We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Allison's Finer Diner
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: American
Description: (740) 397-9923
Restaurant details
Description: (740) 397-9923
Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great place for breakfast: crispy fried potatoes, fluffy pancakes, big chunks of sausage, and the best coffee in town. The service and atmosphere are not bad but not special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad for a small town”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place usually has really good food every time we go, but my only complaint is that it is called a diner and doesn't really have that diner feel. The service is good for the most part, but can occasionally get bad service. The staff are really catering to children, and there is a very large aquarium at the front of the restaurant that has some really exotic fish to keep the kids entertained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ames555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Convenient to hotel and good value”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was staying a the Holiday Inn Express next door and ate here on three nights during the week.
The restaurant was fairly quiet - it was very cold during my stay and I doubt people were venturing out.
The staff are polite and efficient and you can eat at a table or the bar. Wifi is available.
The food is traditional American standards and over the course of the week I had meat loaf, nachos, iceberg lettuce wedge with blue cheese and meatballs and spaghetti. All of these tasted pretty good and the value was exceptional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice casual place, good food and great prices”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant is always a go to place for us. We can sit at the bar for a good quick meal or sit down for a more relaxed longer stay. The food is almost all homemade, of good quality and a nice variety of choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLIVE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a family gathering”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a group of over 20 people who ate at Allison's, in their party room. The service staff took very good care of us, we ate from a limited selection menu that they set up for our group, and everyone seemed very happy with the meal. The party room also gave us a fiarly quiet place where kids could make a little noise and not detract (hopefully!) from the enjoyment of other patrons.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LILA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allison's Finer Diner also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, OH
 

Been to Allison's Finer Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing