We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deer Creek State Park a relaxing vacation from the hustle and bustle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed for two nights in the lodge at Deer Creek. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious and the accommodations were comfortable and clean. Nice spot for a family vacation or just to get away and relax!

Room Tip: South side rooms offer a beautiful view and the opportunity to view the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

We wanted an outdoor getaway close to Columbus and stayed at the lodge for one night in the middle of the week. We took advantage of a “Bed and Breakfast” deal posted on the Deer Creek website. The lodge was not busy, probably because it was between seasons and the middle of the week. We asked for a second floor room overlooking the lake and there was no problem getting it. The room was nice and appeared to have had some recent upgrading (free-standing marble bathroom sink and coffee unit and tile in the entryway and bathroom). We did find it strange that there were no towel racks in the bathroom and had to hang wet towels on the clothes rack in the entryway.

It was early evening when we arrived and there were many deer along the long drive back to the lodge. We were told they’re out in the morning and evening. Fun to see. Upon arriving at our room we went onto our balcony to look around. Within minutes, two raccoons and two groundhogs scampered to the area just below us and looked up expectantly. It was evident that they had received handouts from people on the balconies before. My husband threw some pretzels overboard. A scuffle ensued between the raccoons, but soon all of the critters were crunching pretzels. We watched one raccoon climb onto the balcony below looking for more food and decided we were glad to be on the second floor. We set off to explore and didn’t think about it again. A while later, as we sat watching TV with the sliding glass door open, we looked up to find one of the raccoons had figured out how to get up to the second floor and was trying very hard to get the sliding screen door open!! Must have been pretty good pretzels! (See picture.) Lesson learned.

We ordered carryout pizza and a salad from the bar that evening and enjoyed them in our room—with the sliding door shut! The breakfast was very good and the view of Deer Lake through the restaurant windows was pretty.

At the front desk, we got a map (very poor xerox quality—Tiffany apologized and said that’s all they had) and a list of the hiking trails with descriptions of length and areas. We hiked five of the trails, covered about six miles by my pedometer, and spotted several deer back in the woods. It was just what we needed to get out of the city.

Room Tip: Room 240, King Bed, had a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeyes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have been to 3 state lodges and this was by far the best. Rooms clean, food great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you love to shop the outlet mall is close by. Perfect place for a 2 night stay. Since this visit was made in September the outside activites were limited for us. We only hike at Malls. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the lake unless you want to be near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a small family reunion at Deer Creek Resort in August 2011. We all stayed in the main hotel. Our rooms were under $100/night. My husband and i were traveling with our 20 month old daughter. We had a cookout by the beach and enjoyed strolling around the grounds. The room was very nice, and we all enjoyed watching the wildlife outside our balcony - deer, groundhogs and lots of racoons. The food and service at the restaraunt was good, including the kids menu. We would be interested in checking out the cabins next time. They looked well maintained and private.

Our only complaint is that there is not much to do at all in the area around the resort. If we would have stayed for longer than a weekend, we surely would have gotten bored. We went to the outlets in Westerville, which is about a half hour away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MabelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The staff was very friendly when we checked in to the lodge. The room was nicer than I expected from the pictures I saw on the reservation website which was a nice surprise. The room was very clean and well taken care of. We had to call for extra towels which were delivered promptly The outdoor pool was very nice, the water was warm which I loved. The area is very pretty and you can see animals around the grounds. We tried to eat dinner at the restaurant and were told they were not able to seat us because we didn't have a reservation to come back in a half hour but they could still not guarantee us a seat. They suggested we go into the lounge for dinner, which we did and regretted. The pizza we had was very average at best and the chicken quesadilla wasn't much better. It wouldn't have been so bad but they were very much overpriced for what we received. I would not eat at the lounge again when I do return. The restaurant for breakfast was much better. They have a buffet breakfast with an omelet station and waffle station which was a nice touch. I like that they have activities planned pretty much throughout the day which is nice especially if you have children. We did go to the bonfire in the evening and made smores which was fun. I definitely would return to this hotel, the area is beautiful, the lake is so nice and the beach is great. Thinking of making it a yearly family tradition.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giagia1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was my second stay at Deer Creek Lodge & Conference Center over the last year an both times I have had a great experiences. The staff are always pleasant and helpful, the restaurant has some excellent food (I recommend the Blackened Salmon) and the rooms are nestled along the most peaceful picturesque setting.

And definetly check out the Gift Shop for some really cool Ohio made products.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We loved our three day/two-night family reunion at Deer Creek State Lodge recently. The food, staff, hiking trails, lobby area, game room, boating, and in/outdoor pools were wonderful!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
20.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Grove City
23.4 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
248 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington Court House
Holiday Inn Express Washington C...
#1 of 3 in Washington Court House
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
15.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Circleville
80 reviews
19.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington Court House Jeffersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Price Range: $83 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling
Deer Creek Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Mount Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing