We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”

The Alcove Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Alcove Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Founded in 1911 as a small ice cream and candy shop in the heart of downtown Mount Vernon, Ohio, The Alcove Restaurant strives to serve the finest in dining experiences in Central Ohio. Using the finest of ingredients, our diverse menus including Italian favorites, delicious salads, and our signature Prime Rib of Beef, you will be sure to find something you enjoy! Join us in our spacious dining room today to Experience Casual Elegance!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

What a wonderful surprise and delight. The food and service were absolutely terrific. The soup special was fabulous. Every entrée we ordered had great flavor. And, I loved that they filled the glass of wine to the brim. I haven't experienced that in a long time!!! The interior may not be "current," but I loved that as it gave it a special charm and friendly small-town feel. Everything was terrific and I would not recommend changing a thing. I will eat here again the next time that I am in town. Thank you for a wonderful meal, friendly service, and terrific value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Great food and pleasant service!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Old-fashioned style restaurant with excellent service. We all enjoyed our meals – the gulf shrimp and salmon dishes were wonderful. This is really a great place to eat when visiting Kenyon College or stopping in the Mount Vernon area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Downtown”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great restaurant with historical ambiance. The food was freshly prepared and delicious. Unique offerings (asparagus and crab soup) were present on the menu along with traditional fare (fish and chips, chicken tenders). I ate there with a group of 7, and we all were thoroughly impressed, both with the food and the atmosphere. The Alcove is definitely worth your time and money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redhed_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Surprise..Fine Dining in Casual Setting”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Quite a surprise to find Fine dining in downtown Mt Vernon. Casual but very good food and service. My wife and I both had fish dinners - Salmon and Walleye. The salmon my wife had was on a base of wild rice, feta, spinach & balsamic vinegar...very tasty. My first taste of walleye was very good but my southern roots will have to get used to it. The service was very good and the wines very good too. The desserts were tasty too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BEMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My visit at alcove”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I believe this is the best Indian food you can get in USA!! The briyani is outstanding. The service was fast warm and friendly. It was excellent food, great atmosphere, and wonderful service thank you so much guys...

Helpful?
Thank ARULMANI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alcove Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, OH
 

Been to The Alcove Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing