We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcove Restaurant

Alcove Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established 1911 - Celebrating 100 Years
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A good place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy trying local restaurants when we're traveling. The Alcove provided good food in a nice atmosphere rich with local history.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamprix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Good food, good service and right downtown. Parking can be a problem during busy times.

Helpful?
Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cuisine in a historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were very surprised when we came upon The Alcove in Mt. Vernon as there aren't a lot of restaurants that seem to last long in the downtown area, but this one has persevered. You could immediately tell that they cared about this building by the restoration work that was done on the inside and out. From the glass cases/shelves in the front (along with items you can purchase from locals which is a nice touch) to the wall paintings in the main dining area, you get to soak in a lot of great historical information about Mt. Vernon.

Now for the food...the selections, presentation and taste are all fantastic. Everything was cooked to perfection, from our appetizers (eggplant tower and mushroom caps both delicious) to our entrees. Everything tastes like gourmet food prepared by a famous chef, and is not your every-day run-of-the-mill fare.

For the employees, they were also to rave about. Our server was very attentive, knew everything about the menu and was able to explain any questions we had about the food and drink. We also got some very nice information from the bartender staff (they have a separate bar area) about some of the plays and theater offerings the restaurant provides.

The only slight request I would make is to expand the wine list a bit more, but no worries, there's a little bit for wine lovers from whites to red and sweet to dry and a fine full-bar offering.

We'll be going back for sure! I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic evening or an upscale dinner for a reasonable cost. Search up alcoverestaurant.com and you can get more info on their menus and restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patmanami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Food and service were excellent as always. The kitchen keeps serving quality food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
956 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Great find in Mount Vernon Ohio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were traveling home from Cleveland and decided to go off the freeway to check some antique shops along the way. Stopping in Mount Vernon we wanted lunch and went to the Alcove - great decision. This is a very traditional restaurant with local history presented by murals on the restaurant walls (a brief history of those was included on a page in the menu). The restaurant was very busy considering it was a Monday. I now know why - the food was delicious. Everything - clam chowder, asparagus soup, unique salads - was perfectly prepared and sumptuous. Service was delightful. I want to go off the freeway again and stop back for dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alcove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing