We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Little above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Paris
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just a Little above Average”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Positives: The hotel was reasonably clean, a good location, the breakfast was above average and the room came with a Jacuzzi tub and a large flat screen TV.
Negatives: The AC unit (in the wall) was broken and the bed seemed a little soft and worn. The broken AC unit was very inconvenient as it forced you to open a first floor window just to cool the room down - this was a security issue. The staff seemed unconcerned and unapologetic when I brought this to their attention. If you compared it to the average Hampton Inn (competing chain) I would have to say the Hampton beats it slightly for quality of furnishings and bedding.

Overall the room was a good value and I would stay here again. If I could give 3.5 stars if I would.

Room Tip: Try the Firehouse BBQ in nearby Richmond for a good meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
22
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Quiet little hotel made small by this tremendous cross over it. Weird, my husband said that he felt crucified, LOL. Beds were good, place was empty, kinda creepy. Clerk let us sit in the hot tub after hours, that was nice. We got extra towels and we were pretty satisfied over all. Breakfast was so so. Eggs overcooked, bacon undercooked, oats are instant. Fortunately they had a self heat up breakfast sandwich so we did get to eat. Didn't want to take a thermos of the coffee but the hotel is less than two miles from a Starbucks so all was good.

If you have a big rig, don't pull through the awning to check in, there is no place to turn around. Fortunately the hotel is next to a truck stop so we could park there.

The place was clean. The beds were great. Nothing remarkable but great for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just stayed one night as we were traveling but really enjoyed our stay. The bed just enveloped you and was so comfortable. They had a very good breakfast with a wide range of choice. The only problem we encountered was directional. We were looking for a New Paris exit on I-70 and it is actually off Exit 1 - Richmond, IN. To the right of the exit is OH to the left is IN.

Room Tip: This hotel is actually off the RIchmond Indiana exit 1 of I-70.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobErickKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here on short notice and was taken good care of. The vending was pretty much sold out and the girl working made sure we were taken care of. Giving complimentary bottles of water, sounds simple but we were thankful. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cohen0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had to make a trip to Richmond and found a good hotel nearby. The property is clean, convenient to the highway and Richmond, IN. Despite being near the highway, you don't hear the sounds of it. However, the garbage truck @ 630 was a surprise. Room 302 is across from the small fitness room. No noise could be heard from it though which was good. Staff was really nice.

Room Tip: rooms face the highway but it is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We got a ground floor room which had a jacuzzi tub in the living area. It was a nice setup. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was very good (large variety including several hot items). The hotel is located in Ohio just across the border from Richmond IN (as in, we walked out to the state border signs 100-200 feet away). When locating the hotel, travel to the last exit in IN (or the first across the border from OH) to quickly reach the hotel. Friendly staff both at check-in and check-out and breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank civil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here on trip across the country. Excellent room and good breakfast. Relatively inexpensive and good access to the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulL227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paris
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
#3 of 10 in Richmond
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Classic Inn
Best Western Classic Inn
#2 of 10 in Richmond
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Richmond
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#7 of 10 in Richmond
63 reviews
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton West - Brookville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Richmond

Property: Fairfield Inn Richmond
Address: 9797 US Route 40 W, New Paris, OH 45347-1521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > New Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Richmond 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Richmond Hotel New Paris
Fairfield Inn New Paris
Fairfield New Paris
New Paris Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Richmond New Paris, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing