We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Susanna's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Richmond B&B and Inns
Toledo, OH
1 review
“Nostalgic and Relaxing”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed at Susanna's Guest House while at a convention in the area. The house has a lot of old time charm with fireplaces in each room, lots of intriguing antiques, books, and historical pictures that adorn all of the walls. The person who cares for the house, Rick, was very accommodating and hospitable and made me feel right at home.

Its location on the river, its close proximity to Cincinnati, the Jacuzzi in my room, and the extremely comfortable bed made my stay a real delight. If someone is looking for a relaxing place to stay and looking to enjoy small town charm, this is the place for you. You will definitely find the place rustic, homey, and inviting.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated uniquely different
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LITHIA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My children and I stayed in the Doc Hawley room and the Calliope room, the two are connected as a suite, so convenient for a family. The library has great collection of movies the kids explored as well as walking outside to feed the ducks and see the incredible river vista. What a great experience for a living history lesson and just a few minutes from the river museum where the children played with hands on exhibits of river traffic.
The breakfast service was elegant and homey at the same time. What a nice atmosphere to travel with your family.

Room Tip: Each room is historically different
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsies004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

A friend and I stayed at Susanna's Guest House when we took a trip to the Newport Aquarium and Cincinnati attractions. We enjoyed the small town feel of New Richmond and its close proximity fo Covington, KY and Cincinnati. The bed and breakfast has a historical theme of the riverboat era and we enjoyed our view of the Ohio River from our rooms!! It didn't take long for all the stress of city life to melt away.

Both of our rooms had all the amenities we needed to relax and feel at home. In the morning, we took a short walk along the river to enjoy the ducks who have made their home along the main street, and to take pictures of the beauty of the area.

David, the B&B owner and his manager Rick, were friendly and very helpful. I am looking forward to another visit, possibly to see the fourth of July fireworks across the river.

Room Tip: Each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great location, 20 minutes from downtown cincinnati, Right on the Ohio River. Watch the commerical river traffic and pleasure boats. The village was settled for the steam boat trade. The home is named after the wife of the founder and has pereserved the original charm of the steamboat era. The people are very accommodating. Pet and child friendly. We enjoyed our stay and the history.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samualclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The care taker is a very nice man who made us feel welcomed. That is the best part of the the review. The guest house is dilapidated and dirty. There are dead bugs in the rooms and there is a lot of dust.
We did not find and nice places to sit to enjoy the nice view of the Ohio River, no cool drinks or snacks available to us. The breakfast was less than mediocre.
So, while we did enjoy a very kind reception from the Susanna's Guest House upon our arrival and in the morning, we were repulsed be the condition of the rooms, bathrooms and sitting area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhaniLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Susanna's Guest House, which is in the little town of New Richmond along the Ohio River (about 15 minutes to the Southeast of Cincinnati). We met the owner the second day we arrived and he was very nice and accommodating. The inn was nice but seemed to be work in progress-our room was nicely decorated and had some remodeled features, but there were areas of the house that looked to be under renovation. Breakfast was just ok-toast, scrambled eggs and bacon. Typically the inns we stay at have something more unusual or extravagant. But, it was a nice, relaxing place and we enjoyed our time there. Beware the floating bar across from the inn on the River. Visit to have a drink with the locals, but know that you'll hear music until 1 am!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripz2Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Richmond
19.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richwood-Cincinnati South
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati-Eastgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Clermont
Best Western Clermont
#17 of 50 in Cincinnati
290 reviews
10.8 mi away
1861 Inn
1861 Inn
#1 of 2 in Batavia
29 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Eastgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susanna's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susanna's Guest House

Property: Susanna's Guest House
Address: 314 Susanna Way, New Richmond, OH 45157-1238
Location: United States > Ohio > Clermont County > New Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Richmond
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Susanna's Guest House New Richmond, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing