We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Monroe Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monroe
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We used the Best Western Monroe as a home base for three nights while doing some vacation activities in the Cincinatti/dayton area. It was convenient to both the Air Force Museum and Kings Island. It was a 30 minute drive on the interstate to the Air Force Museum and a 10 minute drive on a quiet back road to King Island. It is not a very large hotel.
We made advance reservations through the Best Western website, and when we arrived, the hotel was full, but our room was ready for us. That evening, they had polish sausage, rolls, cake, lemonade, and iced tea in the breakfast area. My husband made it is dinner!
The room was clean and cool when we checked in. We booked and received a two queen bed room. The beds were double sheeted, with four pillows per bed. There was a large fridge (no freezer compartment) and a microwave. There was a small coffee pot.
The bathroom was small, but made the best use of space. The shower was spacious, with a curved rod. The sink was set into the corner, and that provided more counter space, There were three sets of towels provided, but it was no trouble to ask for a fourth, and when I left a note for housekeeping, they continued to leave four sets of towels. Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap were provided.
The children used the (outdoor) pool. It was clean and neat. Not a lot of seating, but this is not a resort hotel, so unless at the most busiest time, I can't see there being a problem getting a seat to watch the kids swim. Pool towels were available at the front desk.
They had a very large breakfast area with lots of hot options - egg patties, sausage patties, sausage gravy, hot biscuits, pancakes. Apple and orange juice. Coffee, decaf, hot water for the packets of tea, hot chocolate, and oatmeal. Assorted breads, bagels, muffins for toaster. Donuts and pastries. Milk, yogurt, hardboiled eggs and bananas. Assorted cold cereals.
There is a McDonalds next door and a gas station/mini market on the other side.
Overall, very nice hotel for the price and location.

Room Tip: we booked through the best western website and had no trouble at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auroraarielella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for tanking time and wiring a review for Best Western Monroe Inn. I am very pleased to hear that, your stay was wonderful and you liked our service. Here at Best Western our goal is to provide top of the line service for our guests. Once again, thank you staying with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable, decor was fresh and beautiful, and the staff and General Manager, Jigi Shah, were so nice and friendly and genuinely cared about our comfort. Also, the coffee was delicious and we enjoyed breakfast every morning. Easy access to shopping outlets and interstate. Jigi Shah was a joy and she checked us into our room early after a long 16 hour trip from Florida. She runs a beautiful hotel and we can't wait to stay with her again. She treated us like family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for taking time and writing a great review for Best Western Monroe Inn. I am very happy to hear about your experience. It is very nice to see a guest enjoyed their stay with us and that is what we are all about. So, once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We got the last dbl queen non smoking room even after the 800 reservation number told us there were none left. All the furnishings appeared to be brand new and the room immaculate. There was a special "clean remote" for the TV which could be sanitized. The desk even provided a toothbrush for my daughter. My husband said it was the best interstate hotel we have ever stayed in. It was also a great price. The lady at the desk was very friendly and seemed genuinely concerned about my need for gluten free breakfast food. I would not be at all surprised if they added gluten free to their breakfast selection. I would certainly stay here again. After reading the reviews of other I-75 hotels between Toledo and Cincinnati this is apparently the only nice and reasonably priced hotel for many miles.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Melanie1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hello Melanie,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us here at Best Western: Monroe Inn! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and accommodations - we strive to provide nothing but the best service for our guests! Your need for gluten-free was of special concern for us and we are looking at ways to provide a better breakfast! Our staff looks forward to serving you again! See you soon!

Once again, thank you,
Jigisha Shah, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Short and sweet of it, we would stay here again. Our room was attractive, spotless, very clean with a spacious bathroom. The service and staff are top quality, excellent friendly and very helpful people. The environment was attractive, up-to-date in style and quality, looking new.

Continental breakfast selection was just average. If this hotel improved their breakfast selection, offered more variety, a little better quality, we would then rate this place a superior place to stay. (Unfortunately, the nearby competition doesn't appear to be any better.)

Travel Tips:
(1) You can save a little money if you are patient and plan in advance. This hotel does not appear to negotiate or chance their prices much like some because they have limited competition, but we were still able to get a rate for $80-- $90 total with all taxes-- while many in our group were offered a special $92 (+ taxes) group rate. We simply worked harder and waited longer to find a better rate because we are frugal.

(2) If money is a big consideration, you could save more money if you are willing to drive to Mason, Ohio, another nearby Cincinnati suburb. There is more hotel competition in Mason because it is near Kings Island exits so rates appear to be more negotiable there. For example, two months prior we stayed at the Best Western in Mason, Ohio for only $62 + tax. We would have stayed there again for a very reasonable price but all our friends where staying at the Monroe Best Western so we booked there too. Both were excellent hotels but you can save some more money if saving money is important to you and you want to stay at a Best Western.

(3) Ask for an extra large towel at check-in. Towels are not as big as they use to be. You will wish you had an extra dry towel when you jump out of the shower the next morning.

Room Tip: We asked for 1st room next to the entrance and it was perfect for us! It was very quiet, nice desig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GreenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hello Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about our hotel, the Best Western: Monroe Inn! We are glad to see your experience with us was positive! Our staff works hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay - I'm happy to hear we were able to do that for you! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jigisha Shah, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Paulette L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Super clean hotel and wonderful service. I typically don't care about the service but the employees went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was just ok but they do have a pancake machine so my daughter was happy. (I picked up coffee at McDonald's next door). Really close to the mall and highway. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kbb279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay here at Best Western: Monroe Inn. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed out clean rooms and friendly customer service. We strive to provide nothing but the best experience for our guest and are thrilled that your stay with us met or surpassed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jigisha Shaw, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here while visiting family in this area, we were allowed to have my sister's Puggle also stay with us for an extra $10. The staff was friendly. Very happy with the cleanliness of the room and laundry. I was told by our family that this hotel was recently remodeled. However, the water pressure was awful. It would take me forever to even get the temperature right. I could tell when the water would get colder when other people used a toilet. We needed an extra towel, because there was three of us in one room. Talked with 3 different staff who said the didn't have any and needed to use two floor towels. Breakfast was supposed to be open till 10AM, but it was done by 9:30. I did catch some before then and it wasn't anything that great. Got sick from hot dogs served at lunch when we arrived, they did look questionable so it was probably my fault for eating them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClintonAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigisha S, General Manager at Best Western Monroe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western: Monroe Inn. We are glad to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms - we work very hard to ensure each room is spotless when our guests check-in. However, we are saddened to hear we did not meet all of your expectations. We work diligently to see that every guests' needs are met or exceeded and your review will help us towards that goal. Our breakfast time has always been 6:00-9:00am, I am unsure why you thought it was supposed to be open until 10:00am - perhaps there was a miscommunication between you and our front desk staff and I would like to apologize for that inconvenience. I also want to apologize for your experience with the towels, the shower, and our evening snacks. I will look into how we can better our services for the future. I hope to see you again soon so we can have to opportunity to better serve you!

Once again, thank you for your review,
Jigisha Shah, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monroe
Comfort Inn Monroe
#2 of 4 in Monroe
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wave Hotels
Wave Hotels
#3 of 4 in Monroe
52 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 5 in Middletown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Franklin
138 reviews
3.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Middletown Franklin
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Monroe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Monroe Inn

Address: 40 New Garver Rd, Monroe, OH 45050-1719 (Formerly Monroe Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range: $80 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Monroe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monroe Inn - Conveniently located between Cincinnati and Dayton Features:- 24 Hour Front Desk- Complimentary Hot Breakfast- Complimentary Wired and Wireless Internet Access- Complimentary Local Calls- Parking Provided by Hotel- Handicapped Accessible Rooms- Non-Smoking Rooms- Laundry / Valet Service- Safe Deposit Box- AM/FM Clock Radio in Rooms- One Cup Coffee Pots in Rooms- Hair Dryer in Rooms- Iron / Ironing Board in Rooms- Cable Television w/ Complimentary HBO- In Room Movies Attractions:- Prime Outlets 1 mile- Traders World & Turtle Creek Flea market 1m- Kings Island 8 miles- Beach Waterpark 8 miles- Entertainment Junction 6 miles- Jungle Jims International Food Market - 6 miles- Miami Univ - Oxford 28 miles- Downtown Cincinnati 25 miles- Cinergy Field 25 miles- US Bank Arena 25 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Monroe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monroe Hotel Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
Monroe Hampton Inn
Best Western Monroe Inn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing