We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious property where you can take a life time out, to relax and enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“A luxurious property where you can take a life time out, to relax and enjoy!”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

On our first visit to Cherry Ridge Retreat we stayed in The Oak Ridge Cabin. Because of that first visit we decided to return for our elopement and spent the week in the newer cabin, Ravine's Edge. This huge piece of property has amazing, but few cabins, as well as beautiful grounds. For a quite, romantic and peaceful vacation, this is the place to go. There are hiking paths on the property or you are only a few miles from the heart of Hocking Hills Region, where you can explore caves, falls and gorgeous nature. The cabins are amazing, well designed with all the comforts of home. We have now found our perfect get-a-way for those quite vacations! We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uhrig6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    11
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
240
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westerville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at Oak Ridge for a weekend to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. It was such a wonderful experience. The cottage was immaculate as well as decorated very nicely, with a great kitchen and reallyyyy comfortable beds. Satellite TV and Siruis XM radio was really nice too. The hot tub was great. We were very secluded and felt completely relaxed. Great little hiking trails in the area, good for novice hikers like us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights in Ravine's Edge July 10-12. We were looking for a quick getaway to relax for the weekend for our shared 31st birthday and 3rd anniversary. From the moment we drove up to our cabin, we knew that we were going to love it! We did not have a single complaint during our stay. We had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves without a single worry. Cherry Ridge is a beautiful place to get away from the craziness of every day work and life! Top notch amenities, total privacy, beautiful views! We did walk aroud the property briefly where we met Matthew as he was out doing work to the property, which is kept in pristine condition. They are obviously very dedicated to makinig each guest feel pampered and at home, but if you don't need anything you are left to enjoy their property without a single interruption. We felt like we were completely alone....no noise, no cell phones....but we were able to check in on our daughter with grandma twice each day using the phone in our cabin! We loved sitting out in the hot tub or by the fire pit, but we could have been just as happy staying inside the cabin listening to sirius or lying in the comfy bed all day! We are already planning to come back in the winter and make this our twice a year secret hideaway! The discount on a return stay was too great to pass up! We loved Ravines Edge, but will stay in a different cabin on our next visit just to experience a new spot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Words can't describe our visit to Cherry Ridge Retreat. From the moment we arrived we knew it was special. As we pulled up to the office, off in the distance was a beautiful golf green on the distant side of a serene pond. We were greeted by friendly staff and given helpful instruction on the use of the many amenities awaiting in our accommodation. We then followed lit sign posts through the woods to our cabin - Waters Edge. Our cabin and I feel bad calling it a cabin was actually a small wonderfully built home with amazing attention to detail both inside and out. In our travels, my wife and I have on occassion been lucky enough to stumble into what I call an "owner's unit" - you can generally tell because they are so nicely furnished and decorated. We just couldn't believe our good fortune in finding something this nice as a rental. Our kitchen was gourmet in every sense - stainless cookware, full size appliances, blender, coffee maker with grinder, microwave, etc., etc., etc. Even a commercial grade .seating. Waters Edge has 2 full size bedrooms with closets - each has a queen bed with great bedding that smells wonderful. Even better, the bed is comfortable and we both commented on how well we had slept. From the moment my head hit the pillow I never heard a sound.
Another striking feature of our accommodation were the beautiful views in all directions and the incredible privacy and seclusion we experienced. Each morning we enjoyed our hot tub in its own stand alone gazebo. Our views were of woods, water and wildlife! Our tub was clean and clear and we never worried about someone wandering by.
Also worth mentioning are the miles of trails at Cherry Ridge. At check-in we were given a tri-fold map in color. The trees are painted to correspond with the colored trails on the map! Although we left the property to hike some of the more well known areas, I'm not sure that it wasn't just as beautiful at Cherry Ridge Retreat.
Cherry Ridge Retreat is a must for anyone seeking the best. We have been to other nice places in Hocking Hills but Cherry Ridge is in a league of its own. We hope these comments are helpful to other discriminating travelers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Cherry Ridge Retreat is a one-of-a-kind place to vacation in the Hocking Hills area. It is located in a very scenic location of the Hocking Hills area, and the accommodations are first-rate luxury and very clean & comfortable. The 140 acres that it is located on is like your very own nature preserve to enjoy and explore at your leisure. Hiking, fishing, relaxing by the fire, reading a book outside your cottage, you name it, it is all so peaceful and enjoyable. I highly recommend this 'diamond in the rough' of cottages for rent in the Hocking Hills area. These people know what they are doing and do it very well.

Joe & Maggie Fumic

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Liberty, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have stayed in the same wonderful cottage (whispering pines) each time we visit. The place is very well kept and clean. With the seclusion, private pond with fountain, hottub, fireplace, and leather furniture; it is a great place to go and unwind and reconnect with the one you love! The kitchen is top knotch and the staff is always helpful and polite. We would recommend a short hike on the private trails, then soak in the hottub while watching and waiting for the outdoor fire to get just right for making 'smores. Steaks from the grill with a nice bottle of wine and piped in satellite music also makes for a romantic evening. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is an exclusive property that offers a quiet and private retreat within the surrounding area of Hocking Hills. It's the perfect selection for couple's who choose to immerse themselves into nature, while feeling a sense of ownership during their stay. Lodgers are assured that this amazing property (with it's several trails and attractive common areas) is shared exclusively with guests of Cherry Ridge. We take pleasure in preparing meals together, and appreciated the quality appliances and utensils supplied in our cabin, as we cooked a gourmet meal to celebrate my husband's 55th birthday. I felt safe in knowing that in the middle of this oasis, we were provided phone service and on-site management in the case of any emergency, giving us a feeling of safety and security. We regret not booking massages, as the setting lends itself to that sort of pampering amidst such a romantic atmosphere. Our cabin was cozy and immaculately clean inside and out. There is a feeling that other guests respect and understand the vision of Cherry Ridge Retreat, thanks to a management team that is second to none. Matt and Christine are professional and enthusiastic while sharing the owners dream for this community with all it offers to the discerning guest. With a background in property management, I left assured that this pair is a true asset to their employer. Their efforts, and the apparent pride that all of the staff expends, assured that our first stay here was comfortable and memorable. During our next visit, we will consider booking the traveling chef, as an added layer of luxury, and look forward to saying hello again to the staff at Cherry Ridge Retreat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawdads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Plymouth
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
9.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
17.2 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
17.5 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Ridge Retreat

Property: Cherry Ridge Retreat
Address: 22097 Cherry Ridge Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-9628
Location: United States > Ohio > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Ridge Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded luxury cabins and lodge featuring absolute privacy. Each cabin and lodge includes gourmet kitchens, artist designed furnishings, deluxe hot tubs, and uninterrupted views of 140 forested acres with ponds and groomed trails. Some accommodations also include a private pool, Cold Plunge, Sauna, private pond and boat. We have an cabin to fit every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cherry Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hocking Hills Cabins - Cherry Ridge Retreat Hotel New Plymouth
Cherry Ridge Retreat Ohio/New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing