We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to celebrate”
Review of Ella Bistro - CLOSED

Ella Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 161
Description: ella incorporates the finest local ingredients into made-from-scratch soups, appetizers, salads, sandwiches, entrees and desserts resulting in a delicious fusion of chef-inspired Contemporary American Cuisine. The Warm and inviting bar is the perfect place to relax and meet friends while enjoying a local craft beer, cocktail, martini or wine. Our Straight Forward American menu features seasonal and local favorites. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4 to 7 pm features $5 glasses of wine and $6 cocktails and bar snacks to enjoy in the restaurant or on our beautiful patio. Enjoy Monday - Prime Burger and Craft Beer Special - Tuesday Wine Bottle Discounts - Wed- Craft Beer Night - Thursday- Ladies Night. Adjoining EllaBistro is Hayley Gallery, New Albany's award winning art gallery. Stroll through the gallery before or after dinner while enjoying your favorite beverage.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to celebrate”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A great place to have a special dinner to celebrate any occasion. The food and presentation of the various offerings are excellent. The environment is one where one feels very comfortable while enjoying an excellent meal!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreammaker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ella is Enchanting.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great Atmosphere, flawless food and wonderful Service. A must restaurant for anyone in near New Albany, Ohio. Best dining in years!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the trip outside of Columbus”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been to ELLA several times and have enjoyed the adjacent art gallery as much as the food! Great service. We were back earlier this month for my birthday during a visit to Columbus and it was good to see my favorite beet salad on the menu. My scallops were delicious and----for a yankee place----their grits are pretty darn good, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sescovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The food is average. The chorizo stuffed pepper had only a couple of small pieces of sausage and the rest was rice. I felt like I had a vegetarian dish. The server was not at all attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Triple birthday!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

While the focus of sophisticated Ella is not family gatherings, when our family recently celebrated a triple birthday there, it was a wonderful experience. Arriving early, around 5:30, we were greeted warmly and seated at the bar for hand crafted cocktails and appetizers until all of our party arrived. Try the grapefruit basil martini... wow.... Before being seated for dinner, some of us wandered next door to the gallery to browse and shop. Beautiful things so reasonably priced. Back at Ella, we were seated in a cozy corner which was perfect for our group of 8 including our 18 month old grandson in a highchair. Dinners were well received, with several saying they enjoyed the juicy but not fatty rib eye steaks. My baked chicken was delicious and flavorful. Wedge salads were good, as well. Service was attentive, patient and professional. After dinner, our server graciously plated special home made cupcakes we had brought in for the birthday people. We opened some gifts at the table and the wrappings contributed to a bit of a mess, but no one seemed to mind. We cleared out by 8 when things were really getting busy. All in all, it was a memorable family event!

Helpful?
Thank OhioSilverLaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing