We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunan Garden

Hunan Garden
Ranked #19 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hunan Garden is a favorite among many in our town. They have a large and tasty menu of items. We've even compared them to fancier and pricier restaurants in larger cities, and most often prefer our local favorite, Hunan Garden. Lunch time is an especially good value with entree, rice, soup and crab rangoon included at a great price. It's great for carry out as well. The only con we find sometimes, is that the staff get stressed during very busy times, and can be short and not so friendly with customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FREDERICKTOWN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for take out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Great value delicious food. Carry out service is superb. They have everything you would want on a Chinese menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like good Asian food, you will make this a favorite. Bright and clean , good ambiance. Staff and owners are friendly and courteous. Try it once, and you will soon become a regular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMt_Vernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I really like the Hunan Garden. The service is fast and they have a variety of good options for vegetarians. My personal favorite dish is the House Spacial eggplant, which is eggplant cooked perfectly in a sweet and spicy sauce. It's so good I try not to share it, because otherwise it will disappear too quickly!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Klynsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Free Tea! The food is consistent and thoughtfully prepared. I love the simplicity of this place. They dont need pomp and frills because the food speaks for it's self. However if they updated the decor and kept another server on the clock to handle the rush, Hunan Garden would be an ideal little cost-conscious eatery.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing