We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food , go here !!!”
Review of Hunan Garden

Hunan Garden
Ranked #19 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newburgh, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food , go here !!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I always go here when in town. The food has been great for many years and it is the same every time. No issues. Service is good, decor is average, food is GREAT!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newburgh_NYJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the usual 'fast', buffet-type food.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just love Hunan Garden. Very consitant. Always know I will get great food that is not the run of the mill 'Chinese' food. Hands down, the best General Tso's Chicken possibly in the state. Reasonable, great wait staff. Clean and pleasant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chinese”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Typically used for take out and the orders afre always on time, hot and well prepared. Maybe a little pricey for the dinner orders.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's just ok.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food is good if you eat in but we have done to-go orders and the food was over cooked and burnt tasting and the next time they gave us the wrong food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st visit impression”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I both love Chinese food and we certainly weren't disappointed! While the food was delicious, the service was fair at best. The restaurant wasn't busy, but our server took far too long to take our order, the wait for the food was quite long and then we had to sit and wait for our check and ask for a box for take home. I noticed the other server in our area was much quicker and more attentive. I'm hoping for another server on our next visit as the food is good and I hate to mark this restaurant off our list because of one person.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing