We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it were cleaner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napoleon Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Napoleon
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel was not clean and not kept up well. Needed repairs and some TLC. The door fell off of the closet when we opened it to hang our clothing. The floor felt sticky and looked as though it had not been shampooed in years. It just did not feel clean. We had to keep our shoes on the whole time we were in the room. We travel to visit family a lot and we love to stay in Best Westerns, but this one is not up to the usual standard of the chain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our property and bringing these issues to our attention. We are actually in the process of renovation projects and upkeep on the property to ensure these problems don't arise in the future. We will try to find what room you stayed in to shampoo the carpets; we do this regularly but perhaps that room has seen more use than others recently. We do apologize and hope you give us another chance next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Indianapolis from Toronto. The location was perfect since you could see it from the highway as well it is only a short drive away from the restaurants in Napoleon. We checked in and sadly were given the last room available…a smoking room, ashtray included. It bothered us that there was a no smoking sign on the entrance of the hotel, but yet they had smoking rooms that of course smelt horrible and lingered on our clothes for the remainder of our weekend. The staff were friendly and breakfast the next morning had lots of variety and plenty food even though the hotel was fully booked. The room was a typical hotel room and even though our room faced onto the highway there was not much traffic noise during the night. One of the best perks of the hotel was the free wifi and that it had decent service. This is a good hotel for a night if you are traveling, however make you sure request a nonsmoking room!

Room Tip: Ask for a nonsmoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and mentioning our convenient location next to the highway. We apologize that you were in a smoking room, however we were sold out that night, and do like to offer smoking rooms to cater to all possible customers. The no smoking sign at the entrance is for the public areas as we do not want other guests to be bothered by the smoke. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the fact that we were fully stocked despite being sold out. We hope you stay with us next time you are in the area and hope you decide to book early so we can fully accommodate you and your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just off the highway and easy to get to from the exit ramp. Quick drive into the town of Napoleon. Clean and affordable, with a very nice continental breakfast in the morning. Met expectations. (We did not end up using the pool, so cannot review it.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and mentioning how convenient we are to travelers. We take pride in offering a hot and delicious breakfast each morning and are glad you enjoyed it. Please stay with us again next time you are in town. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here for about 7 weeks due to work. I enjoyed getting to know the staff. I was often treated like a friend/family member and still keep in touch with some of the staff. My room (223) was cozy. The continental breakfast was a plus and it was great having the diner right next door that was open 24 hours. You get a 10% discount at the diner when staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Beth, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We loved having you at the hotel and it was our pleasure getting to know you and being able to accommodate you during your time in Napoleon. Thanks for mentioning the diner next door; we feel that is an added bonus for our guests and a great convenience. We would love for you to come visit next time you are in Napoleon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love to stay at the Best Western when visiting Napoleon, Ohio. Staff is great and rooms and pool are comparable to the Holiday Inn Express down he road and much less expensive. Love the fact that there is a restaurant and store across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback and recognizing that we are the best value in town. In addition to having the restaurant a nice short walk away, guests also receive a 10% discount at the sit down restaurant there, as well as room service 24 hours a day! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here one night and will never stay here again ! The place and the room was very dirty cobwebs,food, and trash everywhere the towels were old and needs replaced. I will never stay here again 1 !

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cainrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to keep a clean hotel for our guests; I will look into the dates of your stay and question my staff as to how this could have happened. I can assure you if you give us another chance while you are in Napoleon that this will not be the case. Concerning the towels, we are consistently purchasing new ones to replace any that are old or worn out and pride ourselves in offering clean toiletries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here April 18 - 22, 2013. The hotel is near a truckstop - but the room was very quiet. The hotel is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a wide variety of good food to chose from for Breakfast. I slept great as the hotel is very quiet inside.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the truck stop and I never heard any of the noise - it is very quiet in the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontdeskNapoleon, Manager at Napoleon Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to post your great review of our hotel. There is a service station nearby, but as you said, it is very quiet and does not affect our guests. The great thing is having a convenience store within walking distance after a long drive, as well as three dining options. Plus you can easily fill up the gas tank before getting back on the highway! Thanks again and we hope you can stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napoleon
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
12.5 mi away
Days Inn Wauseon
Days Inn Wauseon
#1 of 3 in Wauseon
218 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Napoleon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knights Inn Napoleon
Knights Inn Napoleon
#3 of 4 in Napoleon
29 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon Inn & Suites

Address: 1290 Independence Dr, Napoleon, OH 43545-5620 (Formerly Best Western Napoleon Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Ohio > Napoleon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Napoleon
Price Range: $85 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Napoleon Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint town of Napoleon Ohio, this hotel offers a variety of amenities to make your stay comfortable. This three-story inn (with elevator!) has free high-speed wi-fi access and a complimentary breakfast that includes waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit, yogurt, breads, cereals, and fresh fruit. Other amenities include an indoor pool and hot tub, 24-hour manned front desk, meeting facilities, cable tv with HBO, exercise facility, business center, and guest laundry facilities. Each room is equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. A standard room is equipped with two queen beds, and king-bed equipped rooms include ones with a pull-out sofa or an in-room jacuzzi. Each floor features a room that has been equipped with accessories to make them more accessible to handicapped individuals. A limited number of rooms are available to guests who smoke. Pets are welcomed at the Napoleon Inn & Suites at a small additional fee. Roll-away beds and cribs are also available at a small additional fee. The hotel shares a parking lot with the Fuel King Truck Stop which provides ample parking for rigs of all sizes, including busses and RVs. Fuel King features a variety of food options including the A&J Family Restaurant and Hunts Brothers Pizza. It also has a convenience store, beer cave, and game room which hotel guests are welcome to use. Fort Wayne, IN-70 minutes Toledo-45 minutes Defiance-20 minutes Grand Rapids, OH-20 minutes Bowling Green-30 minutes Windsor, ON-105 minutes Detroit Metro Airport-85 minutes Toledo Zoo--40 minutes Cedar Point-1 hour, 40 minutes Sauder Village-25 minutes Defiance College-25 minutes Northwest State Community College-15 minutes BGSU-35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Napoleon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Napoleon
Napoleon Best Western
Napoleon Inn & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing