We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renewal for mind body and soul.”

The Lodge at Fair Oaks
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Fair Oaks
Hubbard, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“renewal for mind body and soul.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we stayed at the lodge and were very pleased with everything. we were nestled in the woods at the top of the hill, away from all the hustle of the city, but close enough to it to enjoy the city also. the home is beautifully decorated and mary is a great host from cooking breakfast to supplying you with directions and suggestions. tug the dog was great ! he lead our way up to the lodge, almost felt like i was in the movie 'LASSIE' !! the only downfall of the weekend was the weather but mary had nothing to do with that, we would have liked to been outside more. we did manage to sit on the rockers on the porch between rain drops drinking our coffee. what a wonderful way to spend our fourtieth wedding anniversary !!! we hope to get back there someday soon again !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamandbob_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    0
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Some girl in my school booked this for prom weekend and it was horrible. We had a good time but not because of the house. It was very outdated. Old appliances, the fridge didn't work and ruined my steak. The hot tub was struck by lightening so it was out of commission. The picnic table in the backyard was supported by a small charcoal grill and was ready to fall apart(it did and somehow we are being charged for it). I highly recommend you avoid this house unless the owners do some extreme renovati

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Philadelphia hotels

Uniontown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My extended family rented the home for a night to celebrate Christmas. The home was decorated very nicely. The linens were clean and the beds were comfortable. We used every room of large house and there was not a concern about anything from a party of 17.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our family came to the lodge and rented out the whole house for the weekend. I noticed from the start that there was a mildewy smell. The bottom floor of the house is in the walk-out basement and smells strongly of mildew and mold and this smell seeps up into the rest of the home (upper floor). My young nephew (2 years old) slept in the lower floor and was actually having allergy problems by the end of the 2 night stay from the mold! Anyhow, the worst part was the dead roaches we found in the main living area and floating in the hot tub. I guess at least they were dead...but I am currently doing a lot of laundry to make sure we didn't bring any unwanted guests home. The hot tub is very small (MAYBE 2 people can fit) and it did not work properly. The air conditioning did not work well and all of us sleeping on the upper floor were too hot to sleep. Also, when we rented the home we were told to bring our own towels and toilet paper, which seemed like a huge inconvenience tot he guests that would be quite inexpensive for the hosts to provide. Our family will not be returning to this home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank roachhater75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Me and my partner decided to go to the NFL Hall of Fame ceremonies in Canton, OH and we decided to book a room here and at first we were a little skeptical about where we were staying. It was located a fair distance away from Canton, OH and was not your typical motel / hotel. This bed and breakfast lodge is located in a wooded area where you can feel a sense of being in the outdoors and the lodge itself was well equipped with classy rooms and a sense of nature just brewed in the air. The hot tub outside was amazing and refreshing. We got along with other patrons and had a hell of a time. The hostess, Mary was very helpful in settling us in and I definitely appreciated the kindness that she showed us. We never felt uncomfortable and are definitely planning to return to this location to share with friends in the future. Thank You Very Much Mary. You know who I am :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lousfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and I were married in May but not able to go on our honeymoon until now. We could not have picked a more beautiful, private and romantic place to stay. The rooms were spotless and service was much more than we expected. We had breakfast delivered in the morning......homemade caramel apple french toast that was out of this world! The Lodge is located in a secluded area of the woods yet there were many places to go and things to do including Amish country and wineries. We would highly recommend the Lodge at Fair Oaks for a relaxing get-a-way and we plan to visit there again.....possibly on our 1st Anniversary. Jim & Deb W. - Canton OH

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDeb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

It was not as bad as the two previous reviews (no bugs) but it did smell and did not seem that clean. A dehumidifier would work great! They no longer serve breakfast and the fridge did not work. We left early.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Smell, dirty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Philadelphia
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Philadelphia
Hampton Inn New Philadelphia
#1 of 6 in New Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Philadelphia
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#3 of 6 in New Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Dutch Valley Inn
Best Western Dutch Valley Inn
#2 of 6 in New Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Schoenbrunn Inn & Conference Center
The Schoenbrunn Inn & Conference...
#4 of 6 in New Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn New Philadelphia
Americas Best Value Inn New Phil...
#6 of 6 in New Philadelphia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Fair Oaks

Property: The Lodge at Fair Oaks
Address: 1717 Seven Mile Dr, New Philadelphia, OH 44663-1428
Location: United States > Ohio > New Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Fair Oaks New Philadelphia, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing