We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't always get what you ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I booked a room 2 months ahead, requested non-smoking. The only room for me when I checked in was a smoking. Smelt like an ash tray. All of the hallways smelt of smoke. It was the only rooms left in town that week. When I checked out I told the night girl that all hotels should be non-smoking and if smokers needed to smoke just step outside. She told me non-smokers could go outside. I guess she wants us to camp out in the park or somewhere. Most of the staff was good but I don't think she made the right choice in telling me that. IF YOU ARE A NON-SMOKER -- STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoWesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2009

This hotel was great experience with the ever so helping staff ready to please your stay, the spot free rooms( especially bathrooms) with excellent beds for a restfull sleep, and BEAUTIFUL pool room. Assistant manager Bill was a great help for local directions and opinions for close restraunts in the area.
*Needed more fridgerator space so maintenance brought secondary fridge within minutes...no charge* I will defenitly be staying soon again in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicianjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed one night following my husband's 25th high school reunion. Room was okay. Parking lot seemed well-lighted adn safe. Front desk staff was friendly. However, the bathroom stunk of mildew. It's a shame housekeeping (or management) isn't using their sense of smell to figure out if a room needs some help.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank samsmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

My sisters and I stayed for two nights at the Comfort Inn Mt. Vernon and had a great time! The staff is great, our rooms were nice and our overall experience was very good. Mt. Vernon is a cute little town with a great recreational trail system. We also visited the Utica Ice Cream Festival on Memorial Day Weekend, which is only about 10 miles away from Mt. Vernon.

We arrived late on Friday night and they kept the pool open so that we could enjoy it. They have an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna that we enjoyed quite a bit! Our room was very nice with a larger fridge, microwave and nice decor. Bathroom is small. The bedding looked new. Breakfast was decent with cereal, breads and bagels, waffles, fruit and eggs.

We needed directions to the Kokosing Gap Trail and they were very helpful, providing a map and detailed directions. They also offered recommendations for pizza (Dirko's- yum!) and a place to find a bottle of wine.

Overall our experience was very good and we'll be visiting again

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyValentine2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We made phone reservations for a handicapped (wheelchair) accessible room for the Comfort Inn. The reservation was again confirmed a week before we travelled. When we arrived at about 5:30 pm, we were told there was a reservation problem and there was no handicapped room available. Unfortunately that happens too often when we arrive at hotels of many brands and try to stay in a room where we have confirmed reservations for a wheelchair accessible room. So we are off to a bad start, but it gets better. The clerk is very busy and traffic in this hotel is extremely busy for a weekday. The clerk calls the manager at home to ask about our room. While waiting it becomes clear that the staff knows most of its customers and calls them by name. Repeat visitors, mostly business clients who have stayed here for years keep checking in while I awaited the arrival of the manager. The manager arrived and explained that the hotel was full as the result of a softball tournament. The manager told me he knew the guests in the wheelchair accessible room and was confident they would switch rooms with us when they returned from the county fair. We went out to eat and when we returned about 9 pm the manager had sucessfully moved guests from their wheelchair accessible room (they were not handicapped) into our room and after the manager cleaned their room we moved into theirs. The staff at this hotels is friendly and efficient. I would without question vote them staff of the year. The hotel room is on par with its price. The room is clean, the hallway carpet looked stained in some spots, I would prefer pillows that are less firm but you get what you pay for. If you are looking for a '
Westin Hotel environment you will be disappointed. However, I would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Mt. Vernon is not very large, so hotel selection is somewhat limited. This hotel turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.

The rooms were clean and included a refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast, which is included, was basic but good. The staff was extremely friendly and provided a local map and list of shopping and restaurants (the hotel does not have a restaurant). There is an indoor pool that looked nice.

If I had to find something to criticize, it would be that the air conditioner was fairly loud. But it was not that big a deal. Also, I did not see any elevators. The hotel is two stories, so if you have a problem climbing stairs or have a lot of luggage, you may want to ask for a room on the first floor.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neutron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed here the night before our Kenyon College visit. What a pleasant surprise! Very reasonable room rate, good size, all was clean and nice, we had a refrigerator AND a freezer and microwave!

Mt. Vernon is a beautiful little town, and the Comfort Inn is just a few blocks away, and about 6-7 miles from Kenyon. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Kenyon.

The only slight drawback was that they wouldn't let us print our boarding passes, but you can do that at the public library.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pacifica_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.3 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
311 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center Bellville
18 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 150 Howard Street, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $95 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Vernon Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing