We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff friendly and helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed over one night while in town for business meeting. We called and spoke to Dustin letting him know that we wouldn't be arriving until 11 pm. He told us no problem. The stay there was pleasant. Room was extremely clean and doors were very secure with 4 locking devices. The breakfast buffet was very good and plentiful. The hotel interior was clean and updated along with rooms. The only thing that needs attention is the exterior emergency exit door left of the entrance. The door frame is rotted out and needs replaced. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deiseldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Deiseldude,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate feedback from our guests because it helps know what we are doing right and what we need to improve. We will share your comments with Dustin and the rest of the staff. The exterior emergency door frame is on our list of projects to complete as soon as the weather cooperates. Thank you for pointing that out! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We recently had to travel to Mount Vernon for a Memorial service and when we called tor reservations, the hotel was already booked except for rooms with one bed. The manager, Marcia, worked hard to see that my adult sons got a room with 2 beds, as well as a room with 2 beds for my daughter and her family. When we arrived, our room had only 2 hard chairs and since we planned to be there several days, Justin was able to put us in a room with a comfortable chair. We felt that the staff treated us with real compassion.

Room Tip: Talk to Marcia. She will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammylu1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Grammylu1944,

Thank you for sharing you experience. It is always a pleasure when we are able to make sure our guests are comfortable. We are sorry to hear that your visit was for a sad occasion and we are very pleased to know that our staff made you feel comfortable. Best wishes to you and you family. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip to take a class. The front desk staff were very nice and professional. The room is very clean, and the bed comfortable. The only problem I ran into was the indoor pool water was very cold. The room the pool was in was warm. Other than that no problems. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Steve C,

We are pleased to hear that we are on track with our service and cleanliness. The pool temperature concerns us so we are again looking into the issues. Your comments are a huge help. It is nice to have positive things to take back to the staff! Hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Mt. Vernon to watch our son play college basketball. The outside of the hotel is clean and sits right next to a small movie theater. The room was extremely clean, we had no complaints. The bed was super comfy & neatly made. The couch was also comfortable to sit on. The hotel was quiet and the staff was friendly. The free breakfast had a variety of items to eat and is perfect for a hotel of it's size. We were quite pleased with our stay here. We would certainly stay again if we needed too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCatz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear LCatz91,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. We really appreciate feedback from our guests. We will share your comments with the staff. It helps boosts our spirits to know that we are doing the right thing and it helps keep us focused. Best of luck to your son as the basketball season winds down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The people were very friendly. The room was clean. Good breakfast. No funny smoke smell. Quiet with a comfortable bed. It was cold out... I wish the pool was heated, because NO WAY can you get in that when its so cold. Good room otherwise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPPA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear JPPA66,

Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. Maintenance is checking into the pool for you because it is supposed to be heated. I'm sorry it was so cold for you while you were here. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business. Flew in and was in shared car so not able to get away on my own. This let me with very limited options. There is no workout facility on site. They partner with local Y but that is miles away. Rooms are clean. Wifi works well. No origional non sugar oatmeal at buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear StewartS,

Please know that we do care deeply that you were inconvenienced during your stay with us. I know that this does not help with a past stay, but please know that we are working towards a more convenient solution to the fitness facility issue. I will also look into the oatmeal selections for you and do our best to make sure that there is a variety. If you have questions regarding future possibilities, please contact the hotel and I will be happy to answer them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times, including recently in October. While it is typical of a lot of HIE sites, it falls a little short of what we usually find at other HIE. The facility is clean but somewhat dated. Staff was friendly and the included breakfast was typical HIE. No fitness center and a less than desirable room bathrooms are my issues. That said, if you are in the area, this is still by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear MICHAEL D,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
302 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
114 reviews
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
251 reviews
23.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Address: 11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050-9084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $122 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe easy at the completely non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Mt. Vernon, OH that is conveniently located near many restaurants and businesses, all within a 5 mile radius. The beautiful Kenyon College and Mount Vernon Nazarene University are just minutes away from the hotel making it convenient to visit students and rest peacefully each night. Sneak a peak next door at the seven-screen Premiere Theatre that features new releases and weekend matinees. Treat yourself to a great game of golf at any one of the golf courses near the hotel including the beautiful Apple Valley Golf Course located in the heart of Apple Valley in Howard, Ohio only 7 miles east of thehotel. Visit historic downtown Mount Vernon the home of Johnny Appleseed and Daniel Decatur Emmett. Break away from the mundane and treat yourself to another way of life in Amish Country only an hour north east of Mt. Vernon.Priority Club members workout for free at Body Basics Health and Fitness Club located just down the road from the Holiday Inn Express hotel-Mt. Vernon, OH. After a refreshing workout, pamper yourself with a great massage, a facial or steam away the day in the fabulous sauna. Relax and enjoy a great Yoga workout or speed things up with a spinning class. Personal trainers are available for a personalized assessment. Cool off with a refreshing dip in the hotel swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Mount Vernon, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing