Yogyakarta. We glad that you were satisfied with our services and facilities and we would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments about us with TripAdvisor visitors. We have conveyed your compliments to all associates to motivate them in keeping up the good work and we will work hard on the taste of our Breakfast as well. We would be delighted to welcome you back at our resort in nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel must have been built to impress. Unfortunately there seems to be no reinvestments in a long time. Rooms are large but aircon hardly working, also had a musty smell. A visit by the engineers did not help. Breakfast is not of adequate standard, dinner food average at best. Service was always friendly but not very competent and with hardly any attention to detail. Sauna looked very tired. The pool area is nice but noisy from children and music. Pool itself has many "obstcles" which look good but are in the way when swimming freely. Shuttle service is one-way only. One day it was canceled but no information was made beforehand. We found out once we were set to start. Location of hotel is far from everything except airport. This hotel sells itself at 5 star prices but is 3 stars at best. I bet in 2 years this won't be a Sheraton property any more. Avoid.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We was greatly concerned to hear about the circumstances that occurred, you were very disappointed due to the unpleasant experienced with condition and service of our hotel. This year we start renovating some of our rooms. We had been discussed together with department head concerned as we take this issue seriously and we will put your valuable comments in management action plan as Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. On behalf of the hotel let me take the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you once again for your constructive comments. These will certainly enable us to improve the quality of our services and facilities to better meet the needs of our guests and we looking forward to welcoming you in nearest future at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is definitely one of the most impressive I've seen in Indonesia thus far. Set in the culturally rich city of Yogyakarta, Sheraton Mustika provides visual delights as well as first class service. Situated just 5 minutes away from the airport on the busy Laksda Adisucipto road, when you turn into the hotel entrance you'll feel as if you've entered a whole other world. I was upgraded to a volcano view room upon arrival and the view from my room was incredible. The volcano isn't easy to spot as the weather often clouds the view, but the room also overlooked the perfectly landscaped tropical garden and pool. You'll definitely want to go down for a better look after seeing this.

Breakfast was fine albeit the space was a bit cramped. It was a shame I didn't get to try out the spa, but will definitely give it a go the next time I'm back. All in all, if you're going to Jogja, you could do a lot worse than giving this hotel a try. 5 stars for Sheraton Mustika.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that you have had a great time. It helps to boost our associates' confidence and willingness to always improve their sincere service. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am going to write this review from two perspectives. One, as a traveler. The other, as a Starwood Member. The reason is because this hotel presents two very different faces and has two stark audiences. The latter, Starwood members, have very set expectations (or anyone who has stayed at a Sheraton before), so I need to be honest and open.

As a hotel in Asia, it is wonderful. In this respect, I am going to list everything it has going for it.

The location is near the airport, and also close to one of the main temples, Prembanan, and the ballet. It costs around 35.000rp to get to the main local area in town, Malioboro Mall, and they have a free shuttle that goes five times a day. They will pick you up from the airport and drop you there. It is also close to the newer, modern shopping centre, Ambarukmo Plaza, which is huge.

The hotel is set on top of a hill with views out to the mountains, over an expansive and unusual swimming pool. There is also what they call a lagoon on the ground floor, and you can get rooms that open directly onto it.

The rooms are pleasantly decorated and quite large. We stayed in a Junior suite, which had a separate dining/lounge area and spacious bathroom

The staff were all wonderful, including Agus, the front office manager who sorted out some problems that we had, and Mie in the Club Lounge.

We tried the food in the restaurant and while I would not say it was brilliant, it was ok. I felt it was overpriced for what we had, but the view is lovely over the pool area and service was excellent.

Now, from a Sheraton point of view. We spoke to a number of Starwood members, and they were all in agreement...this should not currently be badged Sheraton, certainly not as part of an International Group. I need to explain why in detail, to be fair to all the wonderful staff at the hotel, as many things are out of their control (certainly the ones that we dealt with. The General Manager however, whom we did not meet, needs to read this!)

1. Rooms - looking tired and smelling musty. I know it is Asia, but other hotels cope with this, it is keeping on top of maintenance. Paint is peeling, grout around the shower is filthy and there is a smell in the bathrooms on the first floor.
2. The layout - overall, it is odd. The lobby is lovely, but they could do so much more! Put in a piano, a small bar, expand it to the views on the other side. A poor choir was singing on Christmas night and we would have loved to stay and listen to them, but they were perched on the stairs near the lift!
3. The rooms on the ground floor attract children...they present as being romantic but are far from it!
4. The club lounge is very poor by Sheraton standards. Food is limited, and customers are only allowed 2 drinks each at night. There is no view. It should be moved to the 7th floor where the restaurant and bar is.
5. The bar area is nice but smells strongly of cigarette smoke.
6. Housekeeping was poor. I won't go into the details, but some serious training needs to occur there. (Agus, I will send you a private message regarding these issues. I know we shared a couple with you already, but there really were some issues there that need to urgently be addressed).

I hope that hasn't put you off, because there are positives as mentioned. We had issues that we raised politely and nicely with Agus, who listened, and immediately upgraded us. I have a feeling that he genuinely cares about his customers, and if you don't stomp around, he will work with you within the capabilities he has. Staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Mie in the club lounge was exceptional. She had a decent hat of commonsense, and I feel if she was a team captain, teaching staff what she does, and why, it would be good for them all. Her English was fluent and she was responsive to everything we asked. We thought breakfast finished at 11am, and got there at 10 to 11. The male staff member told us we could not have anything, but Mie immediately organised scrambled eggs and tea. We were delighted.

As a hotel in this part of Asia, it is certainly one of the better ones. We checked out Phoenix in town, and would stay here, over there. The price on Agoda was very reasonable for this time of year ($65 for an entry level room).

If you are traveling around, I would suggest staying at this hotel on your first and last nights, given the location to the airport.

The other slight negative is that quite a few do not speak English well. It was explained by someone outside the hotel that this is because staff head off to Bali once trained, which I can understand, as wages are better. This is something senior management need to look at. Get involved in local highschools and the community, and help lead the way with English in local villages. (My suggestion as a Rotarian.)

At the front concierge, it made life a bit difficult. Last night, we booked a cab for the ballet and were 8 minutes late getting downstairs because the lifts were slow as it was busy. Our taxi was given away. The staff decided to jump in a car and drive us there, but amazingly, he did not know where it was! I was telling him to turn left but he kept going, making us some 20 minutes late. I am not sure how he didn't know where it was!

A suggestion is that the hotel run a shuttle service to the temple and ballet. This would make it very appealing for visitors.

There are Muslim calls throughout the day/night, but our room was barely effected. My husband heard it, but not me, in fact, it was quite nice! At least they could sing, and it mostly only went for a few minutes. This is an issue throughout Indonesia, so if this is a concern to you, I think this hotel is very very good in terms of sleep quality and proximity. Other people we met told us of some horrendous din near their hotels!!

HINT: if you are only doing the nearby temple, book a taxi. It cost us 175.000 for 4 hours, versus the 400.000+ quoted by a driver. We gave him 200.000rp. He was delighted and picked up another fare at the mall where he dropped us.

HINT 2: Learn a few words of Bahasa! I am lucky, I speak it at about 4th year level, so got by. But with no bahasa, you may need to consider a guide. They are not expensive, but English is not a language commonly known, as it is in Bali.

So, I certainly do recommend it. Internationally, it needs some work if it is to carry the Sheraton badge. I compare it to the one in Melbourne (now the Langham) and it falls way short. But, so does the price tag. So there is a tradeoff to be had as well.

Thank you to ALL of the staff who made us so very welcome. I certainly DO recommend your hotel, and hope you appreciate that I needed to speak to the Sheraton audience as well, as to mislead them would not be fair. I hope that International Sheraton take some note of my review, as most of the things needing addressing cost money. If it was just a name in Yogya, I would give it a five, but can only give it a four as I must review it against the Sheraton badge.

Thank you for looking after us, we will see you again soon, as three nights was not enough. And, I need to start planning my next book...Things you need to know about Yogyakarta. Things you need to know about Bali is launching this month, so I need another project and did not see nearly enough of Yogya!

To anyone with questions, as always, I am happy to respond personally if you email me.

Room tip: If you want quiet, don't get a lagoon room! Chances of kids permeating the peace are high! A room on the 2nd floor plus at the end of the building will do the trick. A junior suite is very comfortable, and you get club access.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Creatavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear your advice to make our hotel better. All your positive feedback will make our associates more confident, meanwhile we will improve in some area such as English barrier, lack of communication at concierge, room condition (this year we start to renovate our rooms), food and housekeeping. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I would describe this hotel as medicore at best. We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to downtown (Maliboro) but it turns out that this is a one way drop off only, contrary to what they advertise on their website. The ac in our room was not working and it took the engineers one hour to finally decide that the ac would not work and then 2 hours for them to move us to an alternative room. The rooms are not cleaned properly. The breakfast not of international standards. Dinner service was poor. Staff are friendly, the wine bar is quite well stocked and internet is fast. Unfortunately these are the only good things I have to say about this hotel. It is not on par with other Sheraton properties. We asked to speak to the hotel manager to complain but were advised that he was not in the area. Avoid.

Room tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens and away from the road.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, and at the same time we also would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. In the event that you re-consider, and your travel schedule does bring you back to Yogyakarta, we do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews