We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Small Town property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Napoleon
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Small Town property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed there on 2 different nights last week. A weekend night and a week day night. It is an older property with both smoking and non smoking rooms. You can tell it when you walk down the lower hall way. The first non smoking room had a fresh smell. The second floor has all non smoking rooms and the hall smelled fresher. This room while it was a non smoking room still had a smokers odor, especially when the AC unit was turned on. Linens and the bedding was clean and fresh. There wasn't a microwave in the room but it wasn't a big deal. Breakfast was what you would expect at a HIE. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay there again if we have the occasion to visit the area.

Room Tip: Not next to vending, ice machine, guest laundry,stairs or elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
7
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed in this particular Holiday Inn Express multiple times. It was always clean and friendly. I'm not sure what has changed but this visit was less than desirable. As a priority club member I was not greeted as such. That was the immediate difference I noticed. All other HI Express' have a special bag waiting for priority club users. I was not so disappointed in that as much as the lack of friendly customer service. After receiving our room keys, we proceeded to our room to find the keys did not work. My husband returned to the desk two times to get the keys to work.
I was also disappointed to find the smoking rooms were on the first floor causing the smoke to rise to the second floor. Due to severe allergies to smoke I will not be staying at this hotel in the future if this is not changed.
The room was not bad. Cleanliness was ok. Edges of carpet need to be cleaned other than that it was fine. Pillows that are advertised and prior experiences at other HI Express's were not as described.
Let's talk breakfast! Or I should say lack thereof. The breakfast area was attended by the front desk clerk who was often too distracted by guests checking out to adequately care for the needs of the breakfast area. The advertised delicious cinnamon rolls never existed at this hotel. There were few choices in the muffins, bagels, etc. there were some eggs with cheese and sausage links, sausage gravy with biscuits, however the biscuits were not fresh. The coffee was not really hot (my arrival time to the breakfast area was 7:45, serving start time 6:30) and there was an empty half and half milk bottle. The breakfast attendant/front desk clerk failed to wipe tables leaving the area less than desirable.
The lobby of the hotel could have been cleaner too. Check out the beautiful glass table! It was so dirty made me feel like not wanting to sit in the area at all.
I can honestly say this is the first time I have been disappointed with this Holiday Inn Express and have deeply considered staying at another location in the future when I visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here one night while in the area for MWGB the hotel was very nice and a very clean room :) the breakfast area was very small was the only thing bad abut my stay here.I would definitely look into staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cainrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The room was fine, the breakfast was fine but the service was excellent. My son was sick in the middle of the night and the staff came and assisted us in cleaning up! The manager that helped us probably wanted to be doing anything other than helping my wife clean up puke at 3:00AM!
Thank you and great job exceeding our expectations.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the smoking rooms. The hallway was kind of smoky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belltowerhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlmann Campus Inn
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel appeared to be in good repair and was fairly clean. Did see two hairs on bathroom floor and a little edge vacuuming in the corridors would be good. The breakfast area is very small for the large number of families that stayed for a wedding this weekend. Staff were very friendly, even gave me a band-aid for my cut finger.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Recently, I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express Hotels every chance I get. As a result, I come to expect a high degree of quality. Initially wanted to stay in and around Bowling Green/Perrysburg, however, hotels were booked, due to a Statewide soccer tournament taking place at Bowling Green State University during the weekend of April 28, 2012. Consequently, the nearest available was in Napolean, Oh (about 30 mi. from Bowling Green). Although the hotel was acceptable, I didn't find it to be what I expected. The people at the front desk were friendly and the accomodations were OK. What I didn't like was the size of the breakfast lounge. Evidently, the the hotel was crowded with many soccer participants (junior high students) and their families. There was literally no room to sit. In fact, it was the smallest Holiday Inn breakfast area I have yet encountered.

On another note, since I was not familiar with the area, I asked for a recommendation of where to eat in Napolean, Oh. The employess seemed to think that Spengler's was a good place. The "sport's bar" is about seemed to be from the 20's or 30's. I was excited thinking that I'd found a gem. To my surprise, the food was 3rd rate. My wife and I played it safe and ordered burgers and fries, and a hot dog and fries for our grandson. The ground meat was overdone and the buns had that white powder (you know when bread is about to go stale?). When the waitress asked if we wanted dessert, we both chimed in "No thanks!" Bottom line, we were somewhat disenchanted with our stay in Napolean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Alfie711,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast area. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stay here often while visiting family. It is very clean and well kept up and the staff is friendly. I especially like that it is a modern hotel, but that the windows still open as most do not anymore. That makes it nice to air out the room for those with allergies to scents, etc. The only reason that I did not give it the top rating is that it is a little pricey for a small town and the lay-out of the smoking rooms. I prefer a completely non-smoking hotel, but if there is no odor because the smoking rooms are segregated, its ok. Unfortunately, this hotel has most of the smoking rooms on the first floor and there is a bit of an odor from them that wafts into the breakfast room. Another problem is that the king suites-which are the only rooms with micowaves-that are non-smoking- are all on the 2nd floor and we really prefer to stay in first floor rooms, but are forced to go to the second floor here to have a microwave. It would be better if they would move all their smoking rooms to the second floor and keep the first floor smoke free.

Room Tip: Have to go to the second floor-and a king suite- to get a microwave in a non-smoking room, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiers525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napoleon
1.9 mi away
Napoleon Inn & Suites
Napoleon Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Napoleon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Defiance
Hampton Inn Defiance
#1 of 4 in Defiance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Defiance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Del Mar
BEST WESTERN Del Mar
#1 of 3 in Wauseon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 590 Bonaparte Drive, US 24 and SR 108, Napoleon, OH 43545-5792 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Napoleon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Napoleon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Napoleon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Napoleon Hotel Napoleon
Holiday Inn Napoleon
Napoleon Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Napoleon, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing