We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and clean!”
Review of The Golden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Golden Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Paris
Louisville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Super friendly and clean!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This inn has exceeded our expectations! We are regulars here, even though there are many other accomodations nearby. The rooms are very clean, the rates are good, and the owners are so friendly. We'll be back many more times!
Ben & Chris P.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Clean modest lodging run by friendly caring people. You can hear the whistle blow (Norfolk Southern, ex-PRR) through the bathroom window, which is very coool for me. Hummingbird feeders out front, I like hummingbirds. Quiet, the National Pike like dies after 9PM
Gave me a fantastico Mexican eatery in Richmond. I'LL BE BACK......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilburthebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've stayed here multiple times and was surprised to see that I hadn't already reviewed. I guess this was my first visit since I got serious about feeding TripAdvisor. It's a basic well maintained classic with friendly and caring owners. There are a couple of good restaurants in New Paris and Richmond, IN, is close enough to visit yet far enough away to not be bothersome. In the right kind of weather, sitting outside and watching cars pass on US 40/National Road is quite pleasant and there is even a bypassed but drivable section of the old road right across the intersection. This place was a little ahead of the curve with wired high speed internet already in place by my first stay in 2006. Wifi has since been added so you have your choice. Fridge, microwave, and cable TV, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As I was approaching Richmond, Indiana, I brought up reviews for area hotels/motels and this place popped up with several good reviews, so I thought I'd check it out. So glad I did! It's only a mile from Richmond (at the first Indiana exit as you head west) and it was a breath of fresh air. It is an old-style motel, but with great updates - I had free wifi and a large flat screen tv in my room.The rooms are clean and the place was quiet and restful. I thought the owners were very nice and helpful, too.

Room Tip: I had a room with a king-size bed and it was so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The tile work in the bathroom is an absolute gem. you just don't see it anymore, except at an old time diner. I know it is incredibly geeky of me, but it's the best thing I remember about the place. Like it was said, the motel was built in 1950 and is on the National Road, US Rt 40. the owner was a nice fellow and the prices are very reasonable, two more plusses. The room is clean, it's not incredibly up to date like those high priced chains(with the high priced beds with month old everything), but it is clean and comfortable and it is far far from ratty. Everything I saw was well maintained. More than saying I would stay here again, I'm trying to figure out how I can take my next trip from NY to Minnesota and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I am in the area doing genealogy and I am staying here at the Golden Inn. It is not one of those cookie cutter chains. I feel like I am at home here. The rooms are quite comfortable, I have fast high speed internet for doing my genealogy searches online, and my room has a large flat screen tv. It is quiet and there are plenty of restaurants nearby, and New Paris has a really nice antique mall, too. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a good value and a comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The Golden Inn is a much more economical choice in compared to all the other chain hotels in Richmond, IN. It is conveniently located right on route 40, just across the state line from Indiana. I stayed in a single room for $50. The front desk personnel was friendly, helpful, but not over bearing. The room was nice. There was a musty smell in the room, but it also was very humid the day/evening I stayed. Besides that, I loved the place. It had a frig, microwave, flat screen TV with all the regular cable stations, wired internet access, air conditioning, ceiling fan, alarm clock, phone, outlets everywhere. The shower had great water pressure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FindingQuiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paris
1.6 mi away
Best Western Classic Inn
Best Western Classic Inn
#2 of 10 in Richmond
428 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Richmond
152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Inn Richmond
#1 of 2 in New Paris
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
#3 of 10 in Richmond
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#6 of 10 in Richmond
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Inn

Property: The Golden Inn
Address: 8868 US Route 40 W, New Paris, OH 45347-1542
Location: United States > Ohio > New Paris
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Inn is a small family owned motel located in a quiet country setting. We offer at door parking, flat screen cable tv, wired and wireless internet and refrigerators and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Golden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Inn New Paris, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing