We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just passing through...sleep cheap here!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just passing through...sleep cheap here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

You wouldn't want to spend your vacation here but if you are travelling on the turnpike as we were this worked out great. We were travelling east and wanted to get past Chicago. About midnight we called them on our cell phone and they had a room.

We were pleasantly surprised with a no frills room but very comfortable beds.
The room was clean and stocked with clean towels.

No breakfast is served here, you have to use the small restaurant next door for breakfast,
This place was perfect for our needs, a good night sleep! And then back on the road.
And we didn't have to pay an arm and a leg!

Try it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raggs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
7
5
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

I came off the turnpike around 11:30pm looking for a place to stay. When I first walked in to the lobby, I was hit with a strange smell which I couldn't exactly pinpoint. The gentleman at the front desk was an older Indian guy with a thick accent. I talked with him about the room options, and the price sounded right, so I figured I might give this place a try. I asked him if I could please inspect one of the rooms before I make a final decision, and I was informed "No", because it always leads to problems. I cannot believe that I was expected to pay my money and go in to the room sight unseen. The rate was $40, therefore I was someone skeptical of the cleanliness. Needless to say, the employee's answer pretty much said it all and I got back on the highway and drove to a much, much nicer hotel that I was comfortable staying at without a pre-inspection.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nate269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montpelier hotels

Hudson, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Very basic, very nice. No frills but no shockers either. Nice half way stop between Chicago and Cleveland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Great value for a "one star" hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by what we got for our money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank empollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

It's a roach motel without the roaches. At least I didn't see any. Some lights didn't work, a recliner in the room should was the most disgusting piece of "furniture" I've seen in a long time, and the whole place smelled a bit off.

However, I couldn't keep driving so this sure beats the car. Although it's closer than it should be.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lsabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

On the plus side......kinna cheap about $55 with the AAA discount....was convienient, right off the turnpike.

On the minus side...The light in the little room with the sink didn't work, well it did come on in the middle of the night....The bathroom door had a hole kicked in it....there was graffiti on the bathroom floor and wall.....the sink drain didn't work, sink filled up really quick.....the faucet in the tub spewed out some kind of red stuff that covered the bottom of the tub....the tub would not drain either, between that and the red stuff we decided we didn't really need a shower that bad.....the plastic grateing on the air conditioner/heater was busted up....and last but not least, the lobby stinks.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bryan/Montpelier
3.5 mi away
Rainbow Motel Montpelier
Rainbow Motel Montpelier
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bryan-Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Del Mar
BEST WESTERN Del Mar
#1 of 3 in Wauseon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.0 mi away
Plaza Motel Bryan
Plaza Motel Bryan
#1 of 2 in Bryan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 13485 State Route 15, Montpelier, OH 43543-9296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Montpelier
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montpelier, Ohio
Montpelier Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing